Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Comfortable oasis just outside of San Jose

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Open, airy reception and dining area
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: We just stayed one night. It is not inside the city, but we didn't mind taking a taxi into town
Great experience! Staff was helpful and pleasant, especially Freddie, who worked behind the front desk. He went above and beyond trying to help us with a transportation crisis, even though we had officially checked out. The hotel would have gotten 5 stars, except for the fact it had no pool. The layout was beautiful, with lush tropical plantings throughout. Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay at a lot of hotels across the US, and I never get treated the way I did by the staff that man this hotel. (Top notch group of people) Top of the line fixtures and finishes throughout the property. Tucked into a true Costa Rica neighborhood.. Absolutely beautiful hotel, kept very clean, I even commented to my girlfriend, that if you came only here to this hotel, you would swear there were no insects in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Great hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location and the comfort
Cons: bigger pool
Location: The hotel is near the central park in Escazu within walking distance to various clubs and food establishments. There is a farmers market on Saturday
The hotel is near the central park in Escazu within walking distance to various clubs and food establishments. There is a farmers market on Saturday mornings at the park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Beacon Costa Rica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us! We really apreciate your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maxfrom Bloomington, IN

Great pick for Escazu

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. Very friendly staff and excellent food. The room was clean but had a bad smell to it that was hard to get rid of, may have just been specific to our room. Otherwise, everything was great.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

underworld hotel 骗子酒店,千万别订,详看点评。

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
我在此酒店住了两个晚上。i was lived here two days. 酒店在一个很偏辟的地方,很不容易找,房间很吵,因为离马路很近,酒店周围几乎都是农村,没有商业场所,早餐很烂,根本没有四星标准,最多为3星,服务员态度还可以,最让我感觉到气愤的是,我在离店时做过了结算,而且把我的银行卡押金条撤了,但是过了2个小时后,酒店竟然在我不知道的情况下私自扣了我200美元费用,我打电话问酒店,他们说我在房间内吸烟了,而我根本没有在房间内扣烟,在阳台上抽过而已。我问:你们为什么在我结算时不告诉我???而是在我离开后偷偷扣款!这简直就是强盗行为!!!极度愤怒!!强烈抗议。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Charlesfrom London

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has such friendly and helpful staff , great food and reasonably priced for such luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sauravfrom Washington, DC

Nice hotel in Escazu

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This was a good stop for a night at the start and end of our time in costa rica. None too interesting a neighborhood, but the hotel was nice and staff were helpful. The place has a big and somewhat empty feel though; not sure if that's because of when we went (march/april). Good choice for a night, don't stay longer than a couple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Reginaldfrom London Ontario Canada

Escazu's Finest

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. Super clean and the staff was amazingly helpful. The restaurant was top notch . Its a bit out of the way but worth the drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barryfrom Boston

A very nice, warm place

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is Costa Rican. I don't go to Costa Rica to live and be like I am in the U.S. Love the lush courtyard and the running stream.
Cons: The restaurant. While they say 5 star, they're not. They need to pay attention to small details.
Location: If you're looking to be in Costa Rica, go here.
I was startled to read some reviews that talked about the neighborhood. It is 2 blocks from Central, the main Costa Rican area. It is not in the same area as the name hotels (Hiltons, Marriots, and the like). Instead, it is where Ticos live. This means that it is not a typical American neighborhood, never mind a downtown with luxury hotels. Reviews mentioned security and well there are at least gates. Gates are quite typical even in Tico houses. What you have is a small hotel with pleasant staff, a lush courtyard, and quick ride into San Jose. This actually was my second time here, and I suspect there will be more. The only negative is that the restaurant is mediocre and the provided breakfast is only average.Like many places in Costa Rica, the coffee is only average. With this said, the first time I was there it was for dental work and my gums were very sore. A sympathetic kitchen prepared very soft food for me. Typical Tico. Very solicitous when you're having a problem.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chuckfrom USA

Bad treatment

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
AC did not work. Room has no window. It got hot and stuffy. Front desk brought in a portable unit that leaks water and very laud. Had to turn it off. Did not sleep well at all. Went to use the Jacuzzi and the water was BOILING hot. We could not keep our feet in for more than 2 seconds. Was told they forgot to turn off the heater. Swimming pool was too dirty to use. Breakfast was included but when asked for a little more scramble eggs, the server gave a teaspoon more, asked again, another teaspoon, then she said no more. What the.......I was still hungry. Neighborhood somewhat shady. Don't go out when dark. Best service was the garage attendant who kept an eye on our rental car and gave us nice greetings. Did not get our money's worth.