Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pcv

Reasonable

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Nice and quite location. Staff very good and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Excellent rooms, staff was very helpful and within walking distance to a supermarket and a nice mall... Can't be beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Good mid-range hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location - halfway in between the Juan Santamaria airport and downtown San Jose. It is also very close to grocery shopping, bars and restaurants.
Cons: There was no lock on our patio door in the 300 Tower. I would recommend staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
Location: Hard Rock Cafe at the Wyndham about 5 minutes walk away. C Lounge just down the street. All local tours have hotel pick-up. Lots to do.
This is a hotel that is currently undergoing upgrades. It has two sets of rooms that are quite different from each other. The 100 series is close to the PanAmerican highway and gets a lot of traffic noise that can disrupt sleep, particularly with trucks using their engine brakes. The 300 tower is away from the road and very quiet. We stayed in both parts of the hotel, so we have direct experience of this. The restaurant is good and our rate included a hot buffet breakfast. It more than met our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Airport

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Large, spacious rooms.
Cons: Supper was just OK. No shuttle to airport for early flights.
Arrived late and left early, so did not use pool or visit nearby bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Country Inns & Suites By Carlson review

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great place to stay.
Cons: None
Location: Restaurants, mall, supermarket, about 40 min from Poas volcano
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport. Easy to get to. Large and fully secured parking lot. Beautiful setting, all rooms are around the pool. Big comfortable rooms, microwave, frig, safe, hair drier, iron and board in short, everything you need. Free breakfast in a lovely restaurant. We will definitely be back on our next trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Excellent stay at begin and end of CR trip.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Clean new room, proximity to airport.
We had 2 rooms on day 1 and day 6 of our Costa Rica trip and this hotel was excellent in all respects. New clean rooms, great filling breakfast, excellent staff, free wifi and use of their computer/printer, no complaints. Would recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clgary alberta

Very good stay.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel shuttle that runs on the hour.
Cons: Warmer pool.
Location: Shopping mall and casino are in walking distance. Bar next door has drink specials also.
The staff are very couteous and let us check in a bit earlier than normal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Für die Nacht nach der Ankunft OK

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amerikanisches Hotel, etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Frühstück und Service gut. Supermärkte in der Nähe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper-thin walls, clueless staff

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Terrible experience! This is the first bad hotel review I have ever written but it needs to be said. We could hear every single word the couple was saying in the room next door; awkward. The water during a shower went EVERYWHERE! Poor poor design. After a shower you stand in a huge puddle of water every time you go to the bathroom. Then we booked an excursion through the hotel and I offered them my credit card...they said they don't take money and we were to pay the tour company the next day. Well the tour guide didn't show up because apparently the hotel WAS supposed to take our credit card to hold the reservation. We were beyond upset that we did not get to go on the only tour we had planned. Lastly we called the desk 15 minutes ahead to get a taxi, they said that we shouldn't call ahead since they are always at the hotel. We get to the front and sure enough they don't have a taxi and we wait 40 minutes for one to show up. The staff is clueless. Food was ok not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omah,Nebraska

Near airport

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Near airport.
Cons: Spray some insulation in the walls.
Nice hotel near airport. Only negative is the thin walls. Got tired of hearing goalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll.