Ratings based on 1,906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Close to the center of San Francisco

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The location factor
Cons: The hotel is in need of some renovation The breakfast was not particularly good
Location: cable-cart, shopping, Chinatown
A good hotel to stay, near the town center, good transport connections. The building itself has some character features that make it very interesting
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good for the price

Posted Nov 26, 2014
In my stay the hotel staff were nice. However, I was a bit disappointed with the quality of the building and furniture. It truly needs a renovation and needs more attention to cleanliness.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The hotel staff were friendly. The lobby and dining area were updated and nice. The room was very small and the layout was awkward. The bathroom had a lot of mildew and needed deep cleaning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Not bad

Posted Nov 22, 2014
The hotel is ideally located..in fact perfect. Scheduled for renovation and it needs it. Only complaint continental breakfast disappointing...just donuts..great coffee. should be ideal after renovation..should improve breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Clean quiet hotel right downtown

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, location and price.
Location: Union square, convention center, cable car, market street.
I was at a conference at the convention center. The Powell hotel was two blocks away, right by the BART station and cable car line. I found it to be one of the nicest mid level hotels I have stayed at in San Francisco and would recommend it for those looking for reasonably priced, centrally located, accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good one

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Close to Powell station just above the sephora store
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Very old hotel that needs renovation

Posted Nov 20, 2014
View of pigeons outside your window. You can hear pigeons moan throughout the night. Breakfast was a plus, but the room lighting is very weak. It looks like you are at a haunted house. Bed was comfortable...just the loud pigeons...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Can't beat the location, it's charming, but very old and run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ga

Location is excellent

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Convenient for food, grocery shops, shopping malls, public transportation, etc. Cold at night in Nov, and heater is not working. Front desk at night is not patient to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great old hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Central staircase added beauty to each floor! Also the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Could be a tiny bit cleaner ... but it was not at all offensive and I wouldn't even mention it if you hadn't asked.
Location: Shopping, public transportation, easy city walking ... all right at the door step!
The location is terrific being right off Market at the Powell Street BART station. It is a block from Union Square for those shoppers! I was in SF on business and the hotel was comfortable, quiet and perfectly adequate for a business trip. I love the fact that they kept all of the old moldings, wood stair railings and other wonderful charm. Other people might need their place to feel brand new ... I appreciate the fact that this Hotel has taken care of an old treasure in a way that is very pleasing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to read how much you enjoyed the Powell Hotel! It seems our location and historic charm exceeded expectations during your stay. We are one of the few historic hotel located in the heart of San Francisco built back in 1908 - one of the first buildings rebuilt after the Earthquake in 1906.