Ratings based on 3,199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Herning Danmark

Fin pladsering, men dyrt.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Pladsen på vøærelserne. God plads til 4 voksne og 1 barn.
Cons: Morgenmaden !!!
Location: Alt !!! er tæt på.
Placering blandt en masse hjemløse, som godtnok ikke var på hotellet. Morgenmaden kan der sagtens gøres lidt ved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Quaint hotel in downtown SF

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Good value for money, and old-fashioned style.
Cons: The breakfast selection is quite limited.
The Opal is a quaint hotel on Van Ness ave, close to bus stops, but a bit of a walk from the nearest BART station. I enjoyed the stay, and will visit here again if I get the chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Basic needs, no extra frills hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: location & price are right
Location: Transit to Fisherman's Wharf is right outside front doors of hotel & Union Square a 10 minute walk away
If all you need is a clean comfortable place to sleep, then this place is it. Access to transit is at its doorstep. Breakfast is included & the price is right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in San francisco

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Everything was perfect. Great helpful nice staff, too. I will stay there again and reccommend it to my friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok stay

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Not in a great part of town. I had to pay to use the "computer " to print our boarding passes, I was on there for 2 min. Internet not very good connectivity. Lights that didn't work in our room, staff not real friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Location: Sehr gute Lage
Sehr gute Lage, für öffentliche Anbindungen und zu Fuß ins Zentrum. Wesentlich besser als Fishermans Warf!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Location, that's about it.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Location. That's it.
Cons: A lot. See my overall impression.
Location: You could walk around and see the City Hall and some other municipal structures. You could also drive-by and see them. Overall, not much to see.
Given the price, I've stayed abroad as well as here in U.S. for a lot cheaper with many more amenities. Room is very plain and bed covers give a sense of an old and outdated hotel. No business center. No pool - unless I missed it. Gym is very small and poorly equipped. Even the cleaning personnel is unfriendly and does not say "hello" back. The front desk is pretty much useless. I asked for a car charger, which they did not have. I also called the front desk and they frequently don't pick up or take too long to answer. I asked for a wake up call, which was not made nor has anyone come to knock on the room door. My overall impression is that this hotel was a very poor quality hotel that charged a lot of money for the location close to downtown. They even charge an extra 46 dollars a night if you actually need to park your car. There is nothing, but meters around the hotel, so parking is scarce. I also noticed there was a continental breakfast, but you'd probably save a bundle staying somewhere else and get a nice breakfast in a restaurant instead of this packaged deal. Overall, you would expect more for a hotel in downtown with an asking price as high as it was. Besides, SF is not exactly NYC to warrant such rates. You could get a better deal for a cheaper. I don't recommend this hotel - strongly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Enough

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Overall the experience was good however the only bad experience I had was the shower, the drain was a VERY slow in other words really didn't drain creating me to enjoy the shower with God knows what !! Other then that good, bed was comfy, room clean and even brought additional blankets and pillows ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Charming Old World Charm with modern amenities

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location, location, the staff (special thanks to Claudia and Sandra), laundry room, safety for all guests, couples, families, singles, business
Cons: This is a pretty comfortable hotel. Décor can always be brightened. But all guest and ourselves were pretty comfortable from what I saw.
Location: Location is GREAT! without the high costs of the Fisherman's Wharf hotels. The #47 bus right outside the hotel takes you right to Pier 39
I have to premise this review with even though I am a seasoned traveler, I was not expecting the expense for hotel and possible parking a rental car for my first trip to San Francisco. With that said, we were in San Francisco for a combination vacation/business trip. After monitoring the hotel prices on Expedia for a month, The Opal had a sale on it's daily rates. The location seemed central to everything we needed to do, so I booked. Well, what a lovely surprise. for you traveler who prefer modern hotels, this is not the place for you; but if you love Old World Charm combined with central air conditioning, windows that actually open for fresh air, lots of towels and toiletries, and a perfect central location to almost everything, this is the place for you. We stayed in room 327, which had a nice open bedroom area, and an off to the side sitting room. The bathroom was decent sized with hairdryer and toiletries. Bathtub with shower. Our room was kept clean and fresh. Included Breakfast Buffet was pretty standard, but just what we needed, as we ate our way through the plethora of dining opportunities the city offers for lunch and dinner. The diner next door, Mels has a good hamburger and freshly made juices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OPAL

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Area was within walking distance of BART and next to bus stop. Pretty easy to find. Location was pretty sketchy, but we were downtown so that's probably why.