Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Virginia from Florida, USA

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Start with the good. Restaurant food was very good and staff was excellent! Hotel, not so. Stayed for 14 days. Had to buy my own washcloth and hand towels because hotel would not provide. Only 3 days of hot water entire trip. Two mornings, no water at all..only air in pipes. Checked with other hotels nearby...no problems there. Hotel gym? Half the equipment was broken or not working. Hotel Spa? No. Outside person brought in if appointment set, but prices very high! Got stuck in elevator one day. Lovely to look at but they need some serious updating of their infrastructure and services.
2 out of 5
by Marcos from Toronto, Canada

Nice name and location, but that's all!!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I loved the name.
Cons: Where do I begin.? They should train the staff to be courteous to the guests. They have an 'information desk' but the person in it is always chatting.
Location: Nice location but dont stay here if you're used to good hotels.
I had been to Costa Rica many times in the past but due to my work, I had to stay in other areas. This time, I ecided to stay at this hotel only to find out the only good about it is what IT USED TO BE and it doesnt hurt to be called GRAN HOTEL COSTA RICA.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kurt from Fort Lauderdale

Great stay for the price

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is superb. The hotel is old and needs serious renovation, but it has kind of old charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marlies

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Shane from Ottawa, Canada

Centrally located - careful of the bait and switch

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: central location
Cons: it's old and dated.
Make sure you get the room you paid for. I booked and paid through Expedia for a room with A/C for two nights. I arrived late at night and the hotel told me that the room I booked was not available and that I had to take a basic room without A/C (which had an awful odour to it). The desk person offered me a free fruit plate in the morning if I just took the room and someone would try and find me the correct room for my next night stay. I put up a stink and the desk person final agreed to find me a new hotel at no charge for the night if I promised to come back the next night and he would find me a room with A/C. I'm really not that picky a traveler, but coming from Canada to Costa Rica I needed the A/C to sleep at night--it's hot in CR. The desk person eventually found me a room at the Holiday Inn nearby and the room was very pleasant. The next day I had the Holiday Inn call the Gran Hotel to ensure they had a room with A/C for me. The desk staff and manager did not know anything about it and it took them almost an hour to figure things out. I would not stay at this hotel or recommend it. If you have to stay in San Jose go to the Holiday Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Ontario, Canada

Excellent location

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, on site tour booking, nice restaurant\patio area with piano music.
Cons: Take out the Casino and put in a pool ! When I inquired about room amenities, "Raquel" didn't know there was already hair blowers and irons.
Location: Can't be topped !
Only glitch was my pre-arranged taxi did not show up, (said she momentarily slipped away for some lunch!) Probably best location for any hotel in San Jose. It can be a bit noisy at night due to the busy streets around it -, I suggest just turning on the portable air conditioner to drown it out with white noise. It appears ALL rooms do have air conditioning. Lot's of hot water, you just have to run it for some time. Breakfast area is beautiful, - ball room with outside terrace. While the food was plentiful and good, it was very repetitious. The breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, I had a very pleasant stay. Larry
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mary from Seattle

Quaint

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an old hotel that has not be upgraded in a long time. (bathroom sink was chipped, refrigerator did not work, light bulbs out) Given these draw backs I would chose to stay here again. It is a good location. Bed was comfortable -- pillows marginal. We took a city tour and picked up others at a variety of other hotels. Not one of them including the chains caught my interest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Beverly Edwards from Bellevue, WA USA

3 Nights in San Jose, CR

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the location. Victoria at the tour desk was very helpful. The front desk folks were satisfactory, there did not seem to be an attitude of wanting to do anything more than absolutely necessary. The weather was somewhat chilly while we were there and outside dining for lunch and dinner was not a comfortable option. The breakfast buffet was very good and the service was very good as well. The outside noise was okay except for the ding, ding, ding of the crosswalk signal that went on ALL night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathleen from Cincinnati

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel with helpful staff. Just was difficult to find at night with the directions we had. Delicious breakfast too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Casey from St. Louis, MO

Great Location, Great Atmosphere, Mediocre Comfort

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although this hotel had extremely firm beds, mediocre amenities, and somewhat dingy rooms it was a great place to stay. It was in a great location, had a very cultured feel and excellent breakfast overlooking the city. If you're going to lounge around your room all week then skip this place. If you're going to get out and about and enjoy the city this place is perfect.