Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The Spa area is nice
Location: Really good restuarants close by
Great overall experience, the staff does a good job from remembering your name to making you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great Costa Rican hotel in the middle of the city!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The Staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. Great facilities with business center, 24 HR taxis, 24 HR gift shop and coffee shop. Amazing!
I stayed at this hotel with friends on the night before heading back to the states from our vacation. Picked the hotel because of the reviews I had seen as well as the proximity to the airport as we had early flights. I only wished we could have stayed longer here. Amazing grounds with two pools. Makes you forget that you are staying in a city area. The restaurant we ate at, Antigua, was amazing. Staff was helpful and gave us suggestions on our last meal in Costa Rica, which was amazing. Carlos our server went above and beyond!! Loved the fact that they had 24 HR coffee shop, gift shop and taxi service; as we had a 6:45 am flight and left the hotel at 4:50 am. I didn't realize you have to pay a departure tax; we were informed by our bellman who also let us know they provided the service at hotel. We paid the tax ($6 more at hotel than at airport) however the convenience of this service was great. Staff were all helpful, room was clean and what you would expect from a Marriott. The drive to airport was less than 10 mins and very easy. I would come back to this hotel again and hopefully spend at least an extra day or 2 to enjoy the amazing facilities and grounds. Do be prepared that the restuarants are a bit pricey however it is what you would expect from eating at a hotel. Otherwise highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte NC

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the people working there! Shout out to Luis and the guys at Bar 10 and the lovely lady that makes the omelets for breakfast.
Cons: Fluffier pillows! Two rooms = 12 pillows. All flat when laid on. Also, whats with the SKINNY "blanket" on the foot of the bed?
Location: A $15 cab ride to San Jose. Tam Tours office books day excursions. Volcanos, rainforests, beaches, hot springs, ziplines etc 1.5 to 3 hrs drive.
The hotel architecture is amazing. Maybe the most beautiful hotel I've been to! At night, lit by "candlelight" it is magical. We stayed for 8 nights. The meals were good (except one). Wonderful breakfast spread every morning! The friendliness of the staff was refreshing. If you need anything it was attended to immediately. It is very "self contained, so it is good that there are 3 restaurants, Bar10 ( a sports bar with the best fish tacos) and a nice gift shop/coffee shop/ restaurant with beautiful gardens. The hotel can be fully booked, but never crowded! Sprawling landscaped grounds. Very quiet and intimate. All tours of the area can be booked on the premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Very nice and close to the airport

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Bar, breakfast and great bds
Cons: More front counter help. Lines were long.
Location: Go seethe National Theatre, but otherwise only spend a brief amount of time and head for the coast.
Lovely Marriott, with nice size room, clean, excellent buffet breakfast. Very comfy beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The setting, grounds and room accommodations.
Cons: Free Wi Fi should be part of the room rates.
Location: N/A. We were not there long enough.
This is a very nice place: beautiful setting, elegant facility. It is a clearly well appointed, well maintained, and well staffed resort, with the high end market as its guest target. Our problem was booking at one of the 'deal' sites, at which we got a very good room rate. On arrival, we found a very nice room and all that, and very expensive food, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Super nice staff -even by very high Cost Rican standards. Fantastic building and grounds. Have not stayed in any Marriott in US, which could rival this one. Most excellent Peruvian restaurant -not overpriced. Other facilities like breakfast tennis internet etc are extra and somewhat expensive -but the base hotel rate is a very good deal considering its class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Nice way to start or end your Costa Rican vacation

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Pool and comfort.
Location: 15 minutes from airport. 30 minutes from downtown San Jose.
Nice pool area. Very comfortable. Restaurants are tasty. Nice gym and tennis courts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tennessee

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Beautiful,quite,clean with excellent service Everyone was so nice!! Would definitely return again and recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

close to airport

Posted Jan 4, 2015
hotel is close to the airport & car rentals so is good if you are using this as a stop over to then go explore the countryside. it had numerous services - reataurants, bar, pool, tennis, ministore, cafe that is open (i believe) 24 hrs, spa.... the rooms were nice - just regular rooms though, nothing spectacular. there was a strong smell of "agriculture" (ie, fertilizer) the evening we arrived - due to the hotel's location, i think. service is typical costa-rican slow in the cafe, but friendly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great short stay in San Jose, Costa Rica

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: Removed from city; need transportation to get to wonderful tourist destinations. Concierge helpful finding tourist attractions, and restaurants
Staff helpful at check in; rooms clean; good food at restaurant, nice pool