Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Beautiful hotel and very good location. Drawbacks - pretty noisy and no AC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the airport and convenient

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle ride to the airport
Cons: Rooms could be painted
Location: Coffee tour and Poas Vocanoe
This is a nice and some what dated hotel. Honestly the place was equivalent to a travel lodge as it was clean but quite basic. Here are some of the positives and negatives: On the positive very clean and convenient to the airport. Staff were friendly and the restaurant ala carte menu was good value and nice food. Also they have a free shuttle ride to the airport which was a massive plus given Costa Rican taxi drivers can charge excessively for a short distance On the negative: very tiny pool which looks big in the pictures! no tea/coffee facilities in the room, the main hotel building is very noisy as voices travel from the restaurant (so don't expect to get to the bed early); bedrooms are quite dated but the showroom facilities are fine and finally the breakfast is a very basic continental I.e. bread, a few tiny pastries and fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katefrom Kentucky

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Hotel Buena Vista for three nights before traveling elsewhere in Costa Rica. I am so happy we decided to spend some time in this part of the country. As advertised, the view is beautiful, but it was the kindness of the staff that really makes this place "5-star". For other travelers considering Alajuela, we drove to Poas volcano, La Paz Waterfall Gardens and Doka Coffee while staying at Hotel Buena Vista. The hotel offers tours of all three places, but we took care of our own transportation and tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montreal, canada

Dernière étape du voyage

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Nous avions une villa pour 6. Vraiment super! Le personnel était vraiment très sympathique, efficace et accommodant. On y a aussi bien mangé. Les enfants disent y avoir bu leur meilleur jus de fruit du voyage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, Uk

Great place to crash

Posted Aug 13, 2014
After a long flight from Europe, this was a great place to start our travels from. We ended up staying 2 nights (rather than the planned 1), the staff helped us get our bearings, let us use their phone and gave great advice. Added bonus is the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariefrom Paris

Charmant hôtel un peu en dehors d'alajuela

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chambre spacieuse, salle de bain refaite à neuf et petit dej sympa. Personnel très gentil. Très belle vue depuis le jardin. 1 seul bémol: la piscine qui est vraiment petite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff, the hotel grounds, the private villa option.
Cons: The pool is very small and not private at all. In the middle of a courtyard where many rooms look and right outside the hotel restaurant.
Location: Easy, paved drives to Poas Volcano, Peace Lodge, Zoo Ave, and right next door to San Jose. Many adventure activities nearby as well.
My husband and I stayed at Hotel Buena Vista for 2 nights and had an excellent experience. We had originally only booked one night and planned to stay there the day before we left Costa Rica, but bad weather at another location led us to call Hotel Buena Vista the day before our stay to see if they had any availabilities for another night. They were very helpful, spoke perfect English, and booked us a beautiful balcony room that very day. The parking area felt very safe, the staff were smiling and happy to help us find activities in the area. The rooms are spacious, and it was cool enough even in July that we didn't mind there was no A/C. The first night we stayed in a room in the main hotel, and the walls are a bit thin. There was a large tour group staying at the hotel and we could hear them during dinner and whenever they entered/exited their rooms. Our second night was completely noise-free though. We upgraded to a private villa (there are 5 on property). We had a huge room with 2 beds, 2 couches, a private screened in porch overlooking San Jose. We ate dinner on property that night, huge portions and good quality. It only took us about 20 minutes to get to the airport from the hotel, but you would never know you were so close with how private the grounds feel. We will definitely stay again when we return for our next trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Very nice location and close to wonderful sites.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: We loved the staff... Extremely pleasant and very helpful with everything (to include giving very excellent recommendations to touristic sites, etc).
Cons: Have AC units, better water pressure (shower), better in-room WiFi connectivity and a bigger/deeper pool.
Location: Canopy Tours, Volcan Poaz, La Paz Waterfalls
Overall it was a wonderful hotel with beautiful views. There was some misleading information on the breakfast description which I tried to resolve via Expedia Customer Service with no luck! Breakfast stated "buffet" on the description which was the main reason we booked the hotel. However, during our first morning having breakfast we learned it was a continental breakfast vice a "breakfast buffet!"
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Perfect for a day trip to Poas and La Paz

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We particularly enjoyed our time conversing with the staff, especially Coco, who made us feel so welcomed and at home.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms would be great or even screens so you could leave the doors open. Also, wifi could be better...
Location: Great location for a day trip to Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall and Gardens. Also close by and easy to get to San Jose airport.
Our stay at Hotel Buena Vista was wonderful. The gardens and pool are lovely and the staff was wonderful. They have a great restaurant with terrific food and very reasonable prices. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.