Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: easy to come and go
Cons: breakfast meals needs more items or food
I enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Everyone is very friendly and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E, Gilbert, AZ

Close to soccer new stadium

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We just chose this hotel by chance. Great staff. Nice breakfast. Location off the hustle and bustle of downtown SJ. They also will set up free transport to/from airport for guests. Very good staff. Would stay again. If you plan to take San Luis zip line tour and start in SJ, this is easy 1.5 hr drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by C Ruiz GM , Hotel Management
Dear Mr Gilbert We área happy about your coments and we hope to see your son at Palma Real Hotel & Casino Best regards Carlos Ruiz GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great stay

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Cons: Maybe some updating, but for nothing other than vanity.
Stayed for one night before heading to a beach town. Websites may show this hotel does airport pick ups, but I had requested one a few times, and emailed for confirmation with no answer, so I had to take a cab. Not a huge deal - but be warned they don't do airport pick ups. I had also booked a shuttle to get me to Montezuma, and that fell through the next day with no warning, so the gentleman who handles tours and bookings helped book me a private shuttle that would take me straight there and leave immediately. He was very helpful and thorough with everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Dirty

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Cons: Room cleanliness, breakfast
If you value cleanliness then this hotel is to be avoided. The condition of the floor, linens, towels, walls, and shower all convey  the same message: management stopped caring about the overall cleanliness of the place.  We had the breakfast buffet once and did not return: in addition to awful presentation, the food was really bad.  This is Costa Rica so getting a good cup of coffee shouldn't be too difficult yet they managed to provide undrinkable coffee.  We ended up going to the nearby corner store to buy breakfast.  Twelve years ago this was a good hotel.  In fact, our business guests used to stay here.  Since then, it appears that it's been a steep decline.  We had a second non-refundable reservation that we cancelled as staying here again will not help create the memories one wants to have of Costa Rica.  One can't understand this place having a 4-star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Central hotel to town.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The staff and the breakfast .
Cons: Nothing
Location: .Park over the road , taxis out front, 1 to 2 kms to shops
Great place , would use again. Used the gym,great food at breakfast time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexanderfrom Montreal

Nice and close to downtown

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome service and very confortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by C Ruiz, Hotel Management
Thanks for your coment Mr Alexander When is your next visit to San Jose Costa Rica. We hope to serve you again Best regards Carlos Ruiz Director
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Vacation

Posted Dec 2, 2014
They were very stingy with the towels. Some staff were nice and others didn't care to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John Markfrom San Francisco, CA

Glad I stayed

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room and facilities were very good. Was a bit loud at night b/c of people hanging out on the street (but I hear that's the same wherever you are and is probably much worse in some other places). Was great to have a gym, though at least two pieces of equipment were broken. Wifi was surprisingly fast. One of the concierges couldn't really speak English, but everyone else was fine with it. Stay near what you want to see since the traffic is pretty terrible in the city. Overall pleased I chose this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

Mediocre Room and Not Very Close to Airport

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Staff were pretty friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Clean rooms more carefully. We found long black hairs on the bed (not ours).
Location: Not really near anything that we could see. Not even that close to the airport.
This place was a bit run down and we thought the room was not very clean. Be careful to book your "free" airport shuttle well in advance, a day or two if you can, or else they may tell you it is not available or that it will cost you $30. We only got in the night before our flight and eventually they got us our "free" shuttle, but they seemed a bit dodgy about it at first. When we got upset they did come through with the ride. Shuttle goes other places too so be sure to budget 30-60 minutes to the airport, depending on traffic.