Ratings based on 2,818 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and staff

Posted Dec 20, 2014
This hotel is not in the greatest area, but is affordable and close to lots of buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom carbondale, il

A very good hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2014
We had a very good experience. Absolutely no problem. Convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything and a very charming hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Quaint and charming
Cons: The mattress in our room could stand to be replaced.
Location: Lots of food, shops and easy access to the bus and public transportation system.
We were there during a massive storm and the staff did everything they could to accommodate us including extending breakfast time, giving out bottled water, handing out flashlights and trying to find people rides even thought the BART system was down, buses weren't running and very few cabs were around. They really went the extra mile.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, AUS

Pretty good

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Close to central San Fran. Very minimal breakfast choices. Overall enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom japan

満足です。

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: staff が親切、whole foodsが近い。
Cons: bath マットが一日目無かった、2日目からはありました。
Location: バスの停留所のも近く、accessはよかったです。一本入ると暗い。ごみ収集車がよるうるさかった。
朝食まあまあでした。ゆで卵、マフィン、食パン、ワッフル、ドーナッツ、ヨーグルト、りんご、洋ナシ、バナナなどありました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Good location

Posted Dec 13, 2014
I stayed at the Opal in early December for 4 nights. It is an older style hotel but with lots of charm. We had a recently renovated double delux room on the top floor which was good. The continental breakfast which was included was very good, heaps of food. The staff are friendly and very efficient, in particular Candace and Jennie. There was a cheese and wine evening in the lobby on the Wednesday night which was a lot of fun ( thank you Jennie ). The hotel is in a good location. The number 47 bus stops outside to go to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. I would definitely stay at the Opal again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for price

Posted Dec 11, 2014
San Fran hotels can be expensive. This hotel offers great rooms and cleanliness for a price that other hotels don't match at this price point. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Had to stay a t place that was walking to the conference I was attending. The area around the hotel is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In SF and near my doctor visits

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Location to my doctor visits.
Not the best hotel, but in a good location for my visit. The workout room looked nice if I had time to use it on my visit. Small bathroom with no fan. Short walk to get a good bite to eat. Food at the Mel's was good but expensive it seemed. Door to the room was difficult to open. Cost over $40 per day to park. Better to stay at if you fly in for a visit. I have not stayed at any other SF hotel, so I am sorry if I am downrating it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Nice hotel in the center of everything San Fran.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Cons: Renovate interiors
Nice hotel. Not the newest interiors, but convenient to everything. The bed and the shower were incredible.