Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MHfrom Washington

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was very comfortable and the room was very clean but we feel for the price the Hotel should offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport for guests. It is not far so why charge guests. Also, it difficult for travelers on a budget and also new to the area to be asked to find their way to another location to be picked up by a tour company. Hotel Martino has a large and safe entry for vehicles and for marketing purposes it would benefit the hotel to have tour companies pick up guests their. We ended up taking a bus to our pickup location instead of a cab because of the cost. We paid 2.00 instead of 40.00 roundtrip. The tour company dropped us off near the Hotel which was so nice and we will always appreciate that. The restrauant is nice but expensive. We ended up having lunch and dinner at the sodas down the road. We asked for a wake up call that did not happen. Thankfully we woke up and got to the airport in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lilyfrom Chicago

Super good hotel and resort

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I totally enjoyed the stay at this hotel. When we entered the hotel, it was an eye opening "Wow". The hotel ground is beautiful and the room is big and super nice with high ceilings and all hard wood high quality furniture. We have a room and balcony toward a nice pool where we enjoyed swimming and "tubing". The zoo is just across the street and we had a wonderful visit there. It was my daughter and I first night at Costa rica. We arrived the airport at 12 noon. The location of the hotel made it possible for us to visit the zoo the same day we arrived. It is very easy to get on the highway to la fortina the next morning. The hotel staff are super nice and helpful and tell us all we need to know for our visit to this beautiful country. It is super nice. We miss it and will be sure to stay there again if possible. the surrounding are typical local and the people are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamesfrom Los Angeles

Great Hotel if you are in San Jose

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Breakfast included Wifi Pool Hotel Staff
Cons: Variety of food beside italian food
Location: Bird Zoo is across the street but did not go. Hotel has day trips available to schedule: Arenal Volacno with Tabacon was a great trip. & Combo Tour
The Hotel Martino was our a good place to stay for us while visiting Costa Rica. If you are thinking of visiting Costa Rica, know that the typical beach feel is not in San Jose but on the coasts. This Hotel was nice, the rooms that are renovated are great but the non renovated rooms are not the most comfortable. The pool was a big positive, very relaxing. If this place was full or even at half capacity, it would be a fun place to be. It was not while we were there during March. The resort is under many repairs and the grounds were in need of work. The hotel is only 15 minutes from the San Jose Int airport but prepare to spend $20+ for taxi one way. The food options were limited, the Hotel food was good but not amazing. If you wanted a 1 to 2 night stay this is great. We were there for 5 days and were itching to get out by day 2. This is a good option for going on day trips in San Jose or other adventure actives. The staff are great. We had issues with getting the right room even when we booked 6 months in advance. If you book here, send an email to confirm the week you travel.
5 out of 5
by Patriciafrom Canada

Perfect location from the airport !

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The front desk clerk, Dider, made our stay amazing and unforgettable! Helped us first time Costa Rica travellers pick the right spots and told us how to get around! Meant so much to us having him to talk to when we first landed in Costa Rica. Martino Hotel was overall an amazing stay. Beautiful pool area kept very tidy and clean! Made us feel at home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Lori Kaminsfrom Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada

Very Nice

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great place to stay with everything to offer. We only stayed 1 night and left early in the morning so we didn't have a chance to enjoy all the amenities they offer. The supper was very good - a little expensive though. But it was worth it. Great for families and couples of all ages. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Enjoyed atmosphere, staff and facilities. Very nice facility
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hollyfrom Louisiana

Hidden gem.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and friendly staff.
Cons: Some of the property at the back of the hotel appeared it was not really being used and could have been better kept up.
Location: We only stayed one night passting through. We didn't explore the area nearby.
Really nice place with beautiful pool, nice restaruant overlooking the property. Plenty of spa servies, which we did not have time to partake in since we only stayed one night. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank Mfrom Florida

All good except WiFi in room mostly don't work

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com