Ratings based on 1,301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK if you're on a budget

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The staff are great, but the rooms are nothing to get excited about
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, old, bad wifi

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: great location, close to all near downtown
Cons: wifi, room prepared with ac, better refrigerators and tv
rooms and bathrooms was very small. noisy 2nd floor, wireless was horrible to non existent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas baby

Great little boutique hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Very convenient and comfortable. Friendly staff. Room nicelyset up with all the comforts I would expect in a much more expensive hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Everything you need

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: staff were helpful and free wi-fi, good central location
Location: Really close to trams and trains, art galleries close by, lots of shopping
Good location, has everything you need, room is a little small but more than adequate and nicely furnished, free wifi and close to lots of transport and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Stayed here over the forth of July, really nice hotel for the price. I'd stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
There is a ton of things to do within walking distance. Lots of great food nearby. If you don't want to drive, there is plenty of transit stops too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal and uk

Perfect spot to see San Fran

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Price was right staff great right area no worrys of bums and there are a lot in the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Jewel of a hotel in the heart of the City

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The charm, the personal service, and the location.
Cons: The rooms are probably too small for families, but for couples or single traveler it was great. The parking is expensive, but that seems unavoidable
Location: The location is great. It is convenient to all kinds of buses as well as the cable car starting point. It is also right near Union Square.
We stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel just south of Market Street. Although we checked in early, our room was ready for us. The hotel staff was friendly. Because it is a small hotel there is not a lot of staff. The concierge doubled at a bellman, but there was always someone around when you needed assistance. Because it is a small hotel, the hotel staff greeted us by name as we came and went, which added a nice personal touch. The hotel is clean and comfortable and in a lovely old building that was clearly updated recently. The room was very very small, which might bother some people, but we found that it is was so well appointed and so cleverly laid out that we did not mind the size. A restaurant with an entrance off the lobby serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The first night we were exhausted and had dinner at the hotel restaurant ("Soma"). It was fine meal at a reasonable price and the service was excellent. All in all a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Aging hotel that was a bit pricy for what you get.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Moscone Center for Google I/O conference, beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Soundproofing between walls, noisy pipes, soundproofing from street, overall condition of rooms/amenities, this place seems to just need a little TLC
Location: Lots of nice restaurants, close to Moscone Center, lots to do in downtown San Francisco.
Most of these comments are probably typical for many hotels in SoMa (south of Market Street district of downtown San Francisco) but since we were charged 2-3x the normal rate during the Google I/O conference for an aging hotel experience, I wanted to share them. The staff was friendly and the double beds were very comfortable but the hotel definitely shows it's age. The street was also very noisy with sometimes Ambulances and Firetrucks blaring every 5-10 minutes as early as 5-6 in the morning. Before 7am on our second night there, the entire building fire alarms went off and we all ran outside in our pajamas as the Fire Department showed up, came in for 5 minutes, and left. It would have been nice to get an explanation from the staff but none came and understandably they were probably getting inundated with not-so-pleasant calls from customers that day. The pipes also screech very loudly when people shower so if someone next to you takes a very early shower, chances are you'll be getting up with them unless you've bought earplugs in advance. Also, there is not a huge amount of sound proofing and if you have a child next to your room or loud adults they will definitely become part of your room atmosphere whether you like it or not. Anyway, not trying to be over critical but we payed a pretty high rate for our room during the conference (which is kinda expected). I don't plan on staying at this hotel again which is likely the best way to voice my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mitch from San Diego

Good place at the price

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The rooms are clean and comfortable. There's a desk with a comfortable chair. And power outlets are accessible .
Cons: Water pressure was low, and WiFi was bad even by hotel-WiFi standards. Food at the pub associated with the hotel was mediocre.
Location: Close to the convention center, downtown, restaurants, coffee shops.
I stayed there one night for a conference at the St. Regis, two blocks away, because the St. Regis was booked up. Nothing special but I'd stay here again.