Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: the staff.
Cons: the new decor could be changed. see above.
The Huntington was my favorite hotel. The old world charm and comfort of the place made staying there a wonderful experience and a special treat. The staff were also my favorite. Warm and kind and nice. I had hoped the renovation would upgrade what needed upgrading and keep the old world charm intact. I returned there last week. Fortunately most of the staff were still there. But the decorating changes were awful. Rather than elegant and soothing they were harsh colors, jarring and garish. The bedroom was comfortable. The bathroom upgrades were fine. And though the upgrade to a large suite was very much appreciated the room decor was awful. In the elevator another guest who had stayed in the old Huntington asked me what I thought. We agreed the changes are tacky. I didn't realize I am a snob until now. I'm torn about returning. On the one hand the location is still great, as are the staff. On the other hand, the lovely atmosphere appears to be a thing of the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great & comfortable hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Beautiful view of the Bay. In the heart of the city, so we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Also on the trolley line. Very clean room & super comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great place to stay, wonderful staff

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The room was beautiful.
Cons: The bar menu left much to be desired. After a long day of traveling, grilled cheese or a cheeseburger didn't cut it. We went to the Fairmont.
A beautiful boutique hotel on Nob Hill. We made reservations before the hotel finished their renovations. They did a great job preserving the history of the property. On arrival, we were told we were upgraded to a "small suite". It was huge and beautiful with terrific views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great Hotel well situated

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: Larger Bathroom
Location: Trolley cars in front of hotel and 2 blocks down (Powell to Union Square)
Large room but relatively small bathroom Great views from room, across from park and Grace church. 5 minute walk to Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neptune, NJ

A excellent boutique hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I stayed 2 nights at the end of my trip up the pacific coast highway. This was a excellent choice. The hotel has endless charm and style. The location of this hotel is great it's in the nob hill section of san francisco. I stayed in room 608 which faced down taylor with a city view. I opened all the windows and felt the breeze.Warm air during the day and cool at night. Everyone that worked at this hotel was about delivering great customer service. I would not only recommend this hotel to anyone that i know is traveling to San Fran but when i return i will be staying here again no doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

I/We have never stayed at a better hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: While we had a fantastic time, and treated like Royalty, I honestly believe there is always room for improvement,
Location: Location Perfect, Everything to do nearby.
The Scarlet Huntington San Francisco is such a wonderful place, my own family has never treated me better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuart, FL

One of the marvelous old hotels

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We had a very large, comfortable, quiet room overlooking the park and views of the bay. The staff was attentive to our every need and made our 6-night stay an absolute joy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nob Hill perfection

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Everything: but perhaps it's refined elegance was what appealed most.
Cons: The air conditioning .
Location: Close to everything and on the cable car line so even San Francisco's famous hills didn't daunt us.
A wonderful find at a wonderful price. We're lucky enough to take advantage of a special " opening after renovation" offer to experience this elegant and well situated hotel. Located at the top of Nob Hill with cable cars running past the door, this hotel is all class. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Perfect location to visit my family.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It was updated very nicely, first class.
It turned out to be better than expected. My son in law, a native of San Francisco, said it was one of the most spacious rooms he has seen. Our family enjoyed the room and dining in the restaurant and also nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hammond, LA

Classy hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Flew in on Sun and stayed until the following Sat. Great location, friendly staff and close to transit lines. The Big 4 Bar & Restaurant on premises is fun and has great steaks. No tub in our King room but the shower was 2-person- spacious and well appointed. All in all, a wonderfully spacious room with great amenities. Slept with the windows open in Aug. Imagine that!