Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Maybe i was expecting to much?

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The front desk person Alex, she was great!
Cons: New bed
Location: Very good location.
The building wasn't in great shape. The steam room didn't work. There wasn't a pool anymore. My bed was saggy and my back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: service and food
Cons: needs upgrade
Great food and services, like you would expect from a 5 star hotel.The hotels needs some upgrades but would recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Awesome! Staff, facility & amenities are all 1st class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place, helpfull staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Good place, smiling and helpfull staff, cleaness
Cons: A shuttle between union square and/or Fisherman's Warf may be cool
Location: Good place but still you have to walk up a hill. Too near to anywhere for taxis. A Shuttle may be a good idea.
We stayed in the hotel for family vacation. We felt as in home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I was very unlucky when I stayed they were remodeling first and second floor... No gym :(.. No body mention remodeling when I was booking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The staff was especially helpful (valet,concierge,front desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50th anniversary

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: We met there 50 years ago at Metropolitan life ins. Co. So it was the perfect place to stay at for our 50th anniversary.
Excellent stay, the 37th paralal restraunt was excellent, we only had breakfast ther twice but our waitress )Teressa) was wonderful, very friendly. She seemed like she knew us and cared about our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel was fantastic. My only complaint is about parking. Even for San Francisco, I think $64 per night plus tourism taxes for a total of over $73 is outrageous. They should factor some of this into room cost. My $299 rate finished at over $400 for 1 night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Style.
Cons: Overall, great!
Location: You have all the shopping and a cute park very close! Its between beautiful hills and views :)
The hotel was honestly beautiful and the staff was very helpful. However, It being the Ritz, I have to say, the room had not been cleaned as I would have expected it to be. It had stuff from the person who was in it before me. Including a used toothbrush and mouthwash. I hope they change sheets... But again, the staff really made up for it and the location can not be toped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Canada

Perfect location for 3-days in the City!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff. Reputation.
Location: Cable car is right outside the door! Chinatown is a block away. Union Square (and fabulous shopping) is a quick 10 minute walk away. Great location!
Location was perfect! Welcome upon arrival was top-notch, Robert showed us to our room - one of the best introductions to a city and hotel we've ever had. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. Every staff member was professional, polite - beyond helpful. Parallel 37 staff were personable, helpful. Bell staff, doormen, front desk - honestly, just great folks! Couldn't ask for a more comfortable and friendly welcome back every day. We were so impressed....until we used (tried to use) the concierge desk.....twice. Don't bother with their concierge. The only negative from our entire 3-day weekend was the concierge desk - weren't helpful, were uninterested, curt with their responses to our inquiries, made us feel like an imposition. We would stay again, would not hesitate to recommend ...... with that one caveat.