Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location, the management, prices, value, food.
Excellent management by Mr. Carlos Ruiz! The front desk staff was most helpful and courteous as was the concierge: they recommended excellent places to dine and visit as well as great drivers who where most kind in giving recommendations and making themselves available to take you and pick you up from business meetings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Very nice and at a great price!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The rooms were lovely and comfortable. Price included a tasty buffet breakfast. We got a great deal though Expedia that saved us about $100 per night! So at those prices it was a great deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose costa rica

Nice hotel near to the city

Posted Mar 30, 2015
No parking area so you have put your car on the street. For me it looks not safety
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: easy to come and go
Cons: breakfast meals needs more items or food
I enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Everyone is very friendly and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E, Gilbert, AZ

Close to soccer new stadium

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We just chose this hotel by chance. Great staff. Nice breakfast. Location off the hustle and bustle of downtown SJ. They also will set up free transport to/from airport for guests. Very good staff. Would stay again. If you plan to take San Luis zip line tour and start in SJ, this is easy 1.5 hr drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by C Ruiz GM , Hotel Management
Dear Mr Gilbert We área happy about your coments and we hope to see your son at Palma Real Hotel & Casino Best regards Carlos Ruiz GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great stay

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Cons: Maybe some updating, but for nothing other than vanity.
Stayed for one night before heading to a beach town. Websites may show this hotel does airport pick ups, but I had requested one a few times, and emailed for confirmation with no answer, so I had to take a cab. Not a huge deal - but be warned they don't do airport pick ups. I had also booked a shuttle to get me to Montezuma, and that fell through the next day with no warning, so the gentleman who handles tours and bookings helped book me a private shuttle that would take me straight there and leave immediately. He was very helpful and thorough with everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Dirty

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Cons: Room cleanliness, breakfast
If you value cleanliness then this hotel is to be avoided. The condition of the floor, linens, towels, walls, and shower all convey  the same message: management stopped caring about the overall cleanliness of the place.  We had the breakfast buffet once and did not return: in addition to awful presentation, the food was really bad.  This is Costa Rica so getting a good cup of coffee shouldn't be too difficult yet they managed to provide undrinkable coffee.  We ended up going to the nearby corner store to buy breakfast.  Twelve years ago this was a good hotel.  In fact, our business guests used to stay here.  Since then, it appears that it's been a steep decline.  We had a second non-refundable reservation that we cancelled as staying here again will not help create the memories one wants to have of Costa Rica.  One can't understand this place having a 4-star rating.