Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Doug from Regina

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amenities were good. Beware that they will try to get you to attend a time share event. If you have no interest in a time share then decline. The torture they put you through is not worth the gifts and draws that will be offered. Even if you are interested in a time share, keep saying no right until the end as they will keep dropping the price. You don't have to avoid the place just tell the staff that you want to do your own thing. Remember you have paid the rent and you have every right to be there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeannie from Minneapolis

Quiet and eclean hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel property and rooms were very clean. Rooms were very quiet. I would definite recommend this hotel for business travelers and pleasure travelers. The suite set up of the rooms are perfect for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful rooms

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best rooms in the city! Great central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Adelaide SA, Australia

Very good hotel, exceeded our expectations.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
The hotel had everything we required as a family travelling. The room actually looked better in real life than it did in the photos. And there were free laundry facilities which was very helpful with young children. We were asked initially if we would like to go to the breakfast to find out more about the timeshare apartments which was a little pressurised but after that the staff were really helpful and extremely polite and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Loretta from Sacramento, Ca

Nice place to stay near Union Square.

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Loved the decor in lobby and also rooms.
Cons: We stayed in a handicapped room with a larger shower. Where curtain touched the floor it was full of mold. The room seemed very dusty also.
Location: Absolute great location. I used to live downtown and enjoyed being there again. Short walk to many attractions.
room was extremely comfortable for the four of us. Extremely quiet! We barely knew there was anyone else in the hotel. Street noise was a minimum also. We do wish we could have gotten a king bed, my husband and I are not used to sleeping on a queen size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfort in the middle of the city

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were thrilled to find this accommodation so close to the center of the city and to public transportation. A separate bedroom and living room area with a pull out couch gave everyone enough sleeping space and the unit was very quiet despite being in the city. The concierge and staff were very helpful in giving us tips about getting around the city and places to see. The concierge tried to convince us to attend an owners breakfast in hopes of getting us to purchase a time share option. However, when we declined there was no more pressure to take part. We would recommend this highly to others who are looking for a slightly larger space than a typical hotel room with a kitchenette and other amenities that make time away from home easier.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2013
There was no daily maid service, sundry shop or on-site restaurant. But the absence of maid service was the biggest disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TQ from Davis, CA, USA

Good value, but with a few quirks.

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Good value Relatively good location Clean, new rooms
Cons: Timeshare sales pitch at arrival Confusing valet system
Location: Sort of on the fringe of Nob Hill and the Tenderloin (Tendernob). Located a couple of blocks beyond the other larger hotels.
The Canterbury looks to be a newly renovated hotel/timeshare in a good location for most SF attractions. The staff are pleasant enough; however, the faux concierge (really a timeshare salesperson) made the initial arrival more stressful than necessary. The valet service was also a bit confusing, as it seemed like the contracted valets only worked certain hours - requiring other hotel staff to fill the gaps at other times. Otherwise, the room was clean, albeit a bit small and close to the elevator (noisy at night). Perhaps timeshare owners are assigned better rooms. Great workout facility with few takers.