Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business travel from F.

Nice hotel!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
If you are doing business in Costa Rica and you want to be well located to visit customers without paying a high rate. This is your hotel!
Comment from
Jan 7, 2014
Dear Business travel J, thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled to know how convenient you found the relationship between quality and price of our hotel. Also, it makes us feel very proud to know that you are already part of our extended family, staying with us everytime you come to the country on business, not only because of our convenient and accessible location but also because we provide them with the most comfortable accommodations and best services to make their stay with us a very successful and pleasant experience. Thank you for staying with us, we will look forward to your next visit. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rm from florida

close to downtown

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: decent amenities and price
Cons: not much
Location: gold museum
satisfactory, good breakfast, supplied roll-away, friendly
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Dear rm, thank you very much for sharing your review. It is always very rewarding and a delight to hear whenever our guests are so satisfied with the value and quality of our hotel. Our most important mission is to provide each and every guest with the best and most convenient services and the highest quality of accommodations to guarantee that they are definitely going to have a restful and pleasant stay with us, a stay that they definitely deserve and much more. One stay that our guests are always going to remember with a big smile of satisfaction across their faces. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us, we thank you for choosing us. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Update

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Attitude of staff at check in desk
Location: Fine
My experience was Good. Rooms were very nice. Pool was universe as well.
2 out of 5
by Will from Ontario

Check in Staff were not truthful.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The grounds were kept up and the pool area was nice.
Cons: The wifi was terrible. The staff should be informed of client complaints.
Location: The location was not close enough to the city centre and the taxis were permitted to charge an exorbitant rate,off the meter, to get into the city.
Our party of 4 arrived at 10:00 am and asked to be allowed into our room as soon as the rooms were available. I mentioned that I was on pain medication and would appreciate being able to lie down in my room ASAP. We were told that a room would be available sooner than the 2:00pm check-in time and body language seemed genuine. Despite checking at 11:00, 12:00 and 1:00 we were told that the room wasn't ready. At 2:00, on the dot, the room was suddenly ready- AMAZING! Why did they have me and my party of 3 others to stay in uncomfortable chairs for 4 hours when my 3 remaining friends waited unnecessarily in the lobby? The 3 others could have spent time visiting the city for those 4 hours instead of sitting with me ? If you say or indicate that guests can have a room sooner than the official check-in time, then honour that promise! Otherwise, refer to your official check-in time! I have been in other hotels where there was no problem in allowing us into a room earlier than the official check in time. I can even see advantages for the staff to spread check-ins over a few hours than all of a sudden offering rooms to a lineup of several incoming guests at 2:00 pm! In addition, the concierge at the hotel did not post his working hours at his post. We were surprised that he was not available on Sunday when we could have used his services. They did have a free shuttle to the airport at 4 am but did not have staff or a sign to indicate a queue was to be obeyed.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Will M, thank you for sharing your comments, they are very important for us because they provide us with invaluable feedback of what our guests think about the hotel, its services and the attention from its personnel and what we can do to improve them for their complete satisfaction. It makes us very happy to learn how much you liked our grounds and our pool area. We are a hotel with a very convenient location because we are close enough to the airport (less than 15 minutes away) and we are also very close the downtown area of the city (less than 15 minutes away too) without having all the hassles of actually being downtown such as the incredible traffic and noise. There is nothing more we want than to provide each and every guest with all the comfort and satisfaction that they expect and deserve and we can assure you that we always do everything in our power to comply with their needs and requests. We are very sorry to learn about the mishap you and your group experienced. Our check in time is at 2:00 p.m. and our check out time is at noon. Whenever we have enough room availability and guests arrive before the check in time we gladly give them the room before the check in time, however these past weeks, the hotel has been totally full and we have not been able to comply with requests for checkin in earlier than the stablished hour. Sometimes guests leaving do indeed check out before the aforementioned time and then our housekeeping team would clean and arrange the room as quickly as they can so we can comply with the checking in guests. Unfortunately this didn´t happened the day you came because none of the checking out guests left before the stablished time so we were not able to comply with your request. We really do apologize for the inconvenience you and your group experienced. We would really had liked to give you the rooms before the check in time, but sometimes things are beyond our control and there was nothing we could do to make the guests that were supposed to leave before the check out time and at the last hour didn´t, to do what they had told us they would. Once again, please accept our most sincere apology. It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you very much for staying with us. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Conveniently located and great place to stay overnight in San Jose after a late arrival. Shuttle from airport was a nice feature. Staff was super friendly.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Traveler, thanks so much for posting your comments. It really feels good to know that we have the greatest staff, not only because they are constantly striving to please our guests and comply with all their request in the nicest and most attentive manner but also because we do know that more than a job, it a pleasure for them to do it. We are also happy to learn how conveniently located you found the hotel and the services we offer such as the complimetary shuttle service to and from the airport. We really want our guests to have a restful and hassle free stay which will surely prepare them for their trip back home. It was a real pleasure being of your service and we will be looking forward to your next stay. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julio from Panama

Nice hotel to relax, all rooms with a view to the.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Spend 3 nights very relax, went to the gym that is well equiped.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Julio, thanks for posting such a great review. We are extremely glad that your stay with us was so relaxing and enjoyable, so our goal was achieved. We want each and every guest to be able to experience all the comfort they possibly can not only concerning their very much deserved rest but also with all the conveniency of the services we offer and our very attentive staff, that way they are always going to feel that we have delivered eerything we had promise. It also makes us very happy that you found our our gym so well equiped since we just renovated all the machines. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you again back very soon. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to SJ airport and downtown

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Car rental and tour company in lobby, nice bar and restaurant, quick checking
Cons: Cleaning staff could report any issues with the rooms
Location: A short taxi ride to downtown San Jose
Hotel staff helpful. We arrived after a red eye flight and for a fee we could check in early which was nice. Our room on 3rd floor had a terrible sewer smell. We didn't have the energy to ask for a new room so we opened the balcony door for the rest of our stay ( that night) In the morning after check out I advised the front desk of the issues with the room. I also said I wanted to there the night before our flight out, so the front desk gave me a discount on the next room. Overall a good experience with staff and I would stay again
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for writing and posting your comments. There is nothing we like more (besides providing our guests with the most comfortable hotel experience ever) than to hear from our guests that they will definitely visit us again because they enjoyed their stay so much and could see how the entire staff goes above and beyond to make them feel not only welcome but as if they were right at home. We want all of our guests to have the most pleasant and comfortable accommodations, ensure them that they can always count on us for anything they may need for a very successful hotel experience so that they will kn ow that we always keep our promises and if something is bothering them, do everything in our power to make it all right or make it up to them. It was a pleasure being of your service, we are going to be very happy to see you the next time you visit. Best regards.
2 out of 5
by I AND R from CHICAGO

disapointed from the staff ,it was no shuttle bus

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: nothing specail.
Cons: improve the above notes
no coffee in the room,no refrigerated bar in the room, no welcome frute basket. alarm clock is not working. room smell. no tisue on the nite stand.near bed.some one tried to open the door at 1.30 am.i reported that to the desk. the answe was ,oh ok. i asked them to make a note of it.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear I AND R, thank you for posting your comments since they are very important for us because we use them as feedback from our guests to see what we need to do to improve our accommodations and services for the complete satisfaction of our guests. We thrive on our guests happiness and satisfaction, that is why we are very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not reached your expectations and we apologize for it. Our staff always do everyhting they can to make sure that each and every guest guest gets everything they need to ensure a successful and pleasant stay. Eventhough we do not have coffeemakers in the rooms, whenever our guests want one, they only need to call the front desk and they will happily comply sending you one with both caffeinated coffee and decaf. Also, they would have gladly sent you another alarm clock if you had called and inform the front desk that the one you had in your room was not working. Though we do not have tissues on the nite stand near the bed, in the bathroom there is a whole box, our guests can also call housekeeping for an extra box. We do have shuttle service to and from the hotel to the airport but it has a schedule that is the following: From the hotel to the airport the shuttle service starts at 4:00 a.m. until 5 p.m., each shuttle leaves every 20 minutes. The shuttle service from the airport to the hotel starts at 4:30 a.m. until 11:30 p.m. and also leaves every 20 minutes. We take the wel being and safety of our guests very seriously that is why we never let people that are non guests go to the rooms´ area alone without the company of a guest, so we are sure that the person who tried to open your room late at night was another hotel guest who unfortunately made a mistake with the rom number. We really do apologize for the answer you received from the front desk and we will share this with our General Manager so he can make sure that situations like this one never happens again because we assure you that we treat issues of this nature with the outmost urgency because we take the comfort and satisfaction of our guests very seriously. Once again, we apologize and we thank you for choosing us. It was a pleasure being of your service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Big Bird from Vancouver, BC

Nice to have complimentary shuttle. Nice pool.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and clean. Free shuttle to and from airport
Cons: Rooms need some updating.
Location: It about half way from the city and the airport. Good as a transit hotel.b
Rooms are a bit dated but everything is cimfortable and clean.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Big Bird B, thank you for sharing such a candid review. It is very rewarding when our guests like the services we offer for their convenience because then, we know that we are doing a good job in providing them with everythng they need for a comfortable and successful stay, that way, when they leave, we are going to know how satisfying their stay was because of the great smile on their faces. We also want them to feel that they can be completely confident that our staff will always comply with anything they might need to feel as if they were right at home. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you back very soon. Best regards.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, but expensive

Posted Feb 12, 2014
nice hotel but expensive. Clean and good condition
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your review. It is great to see that you liked our hotel so much and found so clean and comfortable. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards of services and accommodations to all our guests, that way, we are able to provide them with a very successful hotel experience which they will never forget and will convince them that they can completely trust us with their comfort and well being. Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure being of your service. Best regards.