Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Wir hatten das Hotel an unserem letzten Tag in Costa Rica gewählt. Es liegt auf einem Hügel mit sehr schöner Aussicht auf die Stadt. 10 min zum Flughafen. In der Nähe befinden sich gute Restaurants. Zimmer sind sauber und gut ausgestattet. Bad etwas klein, aber absolut ausreichend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stacy from Kent, WA

Hidden gem-along the way to Poas, La Paz & Doka

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice place-hidden along the way to the Poas Volcano. Awesome view of the city from high above. The service was excellent. Stayed a second night since it was so close to activities. We were able to see the Volcano 1st thing in the morning, the La Paz Waterfall and made it just in time for the last Doka Estate coffee tour at 3:30. By 5pm headed back to the hotel. Would suggest splurging on the balcony rooms as our room was on the first floor and we had to close the drapes for privacy which made it a bit warm (no a/c). This place would be perfect if they added a jacuzzi where you could soak and enjoy the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indy

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I would recommend to all. Nice view and beautiful grounds & rooms. Also, the hotel restaurant was excellent. Close to airport...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ezra Oz from Montreal, CA

An example of excellency

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic place, friendly, clean, great indoor restaurant. We loved every minute there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice grounds, beautiful view, wonderful staff.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Hotel, grounds, staff
Cons: None
Location: Many tour options
Along with being a wonderful hotel stay, the personal tours were great. Went to La Paz water Falls and the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Beautiful hotel and very good location. Drawbacks - pretty noisy and no AC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the airport and convenient

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle ride to the airport
Cons: Rooms could be painted
Location: Coffee tour and Poas Vocanoe
This is a nice and some what dated hotel. Honestly the place was equivalent to a travel lodge as it was clean but quite basic. Here are some of the positives and negatives: On the positive very clean and convenient to the airport. Staff were friendly and the restaurant ala carte menu was good value and nice food. Also they have a free shuttle ride to the airport which was a massive plus given Costa Rican taxi drivers can charge excessively for a short distance On the negative: very tiny pool which looks big in the pictures! no tea/coffee facilities in the room, the main hotel building is very noisy as voices travel from the restaurant (so don't expect to get to the bed early); bedrooms are quite dated but the showroom facilities are fine and finally the breakfast is a very basic continental I.e. bread, a few tiny pastries and fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kate from Kentucky

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Buena Vista for three nights before traveling elsewhere in Costa Rica. I am so happy we decided to spend some time in this part of the country. As advertised, the view is beautiful, but it was the kindness of the staff that really makes this place "5-star". For other travelers considering Alajuela, we drove to Poas volcano, La Paz Waterfall Gardens and Doka Coffee while staying at Hotel Buena Vista. The hotel offers tours of all three places, but we took care of our own transportation and tours.