Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful setting

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Peaceful setting
Location: The location was remote and there was nothing else within walking distance.
The hotel and property setting was really peaceful. The staff were all very nice. The wireless internet was only available in the lobby area. The room did not have a television, which was o.k., but the website did not state this. The buffet breakfast consisted of juice, toast and a bowl of fruit. The food menu was very limited and over priced. There was only one other guest in the entire hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama, USA

Romantic and Relaxing

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: How pretty and romantic it was.
Cons: Hot tubs, and less expensive food/drinks.
Location: Located near airport.
Beautiful location, expensive (delicious and healthy) restaurant. Nice sauna. Hot tubs did not work, but they would have been really nice if they had. Seemed like a magical place. Close-ish to airport, not close to restaurants or town. Taxi required to go anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beat hotel near the airport!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I had to layover at the San Jose airport for the afternoon and night and didnt want some airport hotel. I found this place. Its about 15 mins max away. What a great choice. SO much better to sit overlooking the green hills of Costa Rica and drink a smoothie by a garden pool. I got a massage at the spa. Excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy from NY, NY

The definition of relaxation

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have never been somewhere that forced me to relax in a way that Ascelepios did. No TV's was a lot better than I thought it would be, because we were there off season, we practically had the place to ourselves. It was the perfect friends get away and relaxation. I recommend staying on the 2nd floor which we did. The bugs weren't nearly as bad as I thought they'd be. The Hammam was fantastic. Sauna was good. Treatments were hit and miss based on the person. Do not do the flotation pool. It was pathetic. The pilates was over the top amazing. The instructor absolutely phenomenal and I hate exercising. Be prepared to eat clean. It was a nice detox but shock to my system. While they have fish and chicken dishes they are a bit bland but the vegetarian dishes are incredibly flavorful and creative. Again a shock to someone like me who thought I ate fairly healthy until I got there. There is no reason to leave the property. there's nothing around. Go when you completely want to unwind and relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Quiet and Relaxing.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The views and layout of the room are very impressive. Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Rooms to be readily for clients. We changed to a different room because the rain had wet the bed. Next room had no toilette paper, shampoo or soap.
Location: Close from the airport however without the GPS it would be difficult to find it.
We (my husband and I) purchased online a Buffet Style One night stayed at the famous Asclepios Hotel and Spa. The room was incredible and impressive views from the Heredian Mountains with cloudy rain forest behind, quite and silent. Such a nice view was spoiled by the surprise the Breakfast was JOKE. Only three slices of papaya and pineapple and tea? Yes, that was all. And no coffee .... at all. Service could be improved in the approach with the customer. At least free tea for all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carrotflower

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Martine

Wonderful room but avoid restaurant!

Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms are very trendy with wonderful bathrooms . Loved it !. However in 3 days haven t seen any management ! Breakfast is not worth it unless you are looking for detox . Diner at Xandari hotel in the neighborhood was great !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bring your own wine and coffee

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Location: stunning and tranquil
while their kitchen used organic fresh ingredients. It seemed as though their chef wasn't skilled enough to serve good tasting food. Cinnamon appeared on every plate whether it was integral to the dish or not. Also they served organic wines which is a great thing but the market has evolved and there are good tasting organic wines on the market.Their very limited selection was literally undrinkable. No excuse for that today. They should stick to traditional recipes and well put together salads instead of trying to be a kind of restaurant that they are truly not. Other guests felt the same way as did the reports coming from the taxi driver. They also don't serve coffee which you don't know until you go looking for it in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Don't do this one!

Posted Oct 3, 2011
A contradiction of terms for a "wellness spa" that runs out of food in the kitchen each day, has very limited hours of service, and asks guests to walk to and from their transportation point each day at 8:00pm when they lock the hotel down, turn off the lights, and leave the guests without access to any staff or security in the hotel. There are no wellness classes in place such as yoga or pilates, and the jacuzzi doesn't heat. You must book everything you want to do such as massages, tours, etc. at least 24 hours in advance and then they change the prices and description of the service as they see fit. The actual hotel room was very comfortable, but the hotel wellness program, as well as safety/security for guests was completely unacceptable. Attempts to resolve issues with the owner were met with arrogance and dismissal. Food service was extremely limited. Don't stay here until management figures out how to provide a safe environment for their guests. Our only relief was a great tour service, Eco Tico Tours, that got us out of the hotel each day to visit the beautiful sights of Costa Rica. The hotel needs a huge change in management.