Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edie from San Francisco

Beautiful Nob Hill Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The service and location were excellent. The hotel is warm and inviting. The views of San Francisco are beautiful.
Cons: Elevator service. One of the two elevators was not being used. I understand this hotel will be closed beginning January 1 for restoration/updating.
Location: This is a beautiful area for walking/A lovely park across the street/Three other hotels on Nob Hill, so there's ample dining/Cable car at front door.
This hotel is across the street from Grace Cathedral, where I had a ticket to attend a Christmas concert. I was given "run of the house" and was shown a lovely suite. Although it was apparent on a closer search that the carpet edges were fraying and small areas in the bathroom were in need of repainting, the room was still in great condition. Very comfortable and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013
3 out of 5
by Nork from London

Old school hotel in good location

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: Not much apart from a stunning location.
Cons: Needs a huge upgrade. It's tired and smelly
Location: Nob Hill. Very central and easy to get to everywhere.
This hotel is really tired and thank god they are having a makeover in 2014 orchestrated by the Singaporean hole company. The whole hotel needs a huge upgrade to take it into the 21st century. Rooms are big, good views, bed was comfortable but no free wifi in room, tired decor and fittings and the walls are paper thin which was not ideal for a good nights sleep especially as I was on a business trip. I'd give this hotel 'one of the supposed big 4' a swerve and stay elsewhere if you are looking for more style and comfort. It did have a feel of an old people's home as I sat in the lobby to use the Internet (how 90's).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S&P from Canada

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: The fact that it's vintage.
Cons: The food in the restaurant is good. The staff is efficient. But it is very dark in there. A planned reno will help.
Location: Concerts at the Masonic Hall, walks to China town or to Union Square. Lots of good restaurants close by. You feel like you're in a real neighborhood
Very nice vintage boutique hotel. It was clean, quiet and the staff are very accommodating. We got very good tips about restaurants and such from the concierge and other staff. If you are attending a concert at the Masonic Hall, this is the best location, pretty much next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Favorite San Francisco Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: It is old world elegance combined with friendly and warm staff, great location, comfortable, quiet, and in a beautiful neighborhood in San Francisco.
Cons: The Big Four Restaurant is wonderful. Dining at its best. The menu could use a bit more variety. Coffee in the lobby could be there until 8 vs 7 am
Location: Cable Car access, garden/park across the street, Grace Cathedral coffee shop 1 minute away, nice italian neighborhood restaurant down the street
I love this hotel. The staff are great, the rooms are lovely, the lobby is comfortable and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Nov 15, 2013
After traveling all day, this is the place to relax. Upscale, welcoming and friendly. I absolutely loved staying here. All of the hospitality that is provided at the Ritz, but much friendlier staff.