Ratings based on 2,875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

See my arrival review

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Stained carpet, book only if you plan on only sleeping here. It worked for that. Caution walking in area at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Surprisingly very clean!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
My husband and I stayed here due to the location and price. Surprisingly this hotel and our room was clean! We even pulled the sheets off the bed to check the mattress and examined it for any signs of stains or bugs. The bathroom was small but had a nice shower. We requested a room with a tub like many of the reviews of this hotel suggest to. We were also near the elevator which i thought would be noisy but we didn't hear anything nor did we hear the traffic on the busy street of Van Ness. There is a bus station right outside of the hotel and if you want to get to the Pier's you can take bus 47 which runs every 15 minutes. The hotel offers a very light breakfast. Fruit, yogurts, bagels, cereals, bread for toasting, and instant oatmeal. They offer hot water, tea, and coffee all day long. Also a Mel's diner that is 24 hours is connected to the hotel. There are homeless people around this hotel but honestly there are homeless people around every corner there. They didn't bother us and we never felt unsafe. We ended our last night watching a movie at the AMC movie theater that is just next block over. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marysville WA

walking distance to Mascone Center, resturants

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: location,
Cons: update rooms, stay with theme
Location: Mascone Center, Japan Town
check in was pleasant, room was good for the price, older property with character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom merced, ca

easy public transit close by

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: location, decent breakfast to get the day going, close to the bus lines
Location: movies and restaurants nearby.
we did a 3 day weekend in the city and stayed at the Opal. It was comfortable with a clean room, good breakfast to start the morning with, minutes from the union square area, easy access to several bus lines and a helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Opal Hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Nice hotel with rooms on the smaller size, but perfect if you just need a play to stay like me and my friends. Close to many areas and good pricing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Not for walking around

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Room was old and small, no dressers for our clothes. 6 block walk to çàble car line. Even at noon it felt unsafe due to great numbers of homeless roaming the Streets and doorways. Do try Tommy's joint across the street for great brisket sandwiches at low Prices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, Ca

A good place to put your head down.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
I normally stay at 4 star hotels but this time I wanted to save money and be close to my venue. We needed the room just for a few hours to sleep and this hotel was perfect for it. We needed a place to sleep and park the car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"only if you are really desperate"

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Cons: everything
The hotel is very old and not well updated. They need to invest in new pillows and new beds. The rooms are small and a bit depressing. The area of SFO is not too good. There is no doorman so they keep the door locked at all times. You have to use your room key to open the exterior door. The staff was pleasant and helpful but the breakfast that is included with the room rate is minimal.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Motel is more like it

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Meh.
If they could have charged us for breathing they would have. Horrible ẃi fi, no cable, extra bed advertised at ten dollars then twenty when we got there and was already supposed to have been in the room when we got there. Hotel staffwas unfriendly and aloof. You'd probably find a nicer room at best western.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opal.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Very nice old hotel. Walkable to many attractions. Dodgy neighborhood adjacent- Tenderloin. Flat pillows. Mediocre breakfast. Otherwise very good.