Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I am shocked at the positive reviews.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We checked in about 10:30 pm and wary when we pulled up to the hotel as the street was full of ppl drinking, etc.and the streets were dirty. But, when we buzzed the hotel from outside we were let in right away and knew we were coming so that was good. Hospitality was friendly. However, upon entering our room I was shocked at how old, dusty and dirty is was. The cost of this hotel is way too expensive. The bad: the toilet seat was too small for the toilet, there were pubic hairs underneath the toilet, the sink wasnt cleaned, and there was caked on dust on objects in room. We found an ant in our bed, and woke up to find a flying cockroach on the floor. They left the bathroom window open and we didnt realize it until the am. It is a boutique hotel and the main check in area is quaint. But the cleanliness of the room was unacceptable. There is also a train that runs right next to the hotel, so no peace and quiet. I wish I had the same experience others had but there is no excuse for a dirty and dusty room. GROSS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianne and Nick from UK citizens, one US-resident

A little gem!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: See above!
Cons: See above!
Location: Definitely not a scenic location but fortunately the nearby railway is quiet at night. Restaurants are close by. Otherwise, we slept...
We spent one night only in Casa 69, the entrance to which is a blank yellow doorway with coded security locks in an unassuming corner of San Jose. Once inside, we were astonished and delighted by the relaxed feel and look of the place, and by the friendly welcome we received from the charming lady owner. Our top-floor room was decorated with the style and quality of a MUCH more expensive hotel, and we loved that too. Very comfortable and all services provided in immaculate condition, and breakfast was very good too. If we'd opted for a second alcoholic drink before finding a meal outside, we'd definitely have switched to beer cos the red and white wine was just weird: that was the only aspect of Casa 69 that didn't impress us a lot and maybe we'd had too much sun... Thanks for the stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miriam from Nashville, TN

A good option if you are staying in San Jose

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, tropical decor, nice breakfast, nice location (only $1 taxi ride to the downtown area)
Location: The National Museum, the Artesian Market, downtown San Jose
This was a decent hotel experience. The owner is really nice/helpful, the staff was patient, the breakfast was nice (assorted fresh fruit, bread with butter and jellies, coffee/tea - egg, meat, etc. options are offered for a price), and the rooms were clean. We stood for five nights - i'd recommend staying on the side where the office is (the rooms seemed nicer). Casa 69 is located by a bar (only rowdy on Fri & Sat nights) and a train (only runs from about 6 AM-8 PM) so it can be noisy at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

The hotel is difficult to find

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Location: When searching for this place ask how to get to the nicaguran embassy. Its on the same block
loved it everyone was great and very helpful. I would stay here when i return to cs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Dominicalito, Costa Rica

Downtown San Jose, Costa Rica

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel had some interesting books and a lot of information regarding local tours.
Cons: We had difficulty connecting to the internet the first night, but after letting the management know about it there was no problem the next day.
Location: The location was nice in that it was near shops and restaurants, however there was a bar next door that was uncomfortable to pass at night.
We wanted to stay in a small hotel in downtown San Jose before traveling to Bocas Del Toro, Panama. We stayed 2 days and enjoyed ourselves very much. There were some excellent restaurants nearby which satisfied our cravings for something different. We also walked to shops nearby to get needed items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from Canada

Cozy and friendly Casa

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I only spent one night upon arrival in Costa Rica and found the staff super friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, I could do everything I needed in walking distance and have a feel for downtown San Jose. I will certainly use this hotel again in the future. Excellent value!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in central location

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Very central, young, european/canadian, nice surroundings
Cons: They could pay attention to one person at a time, not get diverted by someone else's attention. Tell you about the night life around you.
Location: Very close to central market, musuems, shopping, restaurants and in centre of a party area.
Staff don't tell all info on checkin , too busy to attend to detail, room not cleanest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chetan from washington dc

Excellent service, safe and secure . Good rooms.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: better bathrooms
we stayed for 2 nights and staff was very helpful, went above and beyond to help us. breakfast was good,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Beautifully decorated
Owner was barely civil and not welcoming. My flight was weather delayed for a day and as I booked through Expedia when I requested to change to following night she wouldn't We were booked there also on our return and that is when I met her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cody from NY

A great, very affordable place to stay.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Location: Not the best location in San Jose, but far from the worst. A bit farther from downtown than other hotels, but still right on the main strip.
Clean and efficient, the common areas were very beautiful. The staff was helpful and the young man working nights spoke near perfect English - he helped us get transportation and etc. at very early morning hours. Overall, we had a very comfortable and pleasing experience... which says a lot when staying in San Jose!