Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Excellent ambiance in the heart of the city

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, great food
Location: Great location in walking distance of the National Theatre, The National Museum, Avenida Central, the new Jade Museum (didn't go), and the Mercada!
This hotel was great mostly for its people. The desk staff, bartenders, wait staff, cleaning staff - all nice and very helpful. I travelled with my sister and we stayed in Cala - the rooms have names instead of numbers. We had 2 comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with a shower/tub combination. We were there from 7/2 - 7/8 and slept with the window open every night and were very comfortable. In addition, the food was excellent! Breakfast was the same everyday and very good, but the dinners the chef prepared were some of the best around! Try the Spaghetti - who would have thought an Italian dish in CR would be so remarkable?! The staff was helpful in confirming tour pick up times for us, responding to a call when we broke a class in the bathroom - eek, and even arranged to order and pick up a cake my sister requested for my birthday. I don't recall the name of the bakery, but the cake was to die for! I'm sure if you ask, they can hook you up. Overall, a great place to stay! One thing of note, there is a train that passes (down the middle of the street!) about 60 feet from the hotel. it didn't bother us at all, in fact we liked hearing it. But if you're sensitive to such sounds, be aware!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H Joy from NY

Amazing and beautiful place and people!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms large, the staff was helpful, nice and the place was beautiful!
Cons: Nothing. It was such a wonderful place to stay.
The hotel is beautiful! It is also conveniently located and, though the trip to it is through some rough areas, it's location is extremely safe! The staff is nice, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms exceptionally so. Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to help us and guide us on our stay in San Jose. They helped us find our way walking, via taxi and bus and even helped us when we left the city to find the best way around and best places to travel and see. They and the hotel are/were amazing! We highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from London

Recommended

Posted May 13, 2014
Great upgrade, the room was a interesting 80s retro-chic. Fantastic location, only issue was some noise in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too close to trains

Posted May 11, 2014
Hotel itself is nice. No air conditioning. Was greatly disturbed by commuter train blasting its horn from around 3 until 9 at night. On the plus side it was a 5 minute walk to a great Argentinian restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marco from UK

Characterful hotel with period features

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Location, period features, breakfast
Cons: Squeaky wooden floors are part of the period features but very disturbing late at night and early morning.
Location: On edge of city centre but easy walk, less than ten minutes to main square/Teatro Nacional, very close to Museo Nacional
Good first impression, spacious lobby and hallways, polished wooden floors (more later) very well presented bedroom, dated bathroom but everything worked, including novel toilet with inbuilt bidet. Had dinner at hotel first night, but waiter forgot my order, had to come back to ask me what I had ordered, then delivered the main course, without serving the starter that I had ordered, otherwise food was good, and the Cuba Libre cocktail at CRC1500.00 was a bargain. Retired to bed early after a busy day, then the problems of all those polished wooden floors became apparent, every time someone walked past the room the floors creaked, but worst was the noise from the room above when the guests walked around, as normal, but the floors just creaked so much. Second issue was that many guests seemed to have to rise early, 05.00/06.00, my guess to travel to the airport for flights back home, obviously not a hotel problem, but inconsiderate guests. From the sound of their voices most seemed to be from that country in North America, between Mexico and Canada, and most of them fitted the stereotypical behaviour of loud voices, kinda like if I'm awake why shouldn't everybody else be. Breakfast was well presented with reasonable selection, and helpful staff on hand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carol from Ohio

close to all must-see sights

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charming hotel in a good location at a good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good choice for a few days in San Jose

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was great other than the fact that it was near the railroad tracks and we occasionally heard the whistle. The inside was like an outside, rooms and dining room around a fountain--a nice effect. Restaurant was pretty good, and the breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Costa Rica

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: The staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home.
Cons: The lighting in some areas was rather dim, causing me to miss a step down.
Location: Located in downtown San Jose near the Museo Nacional de Costa Rica, many little shops & restaurants and an artisan craft market
My husband and I stayed 2 days/3 nights at Hotel Fleur de Lys and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was always very polite and caring. This is not an American-style over the top hotel but more the European style and most of the guests were European. It has beautiful woodwork and old wooden floors with a lot of character. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the waiter spot on in his recommendations. It is located in downtown San Jose near many interesting sites so we walked most of the time and took a taxi to a specialty shop a few kilometers away. All in all it was a very enjoyable visit and we will not hesitate to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013