Ratings based on 1,854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Central for everything

Posted Aug 29, 2014
First time to sf and enjoyed hotel, atmosphere and hotel accomodation.. Really friendly hotel staff. Look forward to returning one day..!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is on union square.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: The internet needs expansion to carry the number of users at the hotel.
Location: The location is on Union Square. Everything is close by, including the cable cars and other modes of public transportation and of course shopping.
Excellent. The staff goes out of its way to help. The location allows for efficient use of time. The shopping is abundant and top quality and only a short walk away. The theater district and museums are also a 10 minute walk from the hote.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice hotel, friendly staff, centrally located

Posted Aug 26, 2014
This is our second time staying at this hotel. They have a friendly and helpful staff. Overall, good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit disappointing

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bathrooms and breakfast
Hotel is not 3 stars, its 2 stars at best. Room bathrooms were old, pictures are deceiving. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was also very limited and disappointing. We booked a day trip through the hotel reception and the bust forgot to pick us up so after waiting for more than 1 hr, we had to get a taxi to go get the bus. Location is great. bottom line-if you care about location mostly and you are not expecting a 3 star hotel, the Powell is good. If you are expecting a 3 star hotel with great amenities, you will not be thrilled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location, needs renovations

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The staff and location is amazing. The rooms are smaller than they appear online. The paint is coming off the walls. All this hotel needs is some renovations and it will be amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

In the center of the downtown T

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location is excellent next to the BART. Convenient to everywhere
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Stay away

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: My departure
Cons: How bout pretty much everything.
Location: Great location next to the start of the trolley line. Lots of stores and restaurants
Old hotel in desperate need of renovtation. Paint peeling, Tile broken and to top it off a water line break that prevented all guests from taking a shower in the morning. Stay away until they get their act together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
Anatoly- We regret to learn about your disappointing experience at the hotel. It seems the unfortunate water event dampened your overall experience, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Please be assured that we value everyone one of our customers, and do everything to make sure their stay is as comfortable as possible. We can only ask for another opportunity to showcase our new hotel improvements coming in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane australia

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 19, 2014
If you prefer airconditioning then this place is not for you. Its an older hotel and its nice. Its close yo a major shopping centre Westfield. The staff are helpful. Its pet friendly but if you have allergies like myself it may not be suitable. It does need to be updated in some areas in order to justify the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.. Once our hotel undergoes significant improvements, we will have HVAC in each guest room. We apologize if the lack thereof caused any inconvenience, but we do look forward to welcoming you back for a much improved experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long island, NY

Conveniently located

Posted Aug 18, 2014
An old hotel that is tastefully remodeled, very helpful staff, continental breakfast (croissants and delicious donuts - nothing healthy). Only negative is noise level as it's in the heart of the city. The main cable car line is right outside the front door (but you need to get up early to catch a ride).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, however, regret if the city noise caused any disturbance during your recent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Very charming and historic feeling hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: I loved the historic charming feel from the front desk to the hallways and the tall ceilings in the room.
Cons: The lighting in the bathroom could be improved. Also, the addition of something other that sweets for breakfast. Bagels and cream cheese or toast???
Location: Close to the Bart station, Cable Car turn around, shopping galore, restaurants all within walking distance.
The Powell Hotel was perfect for our 4 night stay. It was charming, clean, had a comfortable bed and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Westley, Hotel Management
The Powell Hotel stands out among the rest having been one of the first buildings rebuilt after the big earthquake and fire that destroyed San Francisco in 1908 and is now a true San Francisco treasure. There is a true sense of pride here, and we are proud of the warm and caring attitude our associates extend to guests. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you would definitely return to us again!