Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still good but missing some details

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I stayed at this same place and gave it raving reviews. Then this last weekend I went again but was a bit disappointed at some of the extras that were missing. In January there was an alarm clock and ipod dock in the room. Neither were there this time. So I figured I would listen to music on one of the many cable channels that offered music the last time but there now there were no music channels. Also, it was really hard to tell the difference on the internet between the standard rooms and the junior suites so I thought I would choose a junior suite this time. The room was actually smaller than the standard room and didn't have the table to sit at that the suite did. Lastly, I'm not sure if it's because of a group of 50 just leaving or what the reason was but they did not come in to freshen up the room. These things are mostly just because I have the two experiences to compare. I would still recommend it but was a bit disappointed in these things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

like a hotel in the alps

Posted Jun 1, 2014
located 40 min from San Jose and the airport but feels more like a mountain resort in the mountains. The restaurant is excellent and they even serve apfelstrudel.:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david p

Nice hotel, excellent food

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Reservation was according to Expedia description. Hotel is pet friendly and over friday and saturday night they have live music on the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivi from Costa Rica

Beautiful place!

Posted May 18, 2014
I would recommend the room with fireplace The hotel surrounded by tall trees and lots of flowers The staff was very friendly and they even brought our breakfast to our room as courtesy!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clauds

Beautiful!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Very nice, lovely experience, restaurant food excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jewel Off the Beaten Path

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Great place to stay, especially for the price. Has the look and feel of a Tyrolian Gasthaus. Much more picturesque and much better weather than the typical chain hotels found in San Jose (and a whole lot cheaper). Staff is very professional and helpful. Everyone on staff is fluently bilingual so English is not a problem. Beautiful, tall cypress trees. High up so it's cool. Definite must if you have wheels and can navigate Costa Rica. Taxi service and other transportation easily arranged. Go to the Baalbek Restaurant just down the road for fantastic nighttime views of San Jose in a semi-Moroccan setting. Wait! Why am I saying all this? Keep it a secret! Don't want to be unable to get a reservation next time we're in this great country. ;-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by edie from florida

Beautiful

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Location: The location in the surrounding woods. Location was very private and secluded not too close to any thing to see, quite a drive but well worth it. Volc
The property was beautiful, all staff was very friendly and the food was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Kind of cheesy but overall nice

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed a night in a chalet with the "fireplace" an electric fireplace space heater :). The grounds are set up to look like an alpine village and there are beautiful surrounding old trees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

off the beaten path

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for first two nights in Costa Rica. It was a bit difficult to find at first but well-marked as you get closer. The family suite was perfect for our family of four. We had a room with two double beds and a bath plus a loft with two doubles and another full bath. Ate dinner on-site the first night and it was very good and reasonably priced. Service was attentive at dinner and both (included) breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy and Dan from British Columbia, Canada

Lovely hotel site in the cooler mountain air.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The staff and management, large room, the gorgeous mountain area site, the lovely balcony to relax on and enjoy the birds and grounds.
Cons: Some updating, replace door plaques with something less kitschy, possibly some reasonably priced buffet meals. Focus on the gorgeous surroundings.
Location: Great location for bird watching, walking, exploring volcanoes and rain forest of Braulio Carrillo Nice distance from San Jose and the Airport..
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this reasonably priced hotel. The owner and management were friendly and worked hard to make the site look lovely. The hotel is chalet style, and could do with a more modern vibe eg. remove the dutch boy and girl door plaques and paint the exteriors of the bungalows to blend in with the natural surroundings more. The grounds were gorgeous! We enjoyed walking in the area, and saw beautiful birds in the hotel's gardens and wooded areas. There was a wedding celebration while we were there, and the management made everyone feel welcome. The meals were nice, if a bit overpriced. We would suggest some more moderately priced meals for dinner. This would make an ideal site for a quiet retreat or educational conference.