Ratings based on 998 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel on Nob Hill

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Elegant, lovely furnishings, roomy guest rooms.
Location: The hotel is at the top of Nob Hill, near Grace Cathedral. The walk to restaurants and shops is steep but there are two cable car lines nearby.
The Scarlet Huntington is elegant, well-located, with a refined restaurant/bar, excellent service from the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
Lage und Hotel top allerdings unverständlich, dass es einen Fahrservice gratis gibt (der wirklich gut ist) aber für das WIFI 15 Dollar extra berechnet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire England

Birthday weekend

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Everything as stated above beautiful.
Cons: They charged $14.95 per day in the room for wifi, but in the lobby/bar areas it was free, not right we were guests anyone could come to use it free
Location: Nob Hill walking like we did was a challenge so steep down to Union Square and shopping then climbing back up was hard work taxi to fisher and wharf
A very impressive hotel, the decor/furniture is amazing so colourful and quirky. Our suite was so spacious with beautiful furniture etc. we were on floor 10 with all around views of San Francisco. The Big 4 bar and restaurant was lovely. We sat in the bar/lounge area a few times and ate in the restaurant all excellent. The lobby staff were very helpful with information about where to go. We will go back there one day definitely.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Carlos

Nice bed, nice service, but unavailable amenities!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The bed, sheets, and pillows were heavenly! The hotel staff was astounding. Professional and very friendly.
Cons: Hot tub was closed due to a private party. I specifically chose this hotel for their amenities (hot tub and spa lounge).
booked this hotel because I wanted to go into the hot tub after a long day of wedding prep. I spent a lot of time and effort in choosing your hotel, with that being the selling point for me. I understand that that the hotel went out of their way to offer nearby gym facilities, but I wasn't looking for a gym :(. Even if the gym had a hot tub, that was not what I was looking for. I wanted to get in my cozy (awesome!) hotel robe and take the elevator down to the hot tub- not take a taxi or walk out of the hotel for a tub. Aside from the tub, I also wanted to lay out on your balcony! It looked so nice on the website! That Thursday was pretty disappointing! The front desk was aware of my displeasure but I did not ask for any refunds at that time because I was to get married the next morning, so I had enough on my plate! and didn't want to get aggravated over something that could be dealt with later. It made me very sad that the hotel offers common amenities to groups for a price. 2) I called the Scarlet Huntington main number, and spoke to a very nice gentleman. I told him that this hotel was to be out "night of getting married" hotel. He promised that there would be something special in the room (campaign? rose petals?- I didn't know!). There was nothing in the room that evening, which was a little disappointing. I never, thank goodness!, mentioned anything to the groom- so he wasn't disappointed. In the end, I was very disappointed with the hotel- which was magnified by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on top of the Hill

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Spa/Restaurant/Spacious Room
Cons: Include breakfast
I barely ever write reviews, but I felt inclined after our very pleasant stay at the Scarlet. The staff/amenities were fantastic. We loved the spa and restaurant. Our room was very spacious and had a good view of the city. Two Thumbs Up
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Staff and space for the price.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Staff was excellent. Even had a great limo driver to take you around
I was immediately upgraded to a suite that was gorgeous
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future! Graciously yours, Gail Isono General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Weekend in san fran!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
We came down from Seattle for three nights to hit up a few restaurants and see a show. First trip with a new baby, and the hotel desk staff gave us a corner room, which was great so we wouldn't keep others up if he cried a little. The view was overlooking the park, and we could hear the trolleys. The staff hailed us cabs, always greeted us warmly, everyone was great. Genuinly nice people! Being able to take turns using the steam room and sauna while the baby was napping was wonderful! Really nice hotel, loved the large size of the rooms and the coffee machine, although I brought my own k-cup pods cause I am a snob and love caffee darte! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear Caitlin, Thank you for your thoughtful review! I'm happy to hear your first vacation with the baby was a success! I know that traveling with children can be challenging at times. I'm also glad to hear that you used the amenities at the spa! Our guests don't use them often enough. Please come back and see us upon your return to San Francisco! Graciously yours, Gail Isono General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Courteous and friendly staff ensured a stress free and pleasant hotel stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham, WA

Very nice hotel on Nob Hill

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: My only complaint is that if you like to sleep with the window open, you will be awakened by noisy garbage trucks.
Location: Right across the street from Grace Cathedral; near shopping and many good restaurants
We were in town to attend my niece's wedding. Good restaurant in the hotel, but within walking distance of several other good restaurants, as well. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is right on Nob Hill, and the cable car runs right by the hotel, so it's easy to get downtown, to Fisherman's Wharf, etc. The hotel isn't cheap, but considering it's on Nob Hill, right next door to the Mark Hopkins and the Fairmont, it's a good value. I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Great Place - highly recommended

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Great room and location. Very friendly staff and when I needed them to assist me - they were fantastic. Went out of their way to help me.