Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice place, wonderful people

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: This B&B is on a quiet street behind the US embassy and in walking distance to small shops,a popular restaurant, a bank, and a McDonalds.
We spent our last three Costa Rica nights at Casa Lima, so really appreciated amenities like laundry service, free phone calls to the USA, and the ride to the airport ($25). Breakfast was coffee, delicious hot rolls with butter and jam, and fruit. We ate one other meal there, and the chef made a special trip to the store for ice cream which was both excellent and free. The room was big and very comfortable except the air conditioner was noisy (I would have used a fan had there been one) and there was no hot in the shower, just warm. The central garden was nice with a rescued whiteface monkey, squirrel, and birds; there was a basket of books too. We liked the staff and other guests, who were all friendly and helpful. Overall, Casa Lima seemed a good choice where we felt safe and relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

An Oasis in San Jose

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: See above. Thank you to Nelson for meeting us at the airport and driving us directly to the hotel.That was a true GIFT!
Location: There are a few good restaurants nearby. Just speak to the staff for info.
Thank you, Nelson Ruiz, for creating such a lovely oasis in the heart of Rohrmoser, a quiet, conveniently located suburb of San Jose. You were such a gracious host, making us feel at home quickly. The tropical courtyard at the heart of your property is a gem. We actually spent our third day quietly reading there, listening the birds and waterfall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Romeena from London

Best BnB in Town!

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
The guests at Casa Lima say that Nelson is the best host in town. We couldn't agree more. He helped us with planning our route around Costa Rica and calling around for us in Spanish so we could get the right information. We got more information from him than anyone else, which made us all the more prepared for our big adventure. The bed and breakfast was our first stay in Costa Rica. It was lovely and colourful with animals and beautiful flowers in the courtyard. The rooms were nice and cosy and the beds very comfortable. I thoroughly recommend Casa Lima, and will definitely stay there when I return to San Jose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jose Roger from La Ceiba, Honduras

muy bueno

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente atención por parte del personal desde el Gerente hasta el personal de limpieza, lo único que considero deben mejorar es en las opciones del desayuno porque no ofrecen ninguna alternativa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Reasonable stay for the money

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Management was very accommodating and nice. Quiet stay. Clean and comfortable room. Charming outdoor central courtyard with garden and aviary of budgies and finches. Cons: The monkey Kiko was not a happy camper being in a cage so use caution when approaching. Whatever you do don't smile at him or go within two feet of the cage unless Nelson the manager is present. Also avoid crossing the courtyard bridge when wet as very slippery had a crash
4 out of 5
Recommended
by slim from USA

2 blocks from USA embassy /excellent dentist & lab

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels
Nelson (owner) + staff excellent assistance with; car rentals, taxi, tours, restaurant recommendations & dental restoration offices. Small hotel is older but quite clean. Fresh fruit each A.M. excellent, however main course add-on items were only fair...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joy Browne from Tacoma, WA

Convenient location for my dental appointments.

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
The staff here is great. Always go out of their way to see if they can help. I would have liked a Gallo Pinto and eggs for breakfast instead of the fruit and bread, but there was an extra charge for that. All in all a fine place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from California

CASA LIMA is a gem!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Located in an upscale area, within waling distance of restaurants and a bit of shopping. Fantastic service by owner NELSON and a friendly staff. They can't do enough for you. Several guests were return or long-term folks and you can' t have any better reference than that. We highly recommend this place and want to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan

Great experience

Posted Feb 19, 2014
All was great, good was awesome, staff very pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels