Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Saurav from Washington, DC

Nice hotel in Escazu

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This was a good stop for a night at the start and end of our time in costa rica. None too interesting a neighborhood, but the hotel was nice and staff were helpful. The place has a big and somewhat empty feel though; not sure if that's because of when we went (march/april). Good choice for a night, don't stay longer than a couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Boston

A very nice, warm place

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is Costa Rican. I don't go to Costa Rica to live and be like I am in the U.S. Love the lush courtyard and the running stream.
Cons: The restaurant. While they say 5 star, they're not. They need to pay attention to small details.
Location: If you're looking to be in Costa Rica, go here.
I was startled to read some reviews that talked about the neighborhood. It is 2 blocks from Central, the main Costa Rican area. It is not in the same area as the name hotels (Hiltons, Marriots, and the like). Instead, it is where Ticos live. This means that it is not a typical American neighborhood, never mind a downtown with luxury hotels. Reviews mentioned security and well there are at least gates. Gates are quite typical even in Tico houses. What you have is a small hotel with pleasant staff, a lush courtyard, and quick ride into San Jose. This actually was my second time here, and I suspect there will be more. The only negative is that the restaurant is mediocre and the provided breakfast is only average.Like many places in Costa Rica, the coffee is only average. With this said, the first time I was there it was for dental work and my gums were very sore. A sympathetic kitchen prepared very soft food for me. Typical Tico. Very solicitous when you're having a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel somewhat out of the way

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: quite
Cons: more towels
Location: not much in walking distance
Good staff, food is expensive but quality is goog nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Escazu

very good value

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a single night and ended up coming back later. Very good staff and great value for the rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian & Gladys Connolly from Cayman Islands

A Lovely Hotel but ............

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Based on last visit, we booked in Nov for our Dec stay & got our Email confirm . Unfortunately , the Beacon has since taken a ‘downturn’ . Arrived at the Hotel- they ‘had no room for us’ – but for some reason, they gave the one available rm. to people who arrived AFTER us ( WHO STATED THEY HAD NO RESERVATION). They then sent us to their Grand Tara Hotel - some distance away. This Hotel was lovely -very nice Staff but most of facilities -closed (Bar & Casino -closed until Jan) – little else to do in walking dist, but v. tranquil…. (nice rm. with balcony & spectacular views , pool etc). Taxi was sent next day to take us back to Beacon . We had ‘expensive’ lunch at Beacon- simple sandwich /cold fries & beer $36. Next morning, we went for Breakfast -I opted for the American Breakfast at a cost-served in 4 shifts because they forgot first the Hash browns then the sausage & had to bring on separate plates. Rm. - nice &spacious with balcony. Staff –v.pleasant esp friendly lady (Alicia) of housekeeping . Summary :- Because we got exc. ‘off-peak’ rates ; Hotel close to shops & the Rm. was really nice, I would stay at Beacon again but ‘double check' that the reservation was truly confirmed & having had breakfast & lunch once, I would dine-out (unless service , quality & prices improved). It was ‘traumatic’ to arrive a Hotel with a confirmed reservation – only to be told ‘there’s no room at the Inn’ but hopefully, Beacon will soon be back to it’s former Excellence !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find hotel in small loud street on city

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Hotel restaurant is awful. Ordered a fajita and got plain chicken with soggy fries on small plate. No tortilla was provided. Charged 2 dollars for 6 corn tortillas rediculous. Ac and heater not working in room and pool jacuzi was dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find hotel in small loud street on city

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Hotel restaurant is awful. Ordered a fajita and got plain chicken with soggy fries on small plate. No tortilla was provided. Charged 2 dollars for 6 corn tortillas rediculous. Ac and heater not working in room and pool jacuzi was dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from Portland

quaint colonial town

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert H from South Carolina

Good Staff Questionable Management

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel is excellent. The neighborhood is a safe, local Tica neighborhood so there is good local flavor by walking around. At the same time there are places like Chichi's for a more western feel without losing the local feel. Still within the hotel walls there is a feeling of being very far from the world. The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. There was a problem with the AC which for me is a must in a place like CR. The manager fell over himself saying how concerned he was but never really resolved the issue nor offered any compensation. Before going there again I would make sure the AC issue was resolved, and having new management would be a big plus. With those issues resolved I would not hesitate, in fact Beacon Escazu would be on the top of my list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by J.M. from Seattle, WA

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Convenient for doing business in Escaza Efficient transport scheduled by Beacon Hotel to and from airport 24 hour front desk