Ratings based on 2,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice, quiet one-nighter

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: quiet, good value
Cons: lobby remodel
Location: 1/2 mile, 10-minute walk to the Orpheum and Bart station
Spent a night at The Opal after seeing MoTown at the Orpheum. It worked out great! The hotel is a bit dated, and not in the best location just outside of Japantown, but the rooms are well kept and clean. We walked the1/2 mile to/from the theater. Our room faced Van Ness and we were concerned about traffic noise, but the windows are super well insulated -- actually double windows -- so we didn't hear the traffic at all. Would definitely stay hear again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opal San Francisco

Posted Aug 18, 2014
At first we were skeptical. The block Opal is on does not seem that great. But at the price, the hotel staff and the room was great. We recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Good location with enough ro. Needed new mattresses and pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Room size, location, parking, Mel's Diner
Cons: Bathroom size, occasional noise can be heard from neighboring guests
After reading prior reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked The Opal for our stay in San Francisco. When my family and I checked in, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was bigger than I expected and was roomy enough for the 5 of us. The 2 queen beds were comfortable and the pull out sofa bed was okay. The bathroom was small but the size of the room made up for it. The hotel is old but kept nice and clean. We didn't have to worry about parking for our rent a car since the hotel has a parking lot for a daily fee. A convenient feature about this hotel is the diner that is connected to the hotel lobby. When we arrived to check into the hotel close to midnight, hungry and tired, we were glad to see the entrance to Mel's Diner. Open 24 hours, The diner has great food and reasonable prices. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The Opal and would not hesitate to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too far walk to Union Station

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It was a clean, affordable choice. The neighborhood is a little dodgy and we didn't know that prior to our stay but I did not mind the location overall. Mel's Diner on the main floor is open 24 hours and is pretty cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Good Location, Knowledgeable Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness of the room
Cons: The breakfast room can have longer hours to try and meet the needs of the many guest staying there. Adding a shelf in the bathroom
Our family of five recently stayed in one of the deluxe double queen rooms and found it quite pleasing. We normally stay only at big flagged hotels such as Holiday Inn & Marriott's but thought it might be nice to stretch our comfort zone and try a local boutique. We were glad we did! The kids even said they felt it was one of the better hotels we've stayed in. The location made it easy to traverse to all the tourist spots we had on our agenda and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast room did leave a bit for wanting, It's a small room for the amount of guest the hotel supports and was crowded pretty much all the time. We tried breakfast at different hours each day trying to find a less crowded dinning time and were not successful. However there are many coffee shops in the area in walking distance. Though we didn't have any problems checking in the family before us did and the hotel staff quickly found a solution for their stay in a calm and controlled manor. The bathroom of our room was a bit lacking in counter space but we all came prepared with our travel bags and made it work, just like in the dorms or the gym. Over all I went in with a low expectation and left impressed. It's a good value for the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Just OK

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The price was less expensive than the other hotels in the area. Also the free wifi and continental breakfast
Cons: Nothing really without building a new hotel
Location: An easy drive to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf
Everything about this hotel is just ok. Nothing special about it. It's an older hotel that was renovated. The rooms are very small with a small bathroom. The location is in a busy area of the city and parking is tough to find. They do have a parking area behind the hotel that is convenient to park in, but charge $42 a day for it. All in all not the worst place I ever stayed in, but I won't go back there. We were there for business so not a big deal. Other decent hotels in the area were going for $300-$400 a night. Including taxes, I paid $250 a night, so I decided to go cheaper and got what I paid for. The positives were the free continental breakfast, free wifi, and the wine and cheese tasting they had on Wednesday. The hotel was also very close to many good restaurants. It was a 6 minute drive to Union Square, and only about 15 minutes away from Fisherman's Wharf. It's also very close to downtown San Francisco and getting on the freeway was easy to do. It's not really walking distance to anywhere worth going to around the hotel. I was told that the restaurant across the street was really good, known for their hof brau. I never got the chance to go there so can't say much about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paid 40 bucks for parking.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Bad location. Changed to the Sheraton so we were down at the warf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Short Cab ride to most locations.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Hotel was very comfortable. Staff was very courteous.
Location: A short cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Aquarium, Exploratorium, Lombard Street, Cable Cars
Was pleasantly surprised by my recent stay at the Opal. The staff was very courteous. Free continental breakfast included bagels, toast, yogurt, muffins, hard boiled eggs, mixed fruit. The hotel, although older, was very clean. On Wednesdays, they offer free wine and cheese tasting from 5-6 pm. The hotel is close to nearby eats (Mels Drive In, Tommy's Famous, Village Pizzeria.) Also 5 major street blocks away from the Famous Cable Cars of the California Line. A short cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Aquarium, and the Exploratorium. Our cab driver even took us down Lombard street, on our way to Pier 39! Not a good idea to go walking about at night, but that isn't limited to just this Hotel. All in all, I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the art decor

Posted Aug 1, 2014
It was a nice hotel. Breakfast was fine although I didn't like the TV blaring especially with the news. Gym was small, the bicycle didn't work but it was still good.