Ratings based on 2,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from california

great location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: great location great gym bar and restaurant. food is a bit expensive and wifi is not free otherwise great hotel.. you should ask for a specific room
Cons: wifi should be free
at first I was upset at the front desk for not giving me a decent room only after I was assertive in my demand to change my room I was transferred to a better location which was available with no issue. Parking is expensive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

slappy work here and there, but good location.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
service on front desk, room service, was good. but room was not very clean. Found some hair in bath tub and in bed. Very lazy doorman. Location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic San Francisco hotel with great history.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Very clean, quality rooms. Location is great if you need to be in the thick of Union Square or downtown. The restaurants and bar in the hotel are good
Cons: Pricing is high for the room, room service, and parking.
I think for the price of the hotel, the rooms could be kicked up a notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I had a great time. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the heart of SF

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Luxurious feeling throughout, and the bathrobes were divine..
Cons: More drawer space
Location: Union Square area close to all transportation, shopping and many of SF's attractions
Good location, nice view and spacious room. The staff was courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lakewood, ca

Perfect location in Union Square

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This hotel is an old one but beautifully kept and super comfy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Super close to Bart and Trolley car. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because it was loud. There was either a generator or an a/c unit outside that we could hear all night... BUT it didn't keep us up, we were out late every night and as soon as we got back we were able to fall asleep. It was just noticeable while you were hanging out.. I absolutely love this hotel and will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Not much bang for your buck

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Good, over all, but why in this day and age do big hotel chains still charge for wi-fi in the room? It's like your parents charging you to use the kitchen when you visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Noisy Pipes

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Staying in Union square is SF is great, but hearing all the other guest flushing is not so nice. The room had no view, but was rather large and spacious. Furniture was a bit worn, and we were surprised to find condiments and wine glasses outside the room on our arrival. I thought someone might still be in there. Bed and bedding was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location and the room, the decor and the staff
Cons: Not much comes to mind
Location: Great location for transport, shopping and food and watching the world go by in Union Squar
A great stay in a lovely hotel. location was spot-on as there was a lot of great shopping within 10 minutes walk. The cable car runs past outside the front door and it was only about a five minute walk from the Powell Station BART station. We came off an international long haul flight, caught the BART from the airport and walked to the Hotel within about an hour and a half. The hop-on hop-off buses have a stop right opposite the hotel outside Macys. There is a great range of eating establishments with in five minutes walk of the Hotel if you wan to eat out. We really enjoyed San Francisco, it was a great icy and had a nice relaxed feeling to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We had a blast....top of the mark sucks. More extractions with facials. Lemonade in lobby was a treat!!