Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

Very pretty, small hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The building is very pretty and unusual, not the average cube. There are several terraces and recesses, a tropical garden with a spa in the center.
Cons: The breakfast is rather plain, what the Hotel restaurant offers is good but not spectacular. Check out the restaurants and cafes nearby!
Location: The Hotel is located in a narrow street. A park is nearby, local stores, cafes and restaurants in walking distance.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a romantic hotel. The staff is very obliging, helpful when you book tours to the Costa Rica attractions. The room was large and clean. Though rather small, the whole Hotel seems open and spacious inside. When you go outside, you're immediately in a colorful Costa Rican neighborhood, not in a tourist enclave. It's safe during the day, a lot of people walking the narrow streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!!
Cons: NOTHING!!!
Location: locations was OK. NOT GREAT.
....my only regret was not been able to stay longer-loved everything about the place. I will certainly be going back as soon as an opportunity comes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Convenient hotel for business in Escazu,Costa Rica

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Convenience, ambiance for staying at Beacon and for meeting associates is excellent.
Cons: Coffee and food needs to be available at all times, even if it available in vending machines.
Location: Walking the interesting town of Escazu, Typical Costa Rican restaurants, easy to schedule tours of the country are pluses.
Less than highest rating given because there is no longer the room coffee pots. There is not coffee or food available for those of us who need to leave before the restaurant opens in early morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To much noises Verry poor breakfast

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Garden very bad entertained Verry poor breakfast is word two star not five star Restaurant always empty ???? Rooms clean but missing things like thee or coffee maker
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful property, very poorly managed!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel buildings themselves, were very attractive and built with quality materials. The wait staff and the housekeeping staff were terrific.
Cons: Standard of service, quality of food, advertised amenities-ALL need an overhaul and be brought up to described 5 star rating.
Location: The location is in a fairly busy traffic-area of Escazu. The roof top affords panoramic views of San Jose, the city and the mountains in the distance.
As a party of 4 adults, we expected the hotel to match the description on Expedia.com. We were sorely disappointed upon arrival! The "spa" experience was non-existent. The advertised amenities were under repair-daily. We were told the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi would be operational "in a few hours," "later today," and "very shortly." Never happened. The wait staff & housekeeping were great, even with the language barrier.They had very little to work with as there is virtually no standard of service (one day 2 hand towels/face cloths/bath towels- the next day, perhaps 1-or not.Drinks pricing & presentation fluctuated, depending on bartender.) Meals were flavorful, but poor quality (eg: beef "tenderloin" was tough as leather; salad greens wilted; potato, available as watery mash only, serving-size perhaps a tbsp). We spoke with the mgr re: our disappointment. He did upgrade our rooms, which we appreciated. He gave us 4 cocktail vouchers for the disco on the lower level and a credit in the dining room, but only for select meals. The same meals we didn't enjoy our 1st night there. Unfortunately, the meals were not improved the second time we were served them. We were told by locals, the property was under new ownership & had been struggling. As evidenced by the lack of working amenities and the vacant massage & esthetics salons. We went off property for most meals and for entertainment as the lounge, restaurant & disco were without staff by 10 pm during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Comfortable oasis just outside of San Jose

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Open, airy reception and dining area
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: We just stayed one night. It is not inside the city, but we didn't mind taking a taxi into town
Great experience! Staff was helpful and pleasant, especially Freddie, who worked behind the front desk. He went above and beyond trying to help us with a transportation crisis, even though we had officially checked out. The hotel would have gotten 5 stars, except for the fact it had no pool. The layout was beautiful, with lush tropical plantings throughout. Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hector R

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marshafrom Wisconsin

Stay in junior suite or don't stay

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Junior suites are perfect, but first we were in a deluxe king and it was thick with mold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay at a lot of hotels across the US, and I never get treated the way I did by the staff that man this hotel. (Top notch group of people) Top of the line fixtures and finishes throughout the property. Tucked into a true Costa Rica neighborhood.. Absolutely beautiful hotel, kept very clean, I even commented to my girlfriend, that if you came only here to this hotel, you would swear there were no insects in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Great hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location and the comfort
Cons: bigger pool
Location: The hotel is near the central park in Escazu within walking distance to various clubs and food establishments. There is a farmers market on Saturday
The hotel is near the central park in Escazu within walking distance to various clubs and food establishments. There is a farmers market on Saturday mornings at the park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Beacon Costa Rica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us! We really apreciate your review.