Ratings based on 741 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxuriate here....

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tory Ford from San Francisco

charming rooms, fabulous spa and restaurant

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great service! Beautiful vintage vibe throughout the hotel. Great amenities like pool, steam room, sauna (the Nob Hill Spa). Dinner at The Big Four was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JenBalboni from Santa Cruz, ca

Love this place

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is fantastic with a wonderful location at Nob Hill in the city. It is very QUIET for sleeping unlike Union Square. The room service is fantastic and the spa is GREAT and I love the fact you can take the elevator directly to the spa unlike some hotels where you have to walk across the lobby in your robe. i will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edie from San Francisco

Beautiful Nob Hill Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The service and location were excellent. The hotel is warm and inviting. The views of San Francisco are beautiful.
Cons: Elevator service. One of the two elevators was not being used. I understand this hotel will be closed beginning January 1 for restoration/updating.
Location: This is a beautiful area for walking/A lovely park across the street/Three other hotels on Nob Hill, so there's ample dining/Cable car at front door.
This hotel is across the street from Grace Cathedral, where I had a ticket to attend a Christmas concert. I was given "run of the house" and was shown a lovely suite. Although it was apparent on a closer search that the carpet edges were fraying and small areas in the bathroom were in need of repainting, the room was still in great condition. Very comfortable and spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Closing temporarily for needed renovations

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice place and a lot of former glory. But the rooms are getting tired and need updating. Carpet in my room was frayed and some paint peeling. They are temporarily closing the hotel for a few months to make these renovations, so it should be better soon. Otherwise, very nice staff, nice lobby/restaurant/bar, and large rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013
3 out of 5
by Nork from London

Old school hotel in good location

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: Not much apart from a stunning location.
Cons: Needs a huge upgrade. It's tired and smelly
Location: Nob Hill. Very central and easy to get to everywhere.
This hotel is really tired and thank god they are having a makeover in 2014 orchestrated by the Singaporean hole company. The whole hotel needs a huge upgrade to take it into the 21st century. Rooms are big, good views, bed was comfortable but no free wifi in room, tired decor and fittings and the walls are paper thin which was not ideal for a good nights sleep especially as I was on a business trip. I'd give this hotel 'one of the supposed big 4' a swerve and stay elsewhere if you are looking for more style and comfort. It did have a feel of an old people's home as I sat in the lobby to use the Internet (how 90's).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ann from East Hampton, NY

Amazing location. Great first look at San Francisc

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my first visit to San Francisco and I couldn't have wished for a better experience. The location was perfect: very near the two cable car lines and other hotels for a quick lunch or drink. It seems the hotel bar at the Huntington was always the place to be. Piano music all night long and interesting people to chat with. My only negative comment would be the concierge needs to be more pro-active with giving information. They would mostly answer our questions but never make suggestions. Since this was my first visit I really didn't know what to ask. The next to last day I found a brochure that offered a city tour. This was excellent and would have been a good suggestion on day 1.