Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Saurav from Washington, DC

Nice hotel in Escazu

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This was a good stop for a night at the start and end of our time in costa rica. None too interesting a neighborhood, but the hotel was nice and staff were helpful. The place has a big and somewhat empty feel though; not sure if that's because of when we went (march/april). Good choice for a night, don't stay longer than a couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Boston

A very nice, warm place

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is Costa Rican. I don't go to Costa Rica to live and be like I am in the U.S. Love the lush courtyard and the running stream.
Cons: The restaurant. While they say 5 star, they're not. They need to pay attention to small details.
Location: If you're looking to be in Costa Rica, go here.
I was startled to read some reviews that talked about the neighborhood. It is 2 blocks from Central, the main Costa Rican area. It is not in the same area as the name hotels (Hiltons, Marriots, and the like). Instead, it is where Ticos live. This means that it is not a typical American neighborhood, never mind a downtown with luxury hotels. Reviews mentioned security and well there are at least gates. Gates are quite typical even in Tico houses. What you have is a small hotel with pleasant staff, a lush courtyard, and quick ride into San Jose. This actually was my second time here, and I suspect there will be more. The only negative is that the restaurant is mediocre and the provided breakfast is only average.Like many places in Costa Rica, the coffee is only average. With this said, the first time I was there it was for dental work and my gums were very sore. A sympathetic kitchen prepared very soft food for me. Typical Tico. Very solicitous when you're having a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel somewhat out of the way

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: quite
Cons: more towels
Location: not much in walking distance
Good staff, food is expensive but quality is goog nice staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find hotel in small loud street on city

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Hotel restaurant is awful. Ordered a fajita and got plain chicken with soggy fries on small plate. No tortilla was provided. Charged 2 dollars for 6 corn tortillas rediculous. Ac and heater not working in room and pool jacuzi was dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find hotel in small loud street on city

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Hotel restaurant is awful. Ordered a fajita and got plain chicken with soggy fries on small plate. No tortilla was provided. Charged 2 dollars for 6 corn tortillas rediculous. Ac and heater not working in room and pool jacuzi was dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by J.M. from Seattle, WA

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Convenient for doing business in Escaza Efficient transport scheduled by Beacon Hotel to and from airport 24 hour front desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from San Francisco, CA

Great Boutique Hotel in central Escazu

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Location: Since you are located in the town center, there are restaurants, banks, and other businesses nearby. Saturday there is a farmer's market.
So Escazu is a suburb of San Jose, Costa Rica, but central Escazu feels like a small town. Another part of Escazu has the fancy shopping malls (about a 10 minute drive from central Escazu). Beacon Escazu is near the Escazu center with its small central park nearby. Beacon offers a great value for the room rates: large rooms, bathrobes, spacious bathrooms, free light breakfast, beautiful landscaping, and a friendly staff. I'd like to single out Antonio as being exceptional - he fulfilled all requests efficiently and seemed pleased to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Georgia

Wonderful stay

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The Staff were amazing, especially Leo!
We recently stayed at The Beacon and very much enjoyed our stay. The best part of our stay was the staff, especially Leo and Marco. Leo went above and beyond to help us with recommedations. The Muse restaurant was amazing. I highly recommend the Mexican soup and the Salmon dinner plate. I had read a few reviews that were negative, but so glad I ignored them. The shower was great, no problems with water temperature or pressure of water. Yes, the elevator was out of service, but the staff gladly took our bags up the one flight of stairs and it was not a problem for us. We absolutely LOVED the peace and quite of the off season and felt like special guests as it was so quite and romantic. It was a little concerning coming in for the first time with the surrounding area, but it was well worth it. We would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge and Expensive Disappointment!

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: It was attractive inside. Bed was comfortable. Little else!
Cons: Security, personnel, someone on duty who speaks English better, more staff, provisions in room, and doing what is promised.
Location: Unattractive area. Nothing to do.
We booked this hotel as part of a package that included our airfare. We could not cancel our booking with this hotel, so we simply left and found another better hotel, meaning double expenses for our week's stay in Escazu, Costa Rica. 1. We were given a room right across from the bar, so we listened to loud voices late into the night. 2. Our room smelled like a dirty laundry hamper. After leaving, our clothing smelled like mildew! 3. We had no view outdoors except the bar, but could not even look at that, as we had to keep the drapes drawn, as anyone could look in and see our toilet, and that is because the bathroom door was warped and could only remain wide open. 4. No signs of a spa anywhere. 5. We were given no hand or face soap, no washcloths, and no facial tissues. The one person we could find who seemed to understand us told us they had none. 6. The pool area was dark and foreboding. Tropical plants and a jungle look came right up to the edges of the entire pool. You could not see into the water and we were concerned about snakes and so forth. 7. We were told breakfast was included and then we were charged for it (4 choices on menu with nothing stating only one breakfast was the one included). 8. Never saw anyone at security post, ever! Upon arrival, there were only two young women present, with poor English. Out of room...
2 out of 5
by J.

Nice small boutique hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: It is quit in the inside rooms ... if you stay in front street room, they are noisy
Cons: They need to review the list of prices; I am sure they could have better internal consumption in bar and restaurant.
Really bad ... no A/C during my stay. Food is not good and expensive. If you would like to having dinner out; you need taxi ride.