Ratings based on 1,775 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yakima, Wa

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They upgraded our stay for our anniversary to a king bed suite. The hotel was beautiful, and the location was perfect. My only issue was the bed. It was uncomfortable for our taste and we tend to like a really cold room when we sleep and there wasn't any air conditioning. However we found out that most of San Francisco doesn't have air conditioning so we understood that. But overall it was a nice stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Great hotel for tourist

Posted Jul 22, 2014
I loved this hotel, yes it's old, yes it's loud, but if you're here to be a tourist, it's perfect! Right in the heart of the city, close to everything, perfect for finding easy transportation, and is a great place if you're just there to sleep! Definetly coming back to this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff was fantastic! Professional and helpful. The location was outstanding.
Cons: The carpets need to be removed from the rooms! That may eliminate the stench in the room. Awful!
Location: Great location - union market. Everything was accessible - bus and Bart.
The hotel staff was fantastic! Professional and helpful. The location was outstanding. However, the room had an awful stench. It was so terrible that we had to ask for air fresheners which helped a little. The smell in the room made our time in the room uncomfortable and minimal. We will not be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Disappointing but excellent location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Even though the location is excellent and the staff is very pleasing the conditions of the hotel leave much to desire. The carpet is disgustingly dirty, it is desperate need of replacing. I like the style but The overall conditions of the hotel inside also are in desperate need of restoration. Another very important note: even though they advertise "continental breakfast" (included) there is no such a thing! it is just donuts and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel is ok and in the missel of the action

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Vert wall located and distance of walk to the Bart transportation direct l'y to the sfo airport
Cons: The elevator (2) are vert slow and some air condition inf. Will keep the Windows closed and héla us sleep
Location: Good location
No air conditioning lot of noise with the open Windows
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fransisco

Great location downtown

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The staff very helpful and friendly. Happy hour
Cons: The beds were a bit firm
Location: Shopping, tram, BART trains
Very convenient if you are into shopping as right across from Westfields Mall. also right beside tram and the Powell St BART trains. It was perfect if you wanted to be right in the heart of the city. The hotel is quite old but clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Old world charm !

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable throughout. Access to transport and shopping. Great little eatery inside with good coffee.
Cons: Free breakfast was ok but could have had toast & cereal. Pastries and muffins only. Not really breakfast to me. Coffee,tea and juices were fine.
Location: Perfect ! Cable car turn around right outside , Westfield across the road , most tours start from union square just 2 blocks up the road.
Beautifully restored & renovated . Nice colourings and furnishings . Good amenities & little extras for a good price in the heart of Union Square (y)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
Dear Tammerz M, We appreciate your candid feedback, and regret if we missed the mark in a couple areas throughout your stay. It is never out intention to discuss financial matters in front of a guest, and will be sure to address this internally so that it does not occur again. Please note that our hotel will be undergoing some significant improvements happening in the near future, and we hope to welcome you back to ultimately regain your confidence in us. -The Powell Hotel Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Good location, but poor quality

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: they should do full renovation
Hotel located in very centre of San Francisco, it took about 40 minutes to get there from SFO. Hotel staff is very friendly, but room conditions are not so good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
We pride ourselves on our prime location steps from the BART station, Union Square and Moscone Center...not too many other hotels have this kind of advantage. You will be pleased to know that our hotel recently changed ownership, and we will be extensively updating our accommodations in the months to come. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience! -The Powell Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

good hotel central to shopping

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: tea and coffee facilities in the room
We would stay in this hotel again. The reception staff were very pleasant to deal with, nothing too much trouble. The hotel was very central and quiet if you stayed in the middle of the hotel. Overall a very good experience, and too many people had written bad reviews. You have to experience it yourself before making judgment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind review, and emphasizing how friendly and convenient our hotel is in downtown San Francisco. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Nice,Close to Everything, friendly staff and comfy

Posted Jul 4, 2014
loved it! It was literally 10 steps from the BART and the Cable Cars. Friendly Staff and nice old hotel. Yes, the restroom was tiny but everything worked
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You can't beat our close proximity to the BART station and cable cars too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.