Ratings based on 2,294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from Washington, D.C.

Great pick!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Location: Great location-just off Union Square and on the Powell Street cable car line. In the heart of shops and restaurants.
Not only was Villa Florence a great hotel experience but the location was fantastic-just off Union Sq on the cable car line! The staff was very helpful and food at Kuletto's restaurant was phenomenal! My next trip to San Fran will again include a stay at Villa Florence!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eric from san mateo

Noisy street

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nice beds, very comfortably
Cons: Need to update the interior
Location: Walking distance to Union Square, Restaurants and shopping
Request a room on the upper floors. Not much soundproofing from street noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa

AWESOME location!!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Such a great visit!! We had great service, a comfy room, and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Oakville, Ontario, Canada

An elegant hotel in the heart of San Francisco.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: European ambience. Excellent location for a tourist. Good food and service.
Cons: There is a rather stale smell in the halls, at least on the 5th floor. Probably difficult to remove in an older, updated hotel.
Location: Great location for a tourist, with a good selection of things like drugstores, food stores and restaurants nearby. Good access to public transit.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Italian ambience of Villa Florence and would happily stay there again. The elegant lobby, inspired by Italian Renaissance art, is an oasis of calm in a busy city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The formal dining room and the more casual ambience of Kuletos were both environments which complimented the delicious food. The room was well appointed and the comfortable bed provided a good nights sleep to prepare us for the rigors of a day of sight seeing. We would appily recommend the Villa Florence to anyone visiting San Francisco.
3 out of 5
by Diana from Sacramento, CA

Location, location, location!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
You stay at the Hotel Florence for the location, which can be both a blessing and a curse, since it is SO close to Union Square. My husband and I stayed here around Christmas time, which made it very difficult to get anywhere near the hotel with the car due to crowds. Prepare yourself, the rooms are TINY, but clean and renovated. My only real complaint was the bed was small to fit in the tiny room but very uncomfortable to boot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Beautifully updated lobby. Very small elevators.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Excellent service. I mentioned that it was my anniversary and we were upgraded to a suite and a personalized greeting by the hotel manager. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATION

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms could be renovated, but that would certainly have a significant impact on price.
Location: Best value restaurant in the area is the roof-top Cheesecake Factory at Macy's. Pizza is considerably more expensive than you would find in NY.
My wife, 3-year old daughter and I stayed at VF for a week and had an overall pleasant stay. The hotel is located at the heart of Union Square and the fancy stores. It features a very nice lobby and restaurant, but not so fancy rooms (just ok). Public transportation is available within a few steps (cable car) or one block (buses). Do not expect many restaurants close by. Front desk staff is friendly. Did not have any issues to report.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcel from St. Louis, MO

Good choice for our family

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, little cafe/bar. They also kept our luggages in storage after check-out, so that we can enjoy the city for the day.
Cons: Not much.
We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is centraly located, near Union Square, wask to shops, cable car, Starbucks... Nice Italian theme, clean room, elegant bathroom (although small), pleasant staff. Did not use the restaurant on site. Recommended for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Location could not be better so close to Union Square. Room was uniquely shaped in a good way and the room was spectacular for the price. Couldn't have made anything better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Had an unexpected flight change so decided to spend the night in San Francisco. The Villa Florence provided easy access to shopping and transportation in San Francisco, plus catching the train back to the airport. The hotel was reminiscent of European hotels. Small bathroom, clean.