Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Q from Seattle, WA

Would stay there again!

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is more like a hostel but with top notch service! The people were really nice and helpful! Got me a shuttle to the airport an repeatedly call me to let me know when I didn't answer. Rooms were cleaned everyday! My room opened up to a balcony with a small garden. Rooms had enough space to sleep and get ready, not much of a place to lounge but I didn't need that. Many secure doors with locks so random people couldn't get in, made me feel safe. Blow dryer was not good so bring your own! Great location!! Lots of food around that stays open all night! I walked to the convention center everyday, pleasant 5 minute walk. Near the trolley! Well worth $120/night instead of the usual $300 everybody else was charging!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A quiet oasis

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: Staff were always cheerful.
Cons: new carpet in my room. it feels dirty. and NEW PILLOWS please. they were way overused, flat, icky.
Location: Great location. Walked to Polk for dinner. VanNess for the workshop. Easy bus service to Fisherman's wharf...
I had an internal room that was dark and very, very quiet. That served my needs well after days of workshop stimulation. Easy grocery nearby. A little sketchy at night but I was never hassled on the street.
2 out of 5
by Pneuma from Dallas, TX, USA

Very noisy hotel room

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: location - close to downtown
Cons: street noise, small room, TV only has basic channels
Hotel rooms in downtown San Francisco are very expensive. This hotel is in a great location closed to Union Square. This hotel is relatively cheap compared to other hotels in the area. However, the hotel room is very small. The room is clean but I did find some residuals in the bath towel. The most disappointing part of my stay is the street noise. The wall is very thin and everything happened on street can be heard clearly in the room. I was unfortunate to stay in this hotel on a Saturday night and the noise was extremely loud even after midnight. If you want a quiet place to stay, I would recommend you go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value in SF

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Street noise
Location: The location is great just a few blocks from Union Square, the financial district, cable cars, BART and Muni.
The Touchstone offers great value in San Francisco. It is only a couple of blocks from Union Square and the financial district. There are no frills here but my room was clean and comfortable.. There was street noise until about 11 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever stayed at

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Front desk lady, location
This was hands down the best hotel I have ever had the privilege of staying in! My girlfriend and I absolutely loved it and the British woman at the front desk was literally the sweetest most helpful concierge ever. She set us up on her own time with wine tasting ideas, hip breakfast places and just talked to us so genuinely. Fantastic small hotel rooms that gives you the best city expirience. I don't usually trust reviews, but trust me when I say you will NOT REGRET staying here! Thank you Touchstone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Convenient location close to Union Square

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is conveniently located near Union Square and the cable car turnaround at Market Street so from here, it's easy to get around San Francisco. My only gripes are that it was difficult to find this place the day I checked in as I could not see the hotel's sign upon arriving at night and the fact that the hotel is located next to a hostel which meant that there were people from there making loud conversations in the alleyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dani from Reno, NV

Always Fun in San Francisco

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: Cozy and Cute, very San Francisco.
Cons: Nothing to report.
Location: Great location, by clubs, and Union Square.
We enjoy staying in this hotel because it feels like San Francisco. We can get anywhere in Union Square area on foot within 10 minutes. Public transportation gets us to the Wharf and Ghiradelli square with ease. The hotel is clean. The rooms are small but we don't spend much time there anyways and was perfect for two people. San Francisco doesn't sleep so there's noise at night, but that is to be expected and really not bothersome. Room is clean, shower is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill

Very nice

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
For the costs it was a very nice hotel. Not fancy, no frills, but extremely convenient with a very friendly and helpful staff. It's a little old and creeks, but so do I. I don't recommend the associated and neighboring deli.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Biggest Bang for the Buck

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: price & convenience
Location: downtown SF is like many other cities. It can be fun; but sometimes, you have to be careful.
This hotel is very affordable and very conveniently located. All in all, it is a good hotel for those who want to drop off your stuff and go out and see the city; and later come back and crash. It is very conveniently located, accessible to almost everything, including BART and other major transportation. As I suspect it is in most downtown hotels, you may hear some downtown noise; but, if you want to stay downtown, you have to accept the pros and the cons. Certainly you get a room at the Ritz; but, you will have to pay for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gena

Very convenient

Posted Jul 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed the staff. They were very nice and helpful. My room was decent. I didn't like the fact that the TV was up so high and that there weren't any good channels. But it left me more time to read and watch Netflix! The location was close to everything in union square.