Ratings based on 3,024 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boucherville

Mauvaise experience

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: La grandeur de la chambre était bien
Cons: Nettoyage, rénovations, déshumidificateurs
Location: Pour une première visite à SF, je ne recommande pas cet établissement. trop loin de union square.
L'hôtel n'a pas su offrir les services mentionnés. Le wifi ne fonctionnait pas et la chambre était vraiment beaucoup trop humide que s'en était désagréable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Mesa, CA

Charming hotel near our daughter & husband

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location, parking available (at extra charge)
Cons: The hotel is a bit tired, but it has charm to mitigate that.
Location: Located on Van Ness and Geary, it's less than $10.00 by Uber to almost anything in the city.
The city is expensive, especially if you're driving. We gave up and used the hotel's parking garage and discovered Uber, the very convenient and inexpensive pseudo cab company. The hotel staff were very friendly, especially the woman in charge of the breakfast area. We were blessed with great weather, especially the day we went to twin peaks for a magnificent view of the city. the de Young Museum was also a treat. Don't miss the free Observation Tower at the museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great stay in SF

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eureka, CA

Walking distance to the Filmore

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Cons: The complimentary breakfast was the usual disappointing motel standard menu, full of carbohydrates.
The hotel room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We did NOT hear the traffic on Van Ness. The parking lot was secured by a "garage door opener".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The Opal was centrally located in San Francisco weekend vacation plans.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom high wycombe, uk

Very old and tired -shabby at best

Posted Apr 23, 2015
The hotel is very old, very shabby and in a not too pleasant part of town. However the room was large, bedding clean and plenty of hot water. The city was very busy and the price reflected this. It was very expensive for the standard. I would not recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Staff = Great; Location = Good; Hotel = Adequate+ The Opal experience was positive due to the staff. The hotel itself is like staying with an elderly aunt...bit of a time capsule experience. If you stay there, and like Sushi, go to YamaSho on Post...absolutely fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: city walk, accessible to transpo
Location: shopping & restaurants neighbors.
Nice hotel, staff, nice breakfast. The room assigned to me is wonderful - near at elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gladstone, Oregon

An older hotel that tries to please.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Desk staff. Proximity to Japantown. Restaurant is hotel
Cons: Better lighting in rooms. Bed update. I swear, first room had two 3/4 size beds I am 5'7" and my feet hung over the edge. Second room was not the same
Location: Tenderloin (bums, beggars, users) all within a block away. Daytime felt safe in the area, but would not walk around anywhere at night.
Arrived late on 4/17 and desk clerk worked like crazy to find us a room. They have a motel-like addition to the hotel (out back) that has seen better days. Clerk tried to find a suitable room for us, even offering to upgrade for free, but could find nothing but the dumpy room out back. Advised in morning ask for a new room to meet our needs. Clerk in morning says night clerk should have blocked out a nice room for us but did not, so we had to take a 2nd floor room. It was OK, but still not what I had hoped for. All staff were friendly and helpful. First night room had a defective telephone and no instructions on how to work the thermostat for heat. It was turned to off, so would not heat the room. Continental breakfast was so-so, just standard bagels, muffins, fruit, toast, juice, etc. Served 6:30 am to 10:00 am daily. All in all, it was a good experience. Have free coffee and tea in lobby all the time. Also a selection of newspapers available. Right next to TENDERLOIN district, so restricted as to where you might stroll. Mel's Drive-in is on the lower level with access from hotel. Across street id TOMMY'S JOYNT, kind of an eclectic spot. Both restaurants were reviewed on "Diners, Drive-in and Dives" on the Food Network. Location suited us as we were able to walk to our destination, the Northern California Cherry Blossom Festival in Japantown. Nice people, great parade and displays.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel Away from Main Street

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Free internet and breakfast.
Location: Too far away from everything.
The hotel is away from the main street of Market, Bart and the Town Square so if you want to walk your looking at 4 to 5 blocks. On the second day we found we were able to take the 47 bus towards Fishermans Warf which you can get off 1.5 blocks away which was great for $2.25. The bus stop was very close to the hotel. We also took a bus to Golden Gate bridge over to the park and then took a different bus back to the hotel. The hotel did offer free internet and breakfast which was great. The Bart is 5 blocks away but they did offer a shuttle for $16 each to airport (Bart is just under $10). Depending what your plans are will depend if this is the hotel for you. I found it too far from everything.