Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Best Hotel in San Jose Costa Rica

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Love the decor and Spanish architecture of the hotel
Cons: The staff is accommodating but not very friendly
Location: very near the international airport but out of ear shot of any jet noises
An old coffee plantation that has been been converted into a beautiful hotel with world class restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Hotel before & after tour

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Beautiful grounds. & pools. Friendly helpful staff. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bj from new york

Wonderful hotel on the Carribean side of country!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: I loved the hospitality and tropical feel
Cons: The owners attitude towards the guest.
Location: Far away from airport and city but they have a nice little shopping area with nice beaches and all types of tours to take.
I loved the staff, the location, the decor is fabulous. They change the color scheme everyday. No horns blowing, everyone is so hospitable. Even the manager of the hotel is kind. My only two issues was that the owner of the hotel acted as though we didn't even exist, a friendly hello would have been nice. Also the hotel is about a 5 hour drive from the airport especially if there is traffic and you don't know where you are going. It was definitely worth the drive because the scenery is beautiful. I loved my honeymoon at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IB from Toronto, ON

great spot in San Jose

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent service especially in the restaurants.
Location: Location close to the airport and a good spot from where you can start many possible tours. Had a great private driver who was very knowledgeable.
always a great place to stay when staying in San Jose. Outstanding service, facilities and food. Have been there several times and would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Close to the airport.

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The Spanish decor.
Cons: More flowers could be planted.
My husband had stayed at this hotel 17 years ago and was honestly disappointed with how the hotel has aged, however I thought it was a pretty place. It appeared clean, and the staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 14, 2014
We had an elegant and relaxed experience. All staff was friendly, hotel was elegant hacienda style, food was delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by abueloart from richmond va

definitely 5 star

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
came here for a wedding. room, food, hotel grounds all first rate. service attentive and cordial. highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Orlando, FL

Beautiful hotel in San Jose

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: I mostly liked the design of the hotel. It's open, spacious, and the breeze flows through the halls. It's a really beautiful structure.
Location: We traveled to downtown San Jose and had a fabulous time walking through the city. We also were in town during FIA 2014, a 2-week annual art festival.
This was our first time in Costa Rica. My partner and I both agreed that this was the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at. I always love Marriott's, but this one is gorgeous. The facilities and grounds are huge and the layout of the hotel is open and airy, like a lot of restaurants and hotels in Costa Rica. We had a cheaper room with a view of the tennis courts and Kuo Spa, but we were still very pleased. The shower could have been a tiny bit cleaner, and this is the only complaint I have about the cleanliness of the room. The breakfast buffet was a little on the pricey side, but the food is top notch. The hotel has 2 restaurants, 2 pools, a Jacuzzi that is open 24 hours, the best hotel fitness center I've ever seen, and great staff. When we arrived (at 1:30 in the morning) we were pleasantly greeted and given the full treatment. Room service was also excellent at 2:00 in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in San Jose

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately not convenient to any services but close to airport. Beds and pillows are the best. The gym, spa and grounds are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephen from Atlanta

Will be back!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel. The staff are truly friendly. You get a sense that you are their house guest and not just a room number.
Cons: The tour company on premises is 2nd class. Guides not fluent in English and not very knowledgeable about their tours. (except for George)
Location: Hotel is only 10-15 mins from the airport. However, on arrival, you would never know it due to the secluded nature and landscaping.
Marriott does it again. From arrival to departure; this is where comfort, style and Puda Visa coexist.