Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milngavie

A view to die for, but hire a car !!!

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The view and setting is just amazing. However, we arrived to find Restaurant & Bar closed for the season. The nearest being 4 miles away down a very steep hill. We were in an Apt, and were left to our own devices for the week. No cleaner, no fresh towels and no new toilet paper. But I have to say, for the setting, view and general feel of staying there, I put up with that any day. Would definitely return
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants, England

Quiet place, when you reach it.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Enjoyed the isolated spot on the hillside, fantastic views and swimming pool very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for chill out not the best for sightseeing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Good place if you want to chill out but if you haven't been to Italy before you probably want to something in the city not far up on the hill. Though the view and location is worth it. We went there for three days. Visitors are mostly families so expect sharing pool with children/teenagers. If you don't hire a car a taxi from Pisa airport is about 25-30 Eur. Going down the mountain on foot is about 30-40min (use the other path not the one for cars check Google maps for directions on foot) but at the bottom there's a bus stop (blue line) going directly to Pisa and Pisa airport via St Giuliano therme. 2.5Eur per person usually but once we got it for free. Bus goes more or less hour interval. Use Google maps to check the times. A dinner on site is about 40Eur for a couple. Food was good although you might still feel hungry so its best to have something with you especially if you arrive hungry at 3pm and have to wait 5hours for dinner at 8pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

A gem in the hills of Tuscany

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Tranquil, pretty lovely views, near Pisa
Cons: More equipment in the self contained apartments i.e kettle
Location: Good location for Lucca, Pisa Firenze and beach
Having read previous reviews we knew what to expect. The road up to the hotel is steep with 6 hairpins. But its worth it!!!! Beautiful setting, lovely pool area and rooms were perfectly adequate, if rural in design and feel. The previous comment re towels was funny........when in Rome! Just take your own pool towel, the cotton ones provided are perfect for a pat down after a shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darola from UK

Scenic views from the grounds over Pisa

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, nice room, stunning view
Cons: a confusion over the number of people 3 in the part they thought 2 but probably not their making and quickly resolved.
Location: Pisa is nice mostly around the tower, Lucca is exceptionally pretty and very relaxed. There are public beaches but otherwise they are very regimented.
an unusual hotel with a mix of bedrooms and self-catering. Breakfast at the hotel is expensive 15euro so try to get a self catering room. Views are stunning over Pisa and the pool is well maintained. Access is a challenge, first time around, the sign is right at the entrance road and looks like someone's drive. So when you see the yellow sign it is there, the 2500m refers to the drive up to the hotel. It is a series of tight bends but keep going the biggest challenge is getting the car up to the car park which is a very steep gradient. Room was nice, with air con, small windows (as is the Italian way) to keep the room cool. Staff were very nice, friendly and spoke good English. Wi-Fi on the terrace was a big attractions with everyone sitting round with their mobile devices, quite funny to see. Diner on the terrace should be had at least once to have the view over Pisa and the food was good and reasonable value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chiara e Luca from Italy

Beautiful place, but need service improvement

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The residence is in a wonderful position on top of Monti Pisani: you can spot the Pisa tower and Lago di Massacciuccoli from the same spot. However, the service needs improvement, mainly related to finding the room sufficiently cleaned and with all required items. The good thing is that if you ask, then you get what you are supposed to. However, you shouldn't need to do that. Moreover, all the greenery of the residence need much more care and maintenance to keep up a good quality standard. Restaurant has good food at reasonable price and the swimming pool is well cleaned and serviced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boy from Jakarta, Indonesia

Nice Hotel with Excellent View, not good road

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: the view of tuscany landscape
Cons: the road to the hotel
Location: not far from pisa tower and there is a carrefour nearby
this hotel is in a top of the hill, the road is not that good and no lighting at night, make sure you will arrive in the hotel before dark. But the view from this hotel is excellent, and good for families. The staff can not speak english well even though they are quite helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The pool is amazing

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely 7 night stay in this self catering apartment. The hotel was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel can be a little tricky to first locate off the road ( you need to look out for a yellow sign on a side of the building). The drive is up a very windy narrow road but it was all part of the experience and as long as you take it slowly perfectly safe. But this means a car is a must. Nice and close to station which you can catch a train into Pisa which I would highly recommend. Only 1.40 euros each way per person which can be purchased from the tourist information at the station. Just be aware hardly any trains run into Pisa on a Sunday. The only thing that was a problem with the accomodation is there was no air conditioning when we booked we were told you always got a breeze so you didn't need it but I would have to disagree although a fan is provided it was just too hot to sleep at night. There is a supermarket about 5 mins from the apartments. The pool was fantastic you had great views and there were always sun loungers available even if you had to do a bit of juggling everytime you went to the pool. It was a perfect little gem up in the hills. So although it was tucked away you were never far away from anything. Would definitely recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Scenic in the hills above Pisa

Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed only one night before visiting the Tower of Pisa the following morning. As other reviewers have noted the entrance road leading to the Hotel is a mountain goat track with a small turn off from Lucca – Pisa road. The bed was comfortable and there was hot water with reasonable water pressure. (+) Positives + The view is spectacular and for those who want to get out of the city this is a great option + The hotel is a mere 10-15 minute drive to Pisa (The Leaning Tower) first thing in the morning. This provided the perfect launch pad for our visit to the Tower + The villa was too big for my wife and I, but think it was great value for the traveling family + There was free WiFi in the reception area, we didn’t use it but a number of guests were taking advantage of this + A nice pool area and as mentioned restaurant/bar services are available + Staff are friendly and always willing to help (-) Negatives - You do need a car if you want to visit this hotel. Do not book if you are using public transport as you will never make it up the hill! - Parking was located above the accommodation areas and the steps leading there was quite treacherous. There was also a shortage of parks for guests, this was mainly due to inefficient parking by guests rather than the allocation of space. - Breakfast was an additional fee but we had to leave before it was available so cannot comment on the variety, quality or value.