Ratings based on 2,284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I had a great time. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the heart of SF

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Luxurious feeling throughout, and the bathrobes were divine..
Cons: More drawer space
Location: Union Square area close to all transportation, shopping and many of SF's attractions
Good location, nice view and spacious room. The staff was courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lakewood, ca

Perfect location in Union Square

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This hotel is an old one but beautifully kept and super comfy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Super close to Bart and Trolley car. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because it was loud. There was either a generator or an a/c unit outside that we could hear all night... BUT it didn't keep us up, we were out late every night and as soon as we got back we were able to fall asleep. It was just noticeable while you were hanging out.. I absolutely love this hotel and will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Not much bang for your buck

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Good, over all, but why in this day and age do big hotel chains still charge for wi-fi in the room? It's like your parents charging you to use the kitchen when you visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Noisy Pipes

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Staying in Union square is SF is great, but hearing all the other guest flushing is not so nice. The room had no view, but was rather large and spacious. Furniture was a bit worn, and we were surprised to find condiments and wine glasses outside the room on our arrival. I thought someone might still be in there. Bed and bedding was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location and the room, the decor and the staff
Cons: Not much comes to mind
Location: Great location for transport, shopping and food and watching the world go by in Union Squar
A great stay in a lovely hotel. location was spot-on as there was a lot of great shopping within 10 minutes walk. The cable car runs past outside the front door and it was only about a five minute walk from the Powell Station BART station. We came off an international long haul flight, caught the BART from the airport and walked to the Hotel within about an hour and a half. The hop-on hop-off buses have a stop right opposite the hotel outside Macys. There is a great range of eating establishments with in five minutes walk of the Hotel if you wan to eat out. We really enjoyed San Francisco, it was a great icy and had a nice relaxed feeling to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We had a blast....top of the mark sucks. More extractions with facials. Lemonade in lobby was a treat!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not happy with accommodation

Posted Sep 3, 2014
I booked an updated king room a week in advance for a special occasion. Upon arrival I was told that the hotel overbooked their king rooms. I was offered a hotel credit of $50 and a room with a queen bed. Having no choice I had to accept and was given a small outdated room. I was very disappointed being that I was familiar with the hotel and knew what they had in king rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Classic hotel on Union Square

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Loved the character & architecture. Felt like stepping into a grand era. Grand king rooms were modern & spacious. Best of all - LOCATION!
Cons: Ensure carpets in rooms are vacuumed really well,as there was hair on carpet.
Location: Hop on hop off to take you to Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman Wharf etc, excellent shopping inc SAKS & Macys, fantastic restaurants
When we booked our 4 night stay, we searched for a hotel with character which exemplified the city of San Francisco. We chose St Francis as it had history, architecture and a story to tell (other options were too modern - where you can find in any city). We were celebrating our 20 year anniversary and a complementary bottle of champagne and lovely chocolate coated strawberries were sent to our room. The views from our room across the city to the bay were spectacular with the fog rolling in. The grand king room was well appointed with plenty of room. You will have to stay 24 floors or higher in the tower section for the views. The front desk staff were also very accommodating and did their best to get us a room at the highest possible level. The external glass elevators were a treat. St Francis is in the best location across Union Square; the hop on hop off buses and cable car are just across the street; and shopping at the door step OMG! The concierge staff were helpful and recommended a few great restaurants. The down side was that the carpet was not very clean in our room and the cost. Beware - it is a very expensive hotel to stay, however you pay for the location and the history. It was worth the experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shasta Lake, Calif.

WESTIN ST FRANCIS HOTEL SAN FRANCISCO

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The whole Hospitality setting, I can see that with all the employees, really enjoy there jobs & take great stride in making sure your stay great.
Cons: Free Internet Access
Location: Having brought two small dogs, we did the tour bus travel this time on 3 different bus rides & enjoyed every minute.
Hello, It is labor day 9-1-2014. My wife and I as well as our two children, Rocksey & Ginger , two beautiful female Dashound Dogs stayed at your hotel this last weekend. My wife being of Philippino descent had never been to San Francisco, and I made it happen this weekend, We live in Beautiful Shasta County near Lake Shasta. We arrived Friday Morn. to your hotel. {this was my choice as I believe the Westin St Francis is my choice hotel when going to San Francisco. Your Staff from the time we arrived, till the time of checkout, was so friendly and helpful, my wife was so impressed. The Registration Counter Staff was great, Your Conseiars, your maids, and everyone made our weekend a "Great One". Your staff as well as a lot of guests, showed so much attention to our two little weiner dogs, the people ask to take photos of the dogs as well. My wife still comments on how Lovely & well maintained the hotel is. And no corners were cut, when it came to the construction & finish work. Again Thank you the Staff of the" Hotel Westin St Francis Union Square" San Francisco. D. Rick & Marlyn Jones