Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: easy to come and go
Cons: breakfast meals needs more items or food
I enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Everyone is very friendly and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E, Gilbert, AZ

Close to soccer new stadium

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We just chose this hotel by chance. Great staff. Nice breakfast. Location off the hustle and bustle of downtown SJ. They also will set up free transport to/from airport for guests. Very good staff. Would stay again. If you plan to take San Luis zip line tour and start in SJ, this is easy 1.5 hr drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great stay

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Cons: Maybe some updating, but for nothing other than vanity.
Stayed for one night before heading to a beach town. Websites may show this hotel does airport pick ups, but I had requested one a few times, and emailed for confirmation with no answer, so I had to take a cab. Not a huge deal - but be warned they don't do airport pick ups. I had also booked a shuttle to get me to Montezuma, and that fell through the next day with no warning, so the gentleman who handles tours and bookings helped book me a private shuttle that would take me straight there and leave immediately. He was very helpful and thorough with everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Dirty

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Cons: Room cleanliness, breakfast
If you value cleanliness then this hotel is to be avoided. The condition of the floor, linens, towels, walls, and shower all convey  the same message: management stopped caring about the overall cleanliness of the place.  We had the breakfast buffet once and did not return: in addition to awful presentation, the food was really bad.  This is Costa Rica so getting a good cup of coffee shouldn't be too difficult yet they managed to provide undrinkable coffee.  We ended up going to the nearby corner store to buy breakfast.  Twelve years ago this was a good hotel.  In fact, our business guests used to stay here.  Since then, it appears that it's been a steep decline.  We had a second non-refundable reservation that we cancelled as staying here again will not help create the memories one wants to have of Costa Rica.  One can't understand this place having a 4-star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Central hotel to town.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The staff and the breakfast .
Cons: Nothing
Location: .Park over the road , taxis out front, 1 to 2 kms to shops
Great place , would use again. Used the gym,great food at breakfast time
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Vacation

Posted Dec 2, 2014
They were very stingy with the towels. Some staff were nice and others didn't care to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

Mediocre Room and Not Very Close to Airport

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Staff were pretty friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Clean rooms more carefully. We found long black hairs on the bed (not ours).
Location: Not really near anything that we could see. Not even that close to the airport.
This place was a bit run down and we thought the room was not very clean. Be careful to book your "free" airport shuttle well in advance, a day or two if you can, or else they may tell you it is not available or that it will cost you $30. We only got in the night before our flight and eventually they got us our "free" shuttle, but they seemed a bit dodgy about it at first. When we got upset they did come through with the ride. Shuttle goes other places too so be sure to budget 30-60 minutes to the airport, depending on traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jax Beach, Florida

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel bellman and concierge is 'Javier' who is bi-lingual and will go out of his way to help you with a request - recommended !
Location: Close to restaurants and walking distance to park; bank; and other shops.
Palma Real is a very nice hotel in a convenient location. Their staff is very helpful and most are bi-lingual. Great breakfast buffet and afternoon happy hour! They have a casino next door if you want to gamble a little. Excellent value for what I spent - recommended !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mariafrom San Salvador, El Salvador

Decepcionada

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lastimosamente mal, aire no funcionaba, olor a cigarro, las habitaciones las limpian bien tarde, desayunos resecos y lo mismo todos los días...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2015 by C Ruiz, Hotel Management
Estimada María Muchas gracias por su comentario Le comento que hemos arreglado todos los aire del hotel y ya hemos repasado el procedimiento del servicio del desayuno con el Chef y el Maitre D para el desayuno Nos encantaría nos visite para que vea los cambios Gracias Carlos Ruiz GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was okay but def not the best..

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Well not much to say about this hotel.. it was noisy during the day with construction and Casino noise.. it was also very boring nothing to do and my room was really small.. no belconys but I guess u get what u pay for... I would reccomend Casa Condee or Aportatala la sabana they are awsome hotels in San Jose ..