Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 31 year old male

Clean, spacious, and Well worth the Price

Posted Dec 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and very spacious, with modern fixtures and finishes. The room was much larger than I expected with a queen size bed, desk, fridge, & microwave. The drawbacks were few. The wifi didnt work very well so no instagram and twitter however the front desk gave me an Ethernet cable to connect my laptop and with that I was in business. During the day the guy at the front desk spoke English but at night there was a bit of a language barrier, but the guy was still helpful and did his best to help me. The hotel was about 4-5 blocks away from the nearest restaurants which isnt very far unless your hungry at about 10pm in a foreign country by yourself with no cell phone service. There were about 3 or 4 places that offered delivery though. Within walking distance i found a Dennys, Subway, and a Shrimp place (the food was good and very reasonable). The problem that i ran into was not so much with the hotel but with staying in San Jose, there wasnt much for me to do in the city... i wanted to swim and zip line, ride horses etc. I should have stayed closer to those activities because it took about an hour and a half to get to the places that i wanted to go by taxi. The hotel had a taxi/shuttle driver; George. He took me out around town and waited while i'd eat or go take pictures around town for a reasonable price. All in all the hotel was great for me, just a bit farther than i would have liked it to be from the attractions of Costa Rica
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff at Hotel Plaza Real

Posted Mar 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Plaza Real for 2 nights of our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel staff was more than accommodating and helpful. We were trying to plan a trip to Tortuguero (remote island in Costa Rica) and they went above and beyond, helping us make calls to other hotels and assisting us in researching on the internet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast could have been a little more plentiful but we had busy days planned so there wasn't a lot of time to sit around and enjoy a big breakfast anyway. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - excellent value

Posted Feb 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spacious, well appointed rooms, huge bathroom, and kitchenette– very comfortable! Also offered excellent service – all staff were friendly, and couldn’t be more helpful. Breakfast room is on the top floor (4th), and offers coffee, juice, a small plate of papaya and pineapple, toast, and cold cereal. For a very small price, you can order hot items such as eggs ($1.50), with sausage for a $3, or pancakes for $2.50. There’s also a terrace outside the breakfast room to catch some sun and view the mountains. The hotel is very secure, and a short walk takes you to a few restaurants, small grocery store, pharmacy, gift shops, and casino, but along the highway - no quiet places to walk to. It's a short drive to airport, central San Jose, or onto the interamericana highway if you’re exploring the country. The only cons are the noise level from the highway, (so if you’re sound sensitive, request a room facing the back), and that a taxi is required always - walking is limited to the small, busy area with a few shops along the highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great stay, very comfortable room

Posted Jan 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
This reservation included a suite with full kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a sitting area with a comfortable pull out sofa bed. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. A free continental-like breakfast was provided but we had the options of buying cooked eggs for a small fee. The suite was clean and the hotel was secure. We had a fabulous stay and would recommend the hotel to others, especially larger groups.
4 out of 5
by Jill from Sonoma County

Nice but not convenient to airport

Posted Jan 14, 2012
Pros: Clean, nice staff. Nicely appointed, nice quiet air conditioner.
Cons: Coffee maker in room but no coffee, tea or cups. Loud refrigerator.
Location: Not convenient to airport, no restaurants near by.
Nice enough hotel but not in the best location for a quick overnight near the hotel, which was what I was looking for. Also not near any restaurants, more in an industrial type area so not terribly convenient. May be great for a business traveler but did not work well for our purposes. $30 cab ride from car rental drop off and $25 ride to airport only 7 miles away. Took 40+ minutes to there in rush hour traffic. Staff was very nice and hotel is clean and nice. Arranged for food delivery for us and cabs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crescent City, florida

What a dissapointment

Posted Dec 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
I booked an apartment and received a room with two beds. Hard as a rock. I will never stay in this hotel again. I just wish I would have camped outside I would have been more comfortable. What a big disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Australia

Real plaza - close to Pava airport and great rooms

Posted Mar 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stopped over for a night as this place is close to the domestic airport for Nature Air flights. It was close enough to town to taxi in for the couple of hours needed to see San Jose. Back at the hotel there are plenty of restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk. The rooms are brand new, spacious and excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nicaragua

Great hotel and staff, inconvenient location unless on business

Posted Feb 8, 2011
Some of the best hotel staff ever: freindly, helpful, remembered your face, wanted to be sure all was ok. Hotel very clean. Uncomfortable bed, actually the king bed was simply 2 twins pushed together without even an overpad so you felt the seams. Really nice shower with plenty of hot water. Room location was a disappointment as we were on the first floor and our views out any window was of a wall. Breakfast carried a charge for more than fruit and toast but we weren't told that but when the cook asked if we wanted eggs she didn't say they were extra. Location was very safe but not good for travelers wanting to see a bit of the country, too far away. Living room of suite had uncomfortable sofa and no TV. Kitchen had coffeemaker but no coffee. I would still recommend it because of the staff.