Ratings based on 2,380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Ambience (Victorian d├ęcor) staff attitude, comfort
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located in San Francisco, excellent bars, cafes and restaurants nearby.
Ideally located on Van Ness and Geary, ideal for going downtown, easy to get taxis, several good eating places nearby, as is the Cable car to main centre of city (Business district, Union sq. shopping and Ferry Terminal. Nice rooms, good continental breakfast, coffee all day. Staff very helpful and obliging. Good hotel for business of holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Good location

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Hotel was fine. Bed comfortable. Room was clean. Staff very nice. My only complaints there was a musty smell in the room which took some getting used to. The bathroom fan was very loud. Otherwise fine and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
the hotel was fine for bare minimum, not luxurious but clean. rooms are seriously lacking in electrical outlets
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
nice place would stay here again if priced lower. Only stayed in city to be close for medical procedure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Hotel too close to an area not considered too safe

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Parking was secure
Cons: Breakfast more conducive to European visitors. Bathroom had no space for toothbrushes , deodorant etc.
Location: Tough location had to cab or bus to get to places of interest.
Check-in was okay. Had a bad experience with housekeeping. Lost a special pillow case on our personal pillow. Past visits to San Francisco we were able to walk to most destinations or jump on cable car. Walking not recommended. Bus transportation required
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

great place reasonable price

Posted Oct 13, 2014
For a place rated 2.5 stars I was most impressed. The staff was super nice and helpful and told me all about what was going on in San Fran that day. The room was clean and smelled fresh even though the building is quite old it didn't feel musty like a lot of old places. The air conditioning worked and they even let me check in early which was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Location: Great location for most city attractions
If you want a good location and a budget hotel the the Opal is for you. The Muni stops right outside the hotel and it takes you direct to Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is old, has a unique smell, but it is comfortable, clean, and friendly. Don't eat at Mel's Diner next door, instead try Tommy,s Joynt across the street. Cheaper and better food we stayed at the Opal for a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Good value, central location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Hotel Opal was nice - exactly what I expected. Older rooms but very clean. Good free breakfast (other reviews said "basic" but I think it was what you'd expect from a continnetial breakfast) and coffee in reception area at all times. Nice central location - we walked to the warf no problem (half hour or so) or took public transit (bus stop right out front and one bus can take you to the warf to at&t park - 47) - apparently on the edge of a rough area but never felt unsafe, just use your head. Friendly staff who gave us a half hour later check out no problem. Would recommend to friends and stay again next time (if not willing to pay extra to stay at the Warf area).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was not in the best part of town, the beds were uncomfortable, linens very worn, but clean, the room and bathroom were small but also clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price I paid

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Giving the price I paid , that hotel meet all my expectation and little more. Things to consider, rooms are small but that wasn't an issue to me, the hotel is close to an area where they were lots of homeless ppl, but they were harmless. I liked the fact its walking distance from the heart of SFO, about 5 to 10 walk. The hotel offers breakfast, over all it as good but I wished their bread was fresher .