Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay. Safe and comfortable!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: I love the setting and connivence of the location. The staff is exceptional. The restaurant staff and food is good. The rooms are spacious.
Cons: Unfortunately, you can't do anything about the downfall... Traffic is bad in all of this area!
Location: Close to all the thing you would need to buy. We come to San Jose area for food supples, household goods and furniture shopping. Everything is close!
I have stayed here three times and each of the times has been a pleasant experience. Great rates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by paulfrom massachusetts

great place

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
i have stayed there several times.. on a main road, but far enough away to be quiet... very peaceful... the man at the desk, Jessie, was very pleasant and helpful. he is an asset to the hotel.... he helped find a car on a weekend which was a holiday., only wish intenet connection in room was better... will be staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Aug 3, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my 1 night stay. Abraham at the front desk was the main reason. He was welcoming, attentive and courteous. Whenever I needed him, he was available and quick to respond. I liked the overall hotel as well nice theme and everything was clean and well maintained. I will definitely be returning on my next trip to San Jose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jahnickfrom Quepos, Costa Rica

Convenient-Wheelchair Accessible-Reasonable Price

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It's close to the airport, has a large restaurant, excellent security, fairly fast Wi-Fi and loads of free parking.
Cons: Three years ago the snack menu in the bar included "Jam and Chesse" Sandwiches. It still hasn't changed. The pool was not very appealing.
Location: Great if you need the airport.
We live in Costa Rica and El Rodeo is one of our favourite San Jose hotels. It's very convenient to the Juan Santamaria International Airport and is much more reasonably priced than the "big name" chain hotels which may be a bit closer. The adjoining steakhouse offers a large menu with the sides served family style -- you won't go away hungry! The grounds are well kept and the rooms have huge bathrooms and are nicely decorated with very comfy beds, coffee makers, fridges and A/C. A hot breakfast is included in the price and the free Wi-Fi actually works which is more than a lot of San Jose Hotels can claim. The staff is very helpful and most speak excellent English. Everything is accessible by ramps, unlike most hotels here which have steps everywhere. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WanderlustDadfrom Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Nice little gem near the airport

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here just one night right before our flight out of San Jose in the morning. The grounds were surprisingly very nice, the rooms were comfortable & clean, and plenty of room. The staff is very nice. And we were about 25 minutes to the airport. Oh, and the steaks at the restaurant were pretty decent (some of the better steak we've had in Costa Rica anyway)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cali

Nice hotel!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Steak house is amazing, room is great, ac works perfectly and decor is nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robertfrom Vancouver

Conveniently close to SJO airport

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed here for one night before we drove off to other areas of Costa Rica. The hotel was a little difficult to find as we were driving there ourselves. That said, everything is difficult to find in Costa Rica since they have no addresses. The room was clean and the bathroom was huge! The grounds of the hotel are lovely and gated, so parking is secure. The breakfast was good, and included in the room rate which is always nice. WiFi did not work in the room, and was a weak signal even in the lobby. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a traveler on their first or last night in Costa Rica. If you are driving here yourself from the car rental pick up zone, be sure to bring very clear directions or a GPS map.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with good price.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Staff were really nice. Perfect hotel for first and last night. Good complimentary breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Orianafrom Sarasota, Florida

We would come back!

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend, too bad we couldn't stay for an extra night but we were heading somewhere else. This is a beautiful, quaint hotel! The employees we dealt with were extremely nice and helpful (we do speak spanish), breakfast was great (we did not get to try the steak restaurant), everything very clean and in order. The only thing we could say is that even tho the hotel is not that far from the airport it isn't easy to get there, we had previously read the reviews so we were prepared and had a map with a step by step way of getting to the place, I can imagine one can totally get lost otherwise! I would love to stay there another time if we go back to Costa rica. Just a piece of advice for the travelers. NEVER NEVER leave anything of value inside of your cars in CR we got our car broken into and a lot of things of value were stolen from us, afterwards we were told that this happens very frequently, we wish we knew this before!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was in the hood, had armed guards/gated though

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Ffriendly and accommodating staff. Fixed a breakfast bag since we had to leave at 3 Sam to catch our flight