Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moon lake ms usa

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel is old but comfortable. Lots of plants makes you feel like being in the rain forrest. Breakfast not for American . Good could be better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New owners and management

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Patio was nice. People working in the hotel are wonderfully nice (i.e. the staff)
Cons: Everything. Rooms need towels (only 1 for each of us as decoration on the bed).Cushions on patio chairs for guests, liners in trash cans.Room service
Location: Downtown. Busy neighborhood...on quiet sidestreet.
Unfortunately, this hotel apparently is under new ownership and management since reviewed by prior guests. NOW, there is NO fax, NO French restaurant, NO continental breakfast (instead,a Costa Rican Breakfast of eggs, pinto gallo, (old) fruit, and (toast your own) bread is included. We stayed here one week ago.We are residents of Costa Rica;we were purchasing a car at a local dealership. I telephoned the day prior arriving to ensure that we would have the same/similar room as our first stay, since it had a refrigerator, outdoor patio, and was close to the restaurant. We had planned on having a LOVELY stay, prior to our vehicle purchase the following morning. The front desk person told me that he would make a note of my request. When we arrived, not only was the room not the same (and had, in fact, been occupied when I telephoned), but my husband was taken to a room ACROSS THE PARKING LOT, BEHIND GATES, that was smaller, had no refrigerator, and was waaay in back of the hotel. After LOTS of discussion with the "manager", suddenly, a similiar room to the one in which we had previously stayed was available. We later determined this was a room for individuals with disabilities. We checked in, after having driven 5 hours from our home in CR, and went down to dinner later that evening. Manuel, our waiter, was FABULOUS. The food, on the other hand, was VERY disappointing. White bread-not french bread-was served. Cheapest coffee in CR;no liquers, expresso, nothing...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great place to stay in San Jose

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The place is very nice, the staff is extremely helpful, and they spoke English very well which was great for us! They always helped us find places to go to eat or visit that were in our budget and they made sure we were always comfortable. It was just my friend and I traveling, we didn't know much about the city and we didn't really speak Spanish, so it was a great that they really took the time to make sure we were safe and enjoying our stay in San Jose. They also had a wonderful complimentary breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from Fairfax County, VA

Quiet, comfortable B & B.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Nice shower, comfortable room.
Location: The location is close to one of the main roads into the center of town, within walking distance.
We stayed three nights and were treated like honored guests. We felt very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Philadelphia

Oasis in downtown San Jose

Posted Apr 1, 2014
My husband and I and our two adult children chose this hotel for the first night of our Costa Rica vacation. The hotel arranged to have our son picked up from the airport, a great convenience sine he was arriving hours ahead of the rest of us. The gardens no carefully planted and tended around the periphery of the hotel provide a very nice tropical feeling and beauty and privacy amid the crowded and not so pretty streets of the capital. The rooms were spacious, and each had a nice private patio. Breakfast outdoors on the restaurant patio was lovely.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by No name from Dallas, Texas

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
All fixtures in the bathroom are old and mismachted, therefore, not working properly. Tissues are no longer provided and the bedding is no longer pressed. The hotel is very much understaffed which creates a lack of service. The new reception/breakfast room employees lack experience and need to learn how to be professional. Thank God for the three or four employees from the previous administration, otherwise my stay would had been very difficult. The location is the best for me due to special circumstancesl!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ela from Sudbury

Wonderful place!

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly and cozy. Clean with good restaurant on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in San Jose

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed this hotel greatly as my base hotel while I worked in San Jose for a week. The staff was friendly and helpful, the restaurant had good food, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It is not a luxury hotel but just a well priced, clean, friendly, and helpful hotel with a decent location. I was able to walk downtown to see sights and was always welcomed back with friendly smiles. Definitely would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bp from usa

Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Ok for a price.Very friendly staff. A lot of noise is room from the street side.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Linda from Denver, Colorado

Confirmed Reservations that did NOT Work!!

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had made reservations far in advance of our trip to Costa Rica and our room was 100% paid for. After a taxi ride from the airport and arriving at 9:30 PM we were advised there was no room for us. We were told by reception desk issues with a room although we heard that the hotel was overbooked. They did find a room for us at another hotel that Hotel Le Bergerac said was comparable and hired a driver to take us there. This driver questioned us why we were staying at this second hotel because it was not nearly as nice at Le Bergerac. An issue that deeply disturbed us - we felt the rate at the new hotel for the room we stayed in was much less than what was paid for at Le Bergerac and now we are left to deal with this issue.