Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Very cute little hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Neighborhood, Staff, Bed
Cons: Bathroom size
I stayed for one night mostly because it is a short and cheap trip to the airport but was very surprised by how much I liked this hotel. It was the cheapest of all of the hotels I have gone to in Costa Rica and also the nicest. The staff was very nice, even when I came down at 4 in the morning asking for help with a taxi. The hotel is owned by a couple and the bottom floor is a small Italian restaurant. The room was also the largest I had visited with an extremely comfortable bed. The city was very safe and nice. The park one block away is very pretty. My only complaint is that the bathroom was a little small. I honestly wish that I switched my last night hotel in San Jose with this one! It is closer to the airport and much safer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get used to noise

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Very clean room with large comfortable bed.
Cons: Hot water would be nice.
Location: In the heart of a loud traffic jammed city. Cathedral across the street was open so we could find a quieter place to meditate. Nice local park and Piz
Very welcoming owner couple. Loud street traffic until very late in evening. No hot water for shower. Nice breakfast. Couldn't print boarding pass as hotel computer had no ink in printer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

great airport access, and local culture exposure

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: local culture and airport access, and price 55.00
Cons: parking
Location: on the corner of central park, access to local stores, and the old US favorites Mcdonalds, tacobell, burger king, great coffee shops, local artistry,
more of a bed a breakfast than a hotel. the bathrooms were clean with hot water, the stairs are very narrow, and all but one room are upstairs, not good for those with limited mobility. rooms are about 8x 10 with a bed, small TV, air-conditioned, and adjoined bathroom 6x6, shower, sink, toilet. This is a Safe place to stay, directly in the center of Town. Parking can be a problem. You must use public parking on the street from 6am to 6pm at a cost of 500, colones per hour, (less than 1 US dollar) At night there are a couple of spots directly across from the hotel that will be watched all night. I had no safety or security problems on my stay. The in house restaurant has an Italian theme, the owner considers himself a Chef. However, he did not prepare my meal and the Calzone was undercooked and doughy. My partner had Pasta and it was very good. Overall, I enjoyed it do to being in walking distance of anything I needed and wanted, and it is only 10 minutes from the Airport, which is only a 5.00 dollars taxi ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Colorado

Good location in downtown San Jose.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff.
Cons: Room amenities.
Location: Great bar nearby with live music. Good vibe. Easy ten block walk to a center with restaurants.
Stayed the night for an early flight out the next day. Hotel staff AWESOME. Definitely only stay one night though....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sil from australia

Close to airport.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location and attitude.
Cons: N/a
Location: N/a
Easy to use, friendly staff. Easily located, six dollars taxi from airport. We emailed in advance to advice our late arrival and staff were present and awake when we arrived.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in Alajuela

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Needs some TLC. Towels were older and worn. bathrooms were small and cramped.
Cons: layout of the room needs to be changed, so the TV is in front of the bed instead of on the side.
Location: Great central location in Alajuela. Walking distance to everything. Buses and taxis always available.
We stayed here because we were visiting family who live in Alajuela. The hotel is right in the center next to the Cathedral and central park. Lots of activity and walking distance to anything. We took the bus to San Jose a couple times. Easy and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kyle from Canada

Friendly little hotel close to SJO airport

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a hotel close to the airport for an early morning flight. The hotel is not super fancy but staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is right in the center of Alajuela with bars, restaurants and shops in easy walking distance. The area is very safe. Good choice for those who arrive or fly out of SJO and need to spend a night. Taxi is ~$6 to/ from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Loo from Philadelphia Pa

Awesome location to explore the city

Posted May 7, 2014
The location of the hotel was key. In the middle of Alajuela you can really get a sense of the culture and people. We walked around the city for hours exploring. The employees spoke English and were extremely helpful. It was fairly inexpensive and a great place for a night or two especially at the beginning or end of your trip since it's only a 10 minute drive from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Bargain for 8-minute Cab Ride to SJO

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Cute, great location, low price.
Cons: For the price, this is as good as it gets.
A nice little hotel in an urban setting. Street noise was fairly loud. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I'd stay there again if I had to be near the airport. It's a bargain hotel, so if you want fancy, this is not your place. I didn't get to try the breakfast since I left so early. Clean room, good WiFi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from vancouver

Convenient and very comfortable

Posted May 1, 2014
The staff were truly excellent, always there to help. The room was large with a king bed, perfect to hide away with a loved one before flying home. Very reasonable rates. Thanks guys!