Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by kate from Kansas City, Missouri

Just good location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities
Location: Restaurants nearby are all good.
This hotel is located very close to Union Squre and walkable distance to Chinatown. We walked to Fishman Warf from the hotel but it took nearly one hour and hard so I recommend to take a bus to go to Fisherman Warf and nearby pier. The facilities in the hotel are worn. The rooms are noisy. The bed was not comfortable and the television had only several channels and did not show well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

good enough

Posted Mar 24, 2014
my friends and i were staying in SF for spring break. i didn't care much about room comfort, as long as the price and location were good enough since we were not planning on staying in the hotel a lot. windows were dirty, shower was tiny, bathroom door wouldn't fully close, bedroom door wouldn't lock. it was still a good experience, as the staff was very helpful and like i said i didn't care about the comfort. if you do, however, this might not be for you. extremely convenient location, just across the street from a great diner, one block from union square, and couple of blocks from market/powell st where we took all our buses/subway rides since we couldn't rent a car.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex from Missouri

Tiny room with a wall of another building for you.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
If you're looking for a place to keep your stuff, it's a great room for one person. If you're looking for something better, go someplace else. I was disappointed in what I had. But it was my fault for not doing enough research. No food, the help wasn't exactly super friendly. And I felt the hotel needed an overhaul.
1 out of 5
by Laura from Irvine, S. California

Terrible conditions of rooms and facilities

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Only location is a good thing, but it is better to stay on the street for a night than to stay in such terrible hote again
Location: From my window at night I have seen three prostitutes and many homeless . They were very loud, I was not able to sleep unless they are tired and left
In my room the door of the cabinet was broken, no shampoo, and soap in the bathroom, no remote controller for TV , one of lamps has no "on-off" - it is broken, bad smell from overused and over cleaned carpets - and the receptionist does not know how to handle these problems. It looks like the hotel in "under water", and looks like it close to bankruptcy. Probably is better to shut down this hotel, and never allow its owner to run any business again. When you get in, you see immediately that plastic on the desk of the receptionist is broken - no money to repair? or the owner does not care? Taking shower, I have noticed that there is no shampoo, I called to receptionist - the telephone does not work. Well do you feel my situation? How it possible to offer such a "disable" hotel to customers? Two receptionists are nice people, they are not responsible for bad management and bad ownerships... I came to hotel with my Expedia # of confirmation - they said that they cannot find my booking in their computer. In 4 hours I came again - they finally found it! Simply, I would like Expedia return my money back, I am a disappointed customer after this hotel. Expedia is a great organization, I use Expedia faithfully during last 10 years with a great appreciation. I would like Expedia management to consider my complain seriously, because the Expedia may be does not know what kind of hotel they offer to us to book.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from San Diego, CA

Very noisy first night

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Just a general upgrade. Windows that blocked noise, steam heat that could be turned off so that you didn't have to have the window open all the time.
Location: Very near Union Square and the cable car line.
Because of the configuration of the hotel, any noise from rooms on the inside of the hotel bounced off the adjoining outside wall. It acted almost like an echo chamber. The first night of our stay, there were a lot of people talking and doing other things that people do in hotel rooms and it sounded like they were just outside of our room. The following two nights were very quiet. Nothing had changed , so I don't know why it was so different, but, it was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The hotel was great as well as the staff especially at the front desk he's so nice and accommodating . The one big problem was the loud noise outside ( back hotel) early morning. It's kinda like unloading glass bottles it was really horrible and you can't sleep. The management really needs to do about that noise.
3 out of 5
by Sabrina from Highland, CA

Was not the worst but...

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It was cheap and that's about all I went on to book it.
Cons: Investing in newer windows would do it for me. Sound proof!
Location: The location was awesome, everything within walking distance and all the public transportation was close also.
For what we payed we were expecting a mediocre room with outdated everything as stated in previous reviews. What I was not expecting was how loud the outside traffic was. It was so loud I even asked the front desk if we could be moved. Now the man at the front desk was nice in telling us he had no other rooms available, but I truly didn't believe him and I felt it was just laziness on his part. All in all I would have returned if not for how loud the room was and the unwillingness of the night staff to move us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not good not bad

Posted Feb 20, 2014
I had to stay for 2 nights only. It was an average experience for me. Those who are on budget can opt for this one in the heart of the Union Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gregor from Chicago

Good location great price!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.... and maybe the price helps a bit.
Cons: Could use a general scrub down, and the "hood" could be cleaned up.
Location: Union Square, downtown shopping, theater, and of course Carl Jr. (fast food).
Have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and it never changes. Great location i/e close to downtown and union square, but the "homeless" that haunt the hood leave a bit to be desired. The hotel itself is a bit on the shabby side, however for the cost savings it is well worth the fallen on hard time appearance. The beds and sheets are always clean, whereas the carpets could use a good scrub.
3 out of 5
by Jewels from Santa Barbara

Excellent Location but really noisy

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location - walking to everything. Parking was 1.5 blocks away and discounted due to hotel affiliation. Very nice at the parking garage as well.
Cons: Remote control for TV didn't work. Windows are to thin for front facing rooms. Towel rack was about to fall off the wall on one side.
Location: Starbucks right downstairs. Restaurants all over within the block - so that was perfect. Theater across the street. It was great for location.
Location was great and the price was as well. Staff was very nice and accommodating - gave me a room change on the spot so I could have a different bed configuration. While the room was clean and basic, it was all I needed for my one night's stay. Unfortunately, it faced the street and the noise was non-stop all night long. There were loud people across the street until 4am and since the windows are paper-thin in the hotel, I heard everything. I had only about 3.5 hours of sleep all night due to sirens, people, cars, etc. all night - about 5am it got quiet enough to catch a couple more hours of sleep.