Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Very nice little hotel in SJ, very rude staff

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness.
Cons: Without a doubt the staff.
Location: During the day calm and close to attractions in SJ, at night very busy street with bars and people all around.
We stayed one night in Casa 69 and for the most part it was a very nice experience until morning. When we checked in at night the young man at the reception was very helpful and polite and our room was all in order. It was a shame that in the morning another man who was in charge of the reception and serving breakfast, etc was very rude. Overall had a terrible attitude. No please, thank you, trying to take my order screaming from across the room, etc. Very uncomfortable having to hear him and a woman staff member yell all around the hotel and kitchen while trying to have a peaceful breakfast wasnt very pleasant. I've been to quite a few hotels in SJ and I can tell you this is quite a nice place but I'd highly recommend at least to the owners a change of staff. You'd get more hospitality from a local fast food place. Honestly a 1/10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, Maryland, USA

An Americans experience at The Casa 69

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Well decorated, inexpensive, nice staff, and not a typical chain hotel.
Cons: Phones in the room for local calls
Location: The area does have a nice Irish Pub a few doors down and two other bar/pubs on the other side. The artisans market is about 5 blocks away.
Just finished a 6 night stay at Casa 69 and wanted to share my experiences. Overall I had a wonderful time and will come back. From the outside the CASA 69 looks like a Speakeasy. Once inside it becomes a warm, well decorated Hotel with a nice staff and great prices. I think I was upgraded from the Jr. room to the standard room because I stayed 6 nights. For the extra $5 the upgrade is worth it as the Jr. rooms are a tad small for Americans for an extended stay. The bed was very nice and all the rooms looked like they were clean and well decorated. Ants: You are in CR and they have ants. They don't complain about you, you shouldn't complain about them :) I did see a few ant's but that's what happens when you live with the windows open. The free breakfast was a 'Tropical" Continental and the addition of two eggs and bacon or pancakes for $5 was a deal. I just drank the tap water, it is as good as any bottled water here in the USA. For Americans traveling for the first time in Central America the amount of razor wire will shock you. The reality in CR is the Police cannot help you in most burglaries. Instead of insurance most Costa Ricans will make the outsides of their houses a fort, and when you get inside they become little paradises. It does take a while to adjust to this visual. I have a friend that lives nearby and he assures me the area the hotel is in is safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great hotel in San Jose

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, included breakfast, room cleanliness.
Cons: It might be wise to let guests staying in the building across the street from the main building know about the tram that runs through the area.
Staff were very friendly and helped us organize a cab to the airport and helped us find our way around the city. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable and featured a safe. The hotel seemed to be located in a little bit of a rough area but Casa 69 felt very safe and secure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
In the heart of the city. Steps away from nice pubs. However, the description did not mention that they have (4-5) cats that roam around the property. My friend is cat phobic, she was terrified! But the cats are harmless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sonora CA USA

Oasis in downtown San Jose

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: I wanted to stay on for a few nights after my family left, and do a little artisan shopping before catching my flight. Casa 69 was perfect!
Cons: Nada. It is funky, charming, safe and I loved the homey, unpretentious feeling.
Location: Easy walk to the artisans market place. Great street food, bookstores, coffee overlooking streetscape with hawkers and liveliness.
I absolutely loved this little BandB. Canadian Donna and her staff are welcoming and very down to earth. If you like great Costa Rican coffee in the morning, intelligent conversation, a rooftop garden and 3 stories of brightly colored habitations enclosing an interior garden and a cat or two on each story - this is your place. The location is a perfect walk down Avenida Central to the pedestrian shopping district including the artisans market. Highly recommended and I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, comfortable, noisy in am's

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Casa 69 is a clean B & B which is very centrally located if you are not renting a car and enjoy walking or taking the bus. The train literally passes by the hotel at the end of the block so it is noisy during peak traffic times and at night due to the bars in the surrounding area. If those things bother you, then choose another local. The breakfast is a bit light, but you can order off the menu and the breakfast is delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great! Wonderful boutique hotel! If you like corporate stuff don't stay here and leave the room vacant for someone that enjoys the personal touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Navin from New York

Excellent B&B choice for San Jose

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Casa 69 offers comfortable rooms of different styles (we stayed there on two non-consecutive nights during our week in Costa Rica). The layout is appealing: there are two stories of rooms accessible through a pleasant, tiled courtyard and there are more rooms across the street in an enclosed compound with a locked gate. The staff is outstanding. We arrived at 2am on our first night, but the night man answered the doorbell right away, showed us to our room, and helped me get our rental car into the protected parking space the hotel offers. (Definitely do not park your car on the street.) Upon our second arrival, in the mid-afternoon, the cook cheerfully asked if she could make us lunch. The spinach-mushroom quesadillas and homemade guacamole was easily the best lunch we had the whole week. The only drawback to Casa 69, as many other reviewers have noted, is its location. It is difficult to find (don't rely on Google Maps to get anywhere in San Jose--you'll immediately be lost) and due to the parking challenges, it's probably best to take a taxi there. If you walk to downtown San Jose (not a long distance), you should also take a taxi back at night. We definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Danny from USA, Illinois

Very pleased

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Centrally located between downtown and other areas to visit. Some pubs and restaurants close by. Great location for using public transportation. Many things within walking distance. I initially booked 4 nights as to see if I liked it here and then extended my stay for the whole duration of my stay (10 days). Very friendly and helpful staff, decent Wifi, terrace that overlooks the city. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, fresh bread, and jams for continental breakfast. Yes they have three very friendly dogs, but they don't bother you. I like it here!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rosaflamenca from Willits, CA

Fantastic value for this home away from home!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Casa 69 for four weeks in the past five months, and feel well qualified to give the hotel a solid 5 star rating. The room and facilities are extremely clean; the owner is very fastidious. Plants are everywhere, each room has fresh flowers, a mini-fridge and a functioning safe, flat screen TV and good lighting. The breakfast area is beautiful, there is a 3rd floor terrace overlooking the city, and a large living room with TV, and a huge iMac computer for customer use. There are also two phones that can be used for free local calls, or to the US, and free Wifi. The staff is friendly, helpful and the owner of the hotel is a delightful person to get to know. I will include this caveat: if the hotel cost twice as much, I would be stricter in my rating. The rooms are "cozy." There are three lovely, fairly large dogs that live there part of the time, as well as five full-time cats, which I like, but YRMV.There is an incredibly loud train that passes by from 7am to after nightfall. There are a number of pubs in the area that can be noisy, but if truth be told, all of San José is a cacophony sound except in the dead of night. Earplugs help. I love the location, within 10-15 minutes walk to supermarkets, a movie theater, some great restaurants, the Artisans's Market and 20-30 minutes walk from downtown, though most people would be advised against walking around much at night. I will always stay at Casa 69 when I am in San José!