Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The service and staffs were so proffesional and the best .
Cons: The rooms need upgrads. bath tube
Location: location was the best
The location of the hotel is good due to close to down town. The hotel needs some upgrades but overall is good condition. The hotel staffs were really good and friendly and everybody was trying to help and make you happy. The manager of the hotel was really nice and she was trying her best to make our trip enjoyable. Her name was Gennine if I am not mistaken. I got really surprise with the way they do service. It was professional and their costumer service was really good. All staffs were doing their best to help you. The room service was done everyday and it was nice and clean. The hotel was built 20 years ago which is not bad. If you are looking for the hotel in heart of San José this is the one. The break fast buffet was good too. They have restaurant on 17th floor with city view and the food was awesome. the server whose i forgot her name but it starts with B* was really good . she knew how to give good service very nice lady . If you go there just make sure that she should be your server. The food was so delicious . you should try it. the tourist information was good too. you should talk to leano if I spell it correct . he was honest and he suggested the tour which were the best in the town. the room needs some upgrades especially the shower tube and tube. but overall was clean room. There is casino next to the hotel which was just opened and it was nice and friendly. I usually don’t write any comments for hotels , but this time I thought in this I owe it to this hotel e
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Hotel is only good as it is close to downtown

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown and within walking distance to sightseeing sites
Cons: Staff needs to be more pleasant and understanding Should check out all the necessities before guests move in
Location: Within walking distances to Jade, Gold, National Museums, National Theatre , Mercado Central,, San Jose Central market, Cultural Plaza and Parks
Did not encounter a very pleasant experience with the hotel facilities and staff. First wasn't given a room with a mini bar nor was it a guest room. Mini bar is noted as one of the facilities in the web. It was on the 4th floor. Accordingly to the bell boy only floors above 4th floor are for guests which requires the room card key to get up and down the elevator. Moved to 10th floor. However, there was no shower curtain. Mini bar didn't work. (had to replace for another one). TV shut off momentarilly (staff has been told but nothing was fixed). Towels, toilet paper, etc were not adequate on the 1st day. Mini bar was wide open on the last day. Self brought yogurt got rotten. No apology was received and staff even accused that 2 bottles in the mini bar were missing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama, RP

Central downtown San Jose

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean room
Location: Great location
This is the first time i used Holiday Aurora in San Jose, and it was a pleasant surprise. Sometimes I need parking , and the staff was very efficient , and on time w my car leaving early in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Bed linen looks wear off
The location es very convenient, close to everything in San Jose. The staff is very nice and helpful and the room was very comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is nice, good location..

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Great location, close to shopping, restaurants, activities. Beds are very comfortable, aircondtionwr a bit noisy.. And hot water big that hot in the day, only late at night .. But overall a good hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rose from boston, mass.

Costa Rica Vacation 2014

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The bell staff were wonderful... very concerned about us, told us how to take the best routes out of town etc. the restaurant staff were wonderful.
Cons: the desk clerk could have a little more postive attitude.
Location: It is within walking distance to many downtown things for central san jose, the museum, stores. etc.
Stayed in this holiday inn for a total of 6 days, three a the beginning of my trip and three at the end. The bell hops were really great. One in partical was outstanding, he was kind of tall and bald. His english was to be compared with any american! He was polite and made sure all our passengers had seatbelts and a safe trip. The blonde girl that is the bartender, oh my,,, there was 4 televisions all going on at the same time, loud I have to add, the overhead radio also playing, we asked her to turned down the tv over our head, she smiled and did, then turned it up again. So we moved to another seat. She would start talking to others and then forget our drink order, she did giggle all the time. language was not as issue as a member of our party is a costa rican. This constantly went on... I know she could be wonderful but needs to pay more attention. My family have stayed here many times while in town for the past 15 years, we even remember when you had the casino on the 17th floor which we really enjoyed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ProTraveler

Posted May 27, 2014
I've stayed here before and I had a great stay. This time however, the staff wasn't as friendly and 'odd' things kept happening. Like them checking something in my room that I didn't even have access to at 8:00am on the day I was checking out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curaçao

Nice hotel but not really a 5 star hotel.

Posted May 4, 2014
The view from the room we were given was not as beautiful as advertised. We went for dinner at the (Penthouse) restaurant on the 17th floor and were given a table in an isolated corner. Maybe the color of our skin had something to do something to do with this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A

San Jose downtown

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Staff was very friendly and engaged I felt well treated. Thank you