Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW, IN

Great value for price

Posted Jun 23, 2014
No frills here, but the room was clean and provided the necessities. It was stuffy at first, but once we got the fan going in the right direction we were comfortable. The wifi didn't work in our room but worked well in the lobby. The staff was great (especially Luis) very friendly and helpful. We were only there one day before traveling to the coast. We were advised by several people not to walk around neighborhood after 5 and I would agree not the best part of town. However, during the day we walk to downtown with no problem. I would stay here again while passing through. Didn't get to try breakfast cause we left early on a tour. For the price - Great deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel,

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: simple no bling bling my style.
near every thing downtown not far from all the bus stations. restaurant near
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Booking a 10 day stay at the Cocoon Hotel in San Jose through Expedia was a very important learning experience for me. In future I will never book more than 2 days stay in advance, why?, because having paid in advance I was trapped. Having visited over 80 countries over the years I consider myself a fairly seasoned traveler, but I have never wanted to get away from a hotel as I did from this one. First let me say that the included breakfast was very good, also that I found the staff friendly and helpful. From there let me tell you about the neighborhood, not good. My first clue was when leaving the hotel I had to step over a drunk who was laying on the sidewalk outside a dive bar that was across the street, much to my surprise he was still lying there when I returned 2 or 3 hours later, if he wasn't rolling around and grunting I might of thought he was dead. The room was spartan and kept reasonably clean, although there was a musty smell coming from the bathroom. In the 10 days that I stayed, not once did I take a shower when the water didn't turn from hot to cold, usually right after I had put shampoo in my hair. I finally figured out that if I turned the hot faucet off, waited a while, then it would be hot again for another couple of minutes. I told the staff about this but they were in denial, now I see from other peoples reviews that it has been ongoing problem. Unfortunately for me I'm not the kind of person who is able to get a good nights sleep in a noisy environment,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimani from Atlanta, GA

CoCoon

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The Natural Scenery of it
Cons: The Bed & room comfort
Location: Everything was pretty near
It was a wonderful experience, the only bad about the stay was the uncomfortable beds, but the price was superb. i may stay again it all depends
2 out of 5
by Christine from Toronto, Canada

Very noisy hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast selection was great and so was the service.
Cons: Stop playing music so early in the morning. The rooms could use a fresh coat of paint and new sheets.
Music was blaring at 7am in the morning from reception. I could not sleep properly and it happened twice in a row. The room was very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very caring staff, good location, and OK rooms

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Can't say how helpful the staff at this hotel was. They gave a lot of good advice for where the next leg of our trip should be and even arranged an early breakfast for me when they found out we had an early departure. They were also super conversational and liked talking over beers. It was clear that they were all interested in improving their English which I thought was cool. Rooms were clean, but just OK for a couple reasons: 1) Showers were intermittently hot which made for an uncomfortable experience 2) They were not very consistent with giving us fresh shampoo/soap and towels...had to ask for this I agree that there was a lot of noise from the street other rooms and that the walls were a bit thin, but this wasn't a huge detractor for me. I slept just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price downtown San Jose

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Room just needs a coat of fresh white paint and if the furniture were gloss white finished itd be a higher classs hotel. Nice hot water; working wifi in room; descent choice of breakfastsj good location in 5min walk to attractions; very roomy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flight Delays! from Toronto

Great hotel & staff, sketchy neighbourhood

Posted Feb 16, 2014
We spent two separate nights at Cocoon and always found the room to be clean and the staff polite & helpful. The hotel is a little bit north of the main downtown area and is a bit sketchy at night time. Would recommend a cab at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

value hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: put a writing table; try something to minimize traffic noise
Location: close to a market - by avenue 8th and avenue 5
fresh breakfast, friendly staff; avoid rooms facing the road, can hear the traffic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by GFS from Chicago

Decent hotel at a decent price

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice-looking with a recent remodel. It is nothing fancy, just basic rooms, with basic fixtures, bedding, bathrooms, etc. It included breakfast which made the price even better for 2 people, and if you wanted "extras" at breakfast they were available for a small extra charge. Our room was in the back on floor 2, which was good to avoid the noisy street on the front side of the building but, bad because the only window looked into an interior area that was very small and dark, essentially no natural light but, worth it to trade off not hearing buses and taxis honking outside early in the morning. The neighborhood leaves a little to be desired... it is convenient for walking to San Jose sites during the day, but there wasn't really anything else nearby in terms of a supermarket or convenient store or decent restaurants or bars, and didn't feel super comfortable out on the street at night. However, taxis are constantly driving right in front because the hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection so it was never more than a 1 minute wait for a taxi. I'd stay again, and I'd refer friends looking for this price point to this hotel as well.