Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

Very pretty, small hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The building is very pretty and unusual, not the average cube. There are several terraces and recesses, a tropical garden with a spa in the center.
Cons: The breakfast is rather plain, what the Hotel restaurant offers is good but not spectacular. Check out the restaurants and cafes nearby!
Location: The Hotel is located in a narrow street. A park is nearby, local stores, cafes and restaurants in walking distance.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a romantic hotel. The staff is very obliging, helpful when you book tours to the Costa Rica attractions. The room was large and clean. Though rather small, the whole Hotel seems open and spacious inside. When you go outside, you're immediately in a colorful Costa Rican neighborhood, not in a tourist enclave. It's safe during the day, a lot of people walking the narrow streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!!
Cons: NOTHING!!!
Location: locations was OK. NOT GREAT.
....my only regret was not been able to stay longer-loved everything about the place. I will certainly be going back as soon as an opportunity comes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Convenient hotel for business in Escazu,Costa Rica

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Convenience, ambiance for staying at Beacon and for meeting associates is excellent.
Cons: Coffee and food needs to be available at all times, even if it available in vending machines.
Location: Walking the interesting town of Escazu, Typical Costa Rican restaurants, easy to schedule tours of the country are pluses.
Less than highest rating given because there is no longer the room coffee pots. There is not coffee or food available for those of us who need to leave before the restaurant opens in early morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To much noises Verry poor breakfast

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Garden very bad entertained Verry poor breakfast is word two star not five star Restaurant always empty ???? Rooms clean but missing things like thee or coffee maker
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yanifrom Hawaii

Excellent and very friendly staff

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in very good condition, clean, well maintained and quite beautiful. I was truly impressed with the beautiful architecture, both inside and out. Rooms are nice, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Also bathrooms are spacious and pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the linens and towels were spotless. Some rooms have balconies that are quite nice. The staff is very friendly and they really make you feel welcome and happy with your stay. In the room that I was assigned, the windows could not open (they are designed so) and I had a problem with that. I do not use AC and like to sleep with my windows open, instead. They gave me another room - one with a balcony, so I could have the balcony door open - and they were happy to do so. They immediately accommodated my desire. Needless to say that I was happy with the way they treat their guests and will come back again quite soon. There are also sauna and fitness room available for the guests. I did not use them but they looked nice. Also the restaurant is quite beautiful, pleasant, and the food is good. I recommend hotel Beacon to everyone and I am sure that they will appreciate it and its truly friendly, welcoming, and nice staff as much as I did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scottfrom North Carolina

Quiet Safe Friendly Confidential

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
I'm still here, wonderful people here that are now my friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful property, very poorly managed!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel buildings themselves, were very attractive and built with quality materials. The wait staff and the housekeeping staff were terrific.
Cons: Standard of service, quality of food, advertised amenities-ALL need an overhaul and be brought up to described 5 star rating.
Location: The location is in a fairly busy traffic-area of Escazu. The roof top affords panoramic views of San Jose, the city and the mountains in the distance.
As a party of 4 adults, we expected the hotel to match the description on Expedia.com. We were sorely disappointed upon arrival! The "spa" experience was non-existent. The advertised amenities were under repair-daily. We were told the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi would be operational "in a few hours," "later today," and "very shortly." Never happened. The wait staff & housekeeping were great, even with the language barrier.They had very little to work with as there is virtually no standard of service (one day 2 hand towels/face cloths/bath towels- the next day, perhaps 1-or not.Drinks pricing & presentation fluctuated, depending on bartender.) Meals were flavorful, but poor quality (eg: beef "tenderloin" was tough as leather; salad greens wilted; potato, available as watery mash only, serving-size perhaps a tbsp). We spoke with the mgr re: our disappointment. He did upgrade our rooms, which we appreciated. He gave us 4 cocktail vouchers for the disco on the lower level and a credit in the dining room, but only for select meals. The same meals we didn't enjoy our 1st night there. Unfortunately, the meals were not improved the second time we were served them. We were told by locals, the property was under new ownership & had been struggling. As evidenced by the lack of working amenities and the vacant massage & esthetics salons. We went off property for most meals and for entertainment as the lounge, restaurant & disco were without staff by 10 pm during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EARL ALEXANDEfrom San José

7 de 10

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Exc servicio, sumamente amables! Parqueo pequeño e incómodo...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donfrom Pensacola

Big and nice, off the beaten path

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very spacious, clean, and outstanding service. Good value, but not within walking distance of much and difficult for taxi drivers to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kimfrom San Pablo

Beautiful hotel in limited environment

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel in terms of landscaping, room design, décor, garden, bar and restaurants. Excellent food. Limited sights, activities within walking distance, however, so it feels a bit like an oasis.