Ratings based on 2,478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trucke, CA

Valet damaged car, now they're denying our claim.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location. That's about it.
Cons: Replace the valet staff in their entirety. Charge less for the cramped stuffy rooms.
Location: Great location for Union Square.
Valet staff ran our car's front bumper into a metal planter in the loading/unloading area, and now they are denying responsibility for the damage and dismissing our claim. Stay away from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very nice. Clean, nice staff, accommodating. Rooms are a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Faded elegance still charming and comfortable.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The ambiance, the central location and the helpful staff.
Cons: Double glazing on the room windows would quieten the room at night.
Location: Right on Union square, the cable car goes past the hotel, the old iconic restaurants ,MOMA, the Jewish museum close by, great shopping -Macys etc.
Lovely, elegant entrance foyer, two great bars and an excellent restaurant, combined with perfet central location make this an ideal place to stay. Being in the Union sqare area means a lot of the city's history and architecture is within easy walking distance. Staff are helpful and pointed out some iconic restaurants. The cable-car goes directly past the hotel and takes you over to the waterfront areas. The room was small but well appointed, and a little noisy at night-not unexpected given the central location. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

GREAT LOCATION! but ok hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Bar staff!
Cons: Carpet, ac, valet service
Location: shop, eat, cable cars
Great LOCATION!!!!! Very European. Be prepare to wait 15-30 minutes for your valet car or you can go fetch it yourself 2 blocks and half away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Union Square

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Cons: Just the smell/odor in the hallways. Maybe some air freshener?
Location: Union Square Shopping/Restaurants Cable Cars Fisherman's Wharf (by cable car/cab) BART Station
I stayed at the Villa Florence hotel from Sept 20-25 2014 and had quite an enjoyable experience. We located the hotel quickly after exiting BART at Hallidie station. The lobby was inviting and clean and we were the only ones checking in so the process took about 5 minutes. Our room was on the 6th floor of the hotel and the one thing we did notice was, the sort of musky/damp smell of the hallways. It wasn't terrible, but it was noticeable. When we got to the room we were underwhelmed with what we saw. The room was nothing extravagant and there was barely enough room on the floor to open our large suitcase, however, the room was very clean, decorated nicely, and we knew we were barely going to be in the room during our stay and in the end it was more than enough space for two people to sleep or get ready in. The noise on the streets late at night and the garbage trucks early in the morning can definitely be heard even from the 6th floor of the Villa Florence. However, we read pervious reviews and we weren't surprised by the amount of noise at all. When staying in a tourist area we are expecting it to be in a smaller space with and a louder environment. Throughout our five day stay, any time we had a question or a concern, the staff of the Villa Florence pointed us in the right direction and offered wonderful suggestions and options for things to do or restaurants to visit. Everyone was friendly and willing to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2014
The location is great, I would stay there again just because of that but they definitely need to invest in new carpet for throughout the building, it's old smelly and all patched up, I go with preservation but carpets? Ok overall ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

Excellent place perfectly situated on Powell

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel has a great location. It is two blocks from BART's Powell Street station and the home stop of the cable cars. The decor is beautiful.
Cons: I got quite a bit of street noise. The hotel could invest in Windows and outer insulation. I'd also suggest a staff member to push away solicitors.
Location: Market st and union square are just around the corner, as well as the warfield a few blocks away. The rest can be found via BART, cable car, or cab.
I was greeted immediately on arrival Ali by the concierge, who directed me to the front desk. My check in process was quick and hassle-free. My room was located on the top floor and faced Powell Street. I stayed one Saturday night and checked out in the morning. I was able to leave my luggage there while I was in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto

Tired

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Nice place past its prime. Great location. No porters. Did not see one the entire 24 hours. No housewarming anything--no San Fran Chronical paper, no bowl of fruit, no candy, no nothing. Water for $7/bottle! It's great for its location but for the price, we could have stayed at the amazing Omni.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington New Zealand

Good location, older style decor, nicely presented

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Very handy to city and we were on 7th floor so had a glimpse of blue sky. Would want to be lower down. Was quite warm in the rooms.
Cons: Be able to make a cup of tea.
Location: Right in the heart of city not far from Union Square.
Hotel just up road from BART station, therefore easy to get to. Great location and very pleasant entry to hotel with Italianate decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The toilet became plugged during our stay and we had to call twice in order for someone to come and repair it. Once that was resolved, everything went well until check out. The person attending us at the front desk decided to jump into the conversation me and my husband were having while walking down to the lobby. He decided to correct my grammar, misunderstood something we were talking about and called me "grumpy." Then, after paying, he bid me farewell by asking me to be "sociable" during the rest of my stay in SF. I did not want to explain to a total stranger the topic of our conversation nor that my husband and I were joking around with one another. It was a very awkward situation. He was very rude, arrogant, and tacky. I have never been treated so poorly or insulted by hotel staff anywhere before. I expected better service from a location that charges $300 a night. Never again... Yuck.