Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Simple hotel, located very close to Union Square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to access SF, polite accommodating staff,
Cons: Hotel could do with updating but then that would push the price up.
Location: On Mason and Geary. The restaurant next door which we didn;t try must have great reviews because there was a constant queue of people waiting.
2 night stay in SF. Good price for central hotel, which is reflected in general decor. However, they do provide free wifi and were very accommodating over us leaving our luggage for a few hours after checking out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique equals expensive yet cheap!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: It was centrally located to Union Square.
Cons: Too many things to name, but customer service would be a great first step. It could have made up for a lot of the missing amenities.
Location: It was a great location, just across the street from the Curran theater and two blocks from Union Square.
I checked in and requested a lower floor since I have claustrophobia and don't use elevators. This is a simple ADA request. The clerk told me that the room assignments had already been determined so they couldn't be changed. There was so little room between the end of my bed and the bureau, I stubbed my toe trying to get to the desk. There were no amenities (shampoo, conditioner, wash cloth) and the television was from the last decade. The carpet looked filthy and I seriously worried that I was going to bring home bed bugs or other critters. This was a very expensive stay, almost as much as the more modern hotels, which were booked up because of the Avon Walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

San Francisco July 2014

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Well, that noise problem wasn't exactly the fault of the hotel.
Location: located near Geary and Mason.
I stayed at the Union Square Plaza Hotel on Geary (really close to Union Square). I got a room with a private bath (none of that sharing stuff for me). Anyway, the room itself was smallish and basic. It has a big tv concealed in a cabinet. The bed was o.k. The closet had a little surprise inside: a padded rolling chair. I thought that was a bit quirky, but it didn't bother me. The bathroom was separate from the sink/vanity. That sink was reallly small. I could barely fit my shoulders in front of the vanity. Very little space for toiletries. I stayed on the 6th floor, so I used the elevator a lot. The lobby area/front desk was sort of cramped right at the entrance. The front desk person had to deal with them not getting my reservation thru Expedia....but I did get in a bit early...so I could watch one of the World Cup games. You don't get an AC unit because all you have to do is open the window to get cool air. The highs were in the mid 60's. The location is good. The Curran Theatre is right across the street for you musical theatre fans. There's a 24 hour restaurant called the Pinecrest Diner. There's a Walgreen's a block away to the south. I had a hard time sleeping because of some business six floors down from my room on the 6th floor. Between 1:30 a.m.-- 3:30 a.m., there was such a ruckus (noise) of bottles, dishes clanging against each other. Even with the window closed, you could hear that noise. I was not amused. This happened on 2 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much noise

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This is an old hotel, so the conditions are ok at best. The biggest problem is the noise you can hear from the street throughout the night. So this place is for deep sleepers only! However, if you are looking for a cheap place to keep your stuff while you enjoy the town, then this will do. The location is excellent!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JC from STL

Run Down

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very run down and creepy. Had some strange smells as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayne

Nice hotel, good price for the location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Location and value
Cons: coffee in the room
Location: Union square - shopping, great restaurants, cable cars, you name it.
Its close to Union Square - so walkable to everything. Friendly staff, clean room, no real amenities like coffee or bottled water - but it was a good price, good location, and safe. Its a basic hotel and I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erica from NH

Affordable and good location

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are nothing to write home about but they're comfortable and have the essentials. I was in town for one day for a job interview and the location and price were perfect for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Dave from NZ

Crap 'Mystery Deal'

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Location was good. 4-5 blocks from the downtown shopping center and public transport hub
Cons: Everything. This place should be demolished
Just a few blocks away from Union Square mall shopping & train station. Hotel rooms are very small and claustrophobic, television set is so outdated, showers were luke-warm, musty-smelling rooms, windows that couldn't open. Felt like we travelled back to the 1970's. If I had my time again I would definitely pay more than the $80 USD for a better room in another hotel. We definitely didnt win on any of Expedias 'mystery deals'.