Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a Palace

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Its an older property but it is well kept and clean. The personnel were very accommodating. Breakfast excellent.
Cons: Maintenance of air conditioners in rooms.
Overall the hotel is well kept. The personnel are friendly. The Breakfast is excellent. The restaurant a bit pricy and transportation to the nearest restaurants expensive. Unfortunately for me the air conditioning in my room was not working. The night was cool so I didn't complain about it. The exercise equipment is very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Would not stay there again

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Front desk did not answer the phone for more then 30 minutes, neither the room service. I had to go down stairs to order pizza. They also gave me wrong room when checked in so I had to wait more then 40 minutes until they send someone to take us to the right room. Not fun experience after driving 3 hours from arenal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Cons: Food was not great.
Great value! nothing more to add; if does not submit this 3rd time will delete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vernon B.C.

Great chain style hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Breakfast buffet , and the food in general.definate value for cost we paid.
Cons: All was good pool could be heated but in summer it won't need it
Location: Taxi ride to anything close to stadium and park San Jose really doesn't have much costa Rico is abut adventure touring and beaches
Everything was good better or great no complaints. There was no heat in the pool , well ticos say sun heated . The breakfast was free and it was amazing best part of the hotel stay really. Bed was good , hotel was quiet, off season . I arranged personal tours with a taxi driver stationed at hotel, 1/2 price baby .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haliburton Ontario

Costa Rica Vacation End

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Premier Service. Grounds. Lobby very luxurious and comforting. Good shops with something for everyone. Lobby bar quite nice. Free airport shuttle.
Cons: Restaurant staff really need to improve. They need to smile and act like they appreciate you as a paying customer, not like you are interrupting them
Location: Location is not central to downtown and is about a 10 minute drive to the airport. Area is quiet but a taxi is required to get to town or shopping.
I spent six weeks this winter vacationing at Jaco Beach in Costa Rica and decided to spend my last two nights in San Jose at Barceló San Jose. So happy that I did. I upgraded to their Premier Service which provides a great service for those willing to pay a bit extra. Private check in and two floors of the hotel dedicated to their Premier Service. Breakfast was included either in their private lounge or at their main restaurant on the main floor. The hotel is very attractive and the grounds are beautiful. Staff very friendly for the most part with the exception of the main dining room/buffet. Not very friendly or inviting at all. That was a bit of a downer for me. Food was just ok. Service, not so good for such a big hotel. Japanese restaurant very good with good food and friendly tentative staff. Booked a day trip (City Tour) using the hotel services. Very good trip at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Business travel- stay there about once a month. Executive suite is very practical for business travelers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No thanks!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. The resturant staff was not helpful and rude, all we wanted was to eat/spend money. We did spend money, it was so over priced for terrible food and even worst service. The bathroom in our room was not super clean either. I will say the lobby staff, shuttle driver and house keeping lady were very helpful and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Heredia, Costa Rica

Wi-fi is charged separately and expensively.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The beds, the pool, and the gardens.
Cons: Wi-fi should be included in price of stay. It is a service, you don't charge users for electricity or water, why charge for wi-fi?
Be prepared to pay per day of wi-fi usage. I stayed for 4 nights, needed to work two of those. Hotel advertises they have wi-fi but don't let you know it is charged separately until you get there. Staff is hit and miss. Some have really good customer service skills, others are just apathetic. Really strange taking into account that Costa Rica prides itself on their great customer service culture. There were a lot of families with children, the pool was great for my kid to socialize in.What was odd about this is that the hotel is clearly a business hotel and not focused on serving children at all. They should adjust the amenities based on their target market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Easy check in. Great breakfast buffet and excellent Japanese restaurant. Great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente relacion valor-precio

Posted Apr 6, 2015
El hotel cuenta con trasladado aeropuerto-hotel-aeropuerto, hay que programarlo, en el bar son un poco lentos y cero animados pero la comida y los tragos son buenos