Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta canada

Really noisy need to call front desk for the noise

Posted Jun 30, 2015
They give our room at other peaple ANd the room was pay . Hot tub don't work pool really cold .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

nice hotel and casino.. not close to anything..

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: left early and I want a refund
Location: to far from anything
nice hotel.. to far from anything else.. san jose is a dirty, crappy, tourist trap..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from il

vacation with friends

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: it had what we needed - room & bath had enough space for our belongings
Cons: stayed twice & each time I had no hot water
Location: location is only good for getting on the highways - no restaurants round except the one in the hotel
overall good - the location is good for getting in & out of town by car & to the airport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by Hotel Response , Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for posting your review about your stay in our hotel. It is very rewarding to learn that you not only stayed with us once during your trip but twice due to our comfortable accommodations and our very comvenient location (we are about 15 minutes away from the airport and just 10 minutes away from downtown; we are also right infront of one of the country's most important highways). We are sorry to learn about the mishap you experienced with the hot water, please accept our most sincere apologies. We assure you that the problem was beyond our control and we did everything we could to have it fixed as soon as possible because there is nothing more important for us than our guests' comfort and satisfaction. It was a real pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location to get out of town
Cons: Hot water
Location: Not much is clos3 by a nice grocery store and bank
Location is ok the water for showers was just warm hotel grounds are nice breakfast was just ok
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Hotel Response, Hotel Management
Dear helga, thank you so much for sharing your comments, we really appreciate them. We are very happy that you liked our grounds so much and that you found our locattion so convenient because we are just about 15 minutes away from the airport and about 10 minutes away from downtown. We are always striving to make each and every guest feel completely satisfied and happy with our accommodations and services so we are very sorry that you experienced a little problem with the hot water. We assure you that if you would have let us know about it immediately when it happened, we could have send a technician to see if he could have fixed the problem because it is very important for us to be able to cater to all our guests needs and requests. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the problem that you experienced. It was a real pleasure having you here with us. Thank you for choosing us. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JOSE HORACIO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dever, CO

Close to airport

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Room had stale odor after house keeping trun off air conditioning and we were gone for 13, 14 hours tours. It was ok after a few minutes with the air back on. Situated in industrial district, no attraction or shopping around there. Free breakfast 24 hours a day with Denny next door. Simple eggs and toast but could be upgraded. The little bar and grill at front of hotel had very good food. Casino had penny slot provided hours of fun because one US dollar =500+ penny. Staff were nice and service was good. Swimming pool water was very clean and clear but the Jacuzzi was broken during our stay. A tip ~do not join the boat tour for Sarapiqui River Adventure, it was not worth the time or money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear love to travel, thank you for taing the time to write and share your wonderful comments. It makes us feel very happy that you found our hotel so comfortable, so conveniently situated (we are about 15 minutes away from the airport and less than 10 minutes away from downtown) and our services so helpful (like offering our free complimentary breakfast at Denny's the 24 hours of the day). It nice to know how much you enjoyed our casino and we are very sorry that the jacuzzi was not working during your stay. Please accept our apologies and hopefully the next time you stay with us you are going to be able to enjoy it. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Orland Park,Il

San Hose Best Western

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very Satisfied
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by HotelReponse, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for sharing your amazing comment. Just by reading your two words, you have let us know that we did indeed achieved our main goal which is to make all of our guests feel completely satisfied with our services and accommodations during their entire stay with us. We want our guests to know that we do keep our promises of total comfort and we do everything we can to make our guests feel right at home. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, great location

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
What a great hotel. The spa was really nice and the Denny's in the hotel was also very convenient, albeit a little higher priced than a typical stateside Denny's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by HotelReponse, Hotel Management
Dear A traveler, thanks for sharing your nice comments about your stay with us. You have made us very proud by letting us know what a great hotel you think we have because our outmost desire is to make each and every one of our guests feel completely satisfied with the accommodations and services that we provide. It makes us very happy to know how much you enjoyed our spa and how convenient you found our location because we are not only about 15 minutes away from the airport, but we are also just less than 10 minutes away from downtown. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you so much for staying with us. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Hasn't changed in years. Still a very nice place to stay In San Jose. Dennys is a real plus when you'r in a hurry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your very nice comments. We are very proud to learn that you have stayed with us for many years and we have never disappointed you, our hotel has always been up to your expectations providing you with all the comforts and great services our guests deserve and which make them have a wonderful hotel experience. Thank you so much for making us your hotel of choice. The entire staff looks forward to your next visit. Best regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel for the price

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: staff
Cons: the keys
the only complain I have is the stupid keys system they never work once you put them away
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you so much for posting your review. We are very happy that you found our hotel so comfortable and its relationship between quality and price so good. There is nothing we like more than to see our guests leave our hotel feeling completely satisfied with their experience with us. We are sorry to learn about your mishap with the keys and we are going to immediately inform our Brand Standard Team about it so they can see into it as soon as possible in order to avoid these type of problems in the future. Thank you for letting us know about it and please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. It was a pleasure having you here with us. Thank you for choosing us. Best regards.