Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dever, CO

Close to airport

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Room had stale odor after house keeping trun off air conditioning and we were gone for 13, 14 hours tours. It was ok after a few minutes with the air back on. Situated in industrial district, no attraction or shopping around there. Free breakfast 24 hours a day with Denny next door. Simple eggs and toast but could be upgraded. The little bar and grill at front of hotel had very good food. Casino had penny slot provided hours of fun because one US dollar =500+ penny. Staff were nice and service was good. Swimming pool water was very clean and clear but the Jacuzzi was broken during our stay. A tip ~do not join the boat tour for Sarapiqui River Adventure, it was not worth the time or money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear love to travel, thank you for taing the time to write and share your wonderful comments. It makes us feel very happy that you found our hotel so comfortable, so conveniently situated (we are about 15 minutes away from the airport and less than 10 minutes away from downtown) and our services so helpful (like offering our free complimentary breakfast at Denny's the 24 hours of the day). It nice to know how much you enjoyed our casino and we are very sorry that the jacuzzi was not working during your stay. Please accept our apologies and hopefully the next time you stay with us you are going to be able to enjoy it. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Hasn't changed in years. Still a very nice place to stay In San Jose. Dennys is a real plus when you'r in a hurry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your very nice comments. We are very proud to learn that you have stayed with us for many years and we have never disappointed you, our hotel has always been up to your expectations providing you with all the comforts and great services our guests deserve and which make them have a wonderful hotel experience. Thank you so much for making us your hotel of choice. The entire staff looks forward to your next visit. Best regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel for the price

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: staff
Cons: the keys
the only complain I have is the stupid keys system they never work once you put them away
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you so much for posting your review. We are very happy that you found our hotel so comfortable and its relationship between quality and price so good. There is nothing we like more than to see our guests leave our hotel feeling completely satisfied with their experience with us. We are sorry to learn about your mishap with the keys and we are going to immediately inform our Brand Standard Team about it so they can see into it as soon as possible in order to avoid these type of problems in the future. Thank you for letting us know about it and please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. It was a pleasure having you here with us. Thank you for choosing us. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

close to airport

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: silent and the balcony.
Cons: qualities of food and more reasanoble prices.
Location: Close to the San Jose center and casino.
I booked a room with a king size bed. My suprise that there was extra charges for my wife to stay in the room with me, Althought when I booked the room it stated that it was for three people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Fermin, thank you very much for posting your comments about your stay with us. It is always very nice to learn how comfortable our guests find our hotel, with its very comfortable accommodations, very good services and its very convenient location (besides being about 15 minutes away from the airport and just less than 10 minutes from downtown). We were very distraught to hear about what had happen to you about charging your wife, but in the reservation data in our computer, there is only one person in your reservation. Whenever more than one person is staying in the room, the person making the reservation has to let us know beforehand how many people are going to be staying in the room. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding but our website clearly states that our guests have to say how many people are going to be staying when they are making their reservation. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the misunderstanding. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

conveniently close to stores, restaurants.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Walking distance to shopping
It was great. I would recommend this hotel to traveling families with children. Walking distance to lots of businesses and 10 minute shuttle ride to airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you found our hotel so convenient, not only because we were so close to many shopping establishments but also because we are only about 15 minutes away from the airport and just about less than 10 minutes away from downtown. We are very proud that everything we provided was up to your expectations, our very comfortable accommodations, and our very convenient services because our outmost desire is to make our guests feel completely satisfied during their entire stay. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. We hope to see you back again real soon. Best regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New york

I disliked the hotel. It was outdated

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The hotel was outdated. The people were friendly however tried to get over with US money. It wasn't a good trio at all. I was totally unsatisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel. They are very important for us because they provide us with feedback about how our guests feel about the hotel and its services and from there, we can see what we can do for our constant improvement in order to make our guests feel totally satisfied. We are very sorry that you were so unsatisfied with our hotel, that you found it outdated. We are constantly renovating the premises and remodeling the rooms, furnishing everything with the most modern electric appliances and the most comfortable furniture since our guests' comfort is so important for us and we do strive in providing them with the best services so they can have a satisfying stay. Once again, we are very sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectations. Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure being at your service. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Western Best is very excellent. Western Best close to San Jose, Costa Rica in about 5 to 8 miles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Roberto, thanks for sharing your comments. Knowing how conveninet our location was for you makes us very happy since there is nothing we like more than to satisfy our guests as much as we can. Our hotel is not only about 10 minutes away from downtown but we are less than 15 minutes away from the airport. We also want to provide them with the most comfortable accommodations and services to make their hotel experience everything they want it to be. Thank you so much for choosing us. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage, AK

Ease of location

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the older rooms
Location: Not much to do, but if your purpose is a very convenient location near the airport and to pick up a rental car off airport then it works out well.
We stayed the night of arrival in to San Jose and the night before we left the country. The poolside rooms are much nicer and updated compared to the other wing. The convenience of picking up our Alamo rental car made it very worthwhile. There was about a 15 minute wait in a long line to check in the second time but as we were not in a hurry it wasn't too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, we really appreciate your very nice review. It is wonderful to learn how convenient our hotel's location was for you since besides being less than 15 minutes away from the airport, it was also very easy for you to get your rental car. We are happy that during your visit to the country you stayed with us twice so it means that you found our accommodations very comfortable. We like to inform you that eventhough the hotel was some time ago, the premises are always being updated and renovated constantly for the satisfaction and comfort of our guests. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Hotel staff is friendly, never had problems, accesible in every way, great casino, rooms are very quiet can get a great night sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler thanks for posting your great review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you loked staying in our hotel so much. Our outmost desire is to treat our guests the best we can in order for them to feel more than welcome and right at home. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the casino so much and that you were able to rest and get all the sleep you needed in our very comfortable accommodations. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Stayed night before our flight worked great for us

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Clean and close to airport about 20mins.
We ate in the restaurant, the food was very good and service was good. Very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Hotel Representative, Hotel Management
Dear Kay, thanks for sharing your comments about your experience in our hotel. We are delighted that you found it so clean and comfortable and so close to the airport (we are about 15 minutes away from it). It is very important for us to be able to make our guests feel completely happy and satisfied during their entire stay with us. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you for staying with us. Best reards.