Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nicole from los angeles, ca

Clean, comfortable and accommodating

Posted May 30, 2014
We chose this hotel thinking we would have an afternoon/evening in San Jose before flying out the next morning, but our travel plans changed and we didn't arrive until well after midnight. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of juice and room upgrade. Because the rental car agency was closed, we were able to leave our keys with the hotel and they agreed to call the company the next day to arrange a time for the car to be picked up. The room was very clean and well appointed, especially the bathroom. Although we were only there for two hours before our wake up call sent us back on our way (taxi was waiting precisely when we requested) we were pleasantly surprised at the attentiveness of the staff and condition of the hotel! The old photos lining the walls are very charming... Will definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in San Jose!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Federico from Heredia, Costa Rica

Perfect for a Romantic Get Away

Posted May 25, 2014
Excellent Staff, excellent food and a beautifull place to stay at. It's location is perfect to get in and out of San Jose city. Only "minus" is that, from your room, you can hear people's conversations as they chat in the hallway. We staid for a night (room 35) Nevertheless we will choose this hotel again and ask for another room next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Boston, MA

Fabulous hotel!

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, safe, friendly staff, beautiful room and gardens
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby.
The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was extremely clean and very beautiful. We stayed here one night after arriving in Costa Rica before heading to our destination and I was sad that we were not staying longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Great last night in Costa Rica.

Posted May 4, 2014
Location: only downside is that the area surrounding the hotel leaves much to be desired...of course, that can be said about most of San Jose.
Hotel Grano de Oro was a perfect ending to our trip ... easy access to highways, easy access to airport. Staff was very accommodating and food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Costa Rica in 7 days

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful in every way and the service and food are top notch.
Cons: Location can not be changed but maybe some more "expert" consierge service. The kids at the desk were as helpful as they could be...
Location: Arenal is fabulous and the hot springs great. We went to Tortuga and it was gorgeous.
Although the Grano de Oro is absolutly lovely it is a very limited location. No place to eat or walk around the hotel. Their restaurant is great for breakfast but a little stuffy and not so exciting for dinner. Room service was great. I had e-mailed before our arrival to see if I could schedule some activities that were listed on their web page. They said that I could do it when I arrived. We missed out on some activities that were filled. I wish they had told us to vist=it web sites and schedule our own activities as will as tellin us abbout the grey line transportation. The county is beautiful but San Jose is NOT so lovely.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great refuge in San Jose

Posted Apr 14, 2014
we just spent two nights there with our kids (ages 10 and 8), one night on each end of a week-long trip to Costa Rice. It was the perfect place to stay in San Jose - very comfortable, clean, great service, great food, relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great city centre hotel with parking

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Lovely hotel. Great hot tubs. Delicious food. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasantly suprised

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Nice room, comfortable bed.
Cons: Leave the coffee in the lobby past 7am.
Great hotel in the middle of San Jose. Skip all the review that say its too far from everything. You can walk everywhere from the hotel. There a huge park near by for running!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from North Carolina

The best hotel of our trip

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Best service of all places we stayed in CR
Cons: I cannot think of a single thing except that the shower door didn't close properly and the floor got wet (room #2)
Although we only had one night in San Jose, this small hotel was the perfect end to our Costa Rica vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is amazing and the room was very comfortable and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

worth the night in san jose

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: beautiful and great service
Cons: nothing
Location: walk tot he center
everything from the service to the rooms was excellent