Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by meme from texas

Great hotel in the mountains over looking the city

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, nature, and the beautiful wood furnishings and interiors.
First time at this hotel and was a great surprise. There are two swimming pools and one is clothing optional. We had a great room in front of the pool, the room also had a full kitchen,living area, comfortable bed, and the property is located in a quiet area with plenty of nature. Also the nightly concert performed by the frogs in the pools by the main building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Questionable near San Jose

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
This hotel was so creepy we had to leave and find another hotel. Staff couldn't get our "room" unlocked after our efforts. Had a hard time getting anyone to let us in through the gate at dark. Expected an Adam's family member to appear. I was actually shocked that this hotel was offered through Expedia. Charge was non-refundable. Now I know why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, helpful; very positive experience

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Very nice hotel, wonderful location: flowers, pool, jacuzzi- not in town, about 20 mn from Heredia. Very nice staff (especially Angela :), good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by dave from england

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
date feb 2013 sun night - friu morning. if you want a get away from it all for a couple of days this could be it. very quiet location and peaceful but be aware it is remote and you will nee transport otherwise. nice friendly staff. dinner is available and is edible but not adventurous. we did a 20 minute walkdown the dirt road to the el tigre restaurant one night - pleasant surroundings, better food but a lot more expensive. we stayed for five nights inc arrival late sunday and despite its well worn chalet rooms it was clean and quiet but i had hired a car for the days. beware state of roads (except a few toll roads) - typical average speeds i estimate at 15-20mph over a distance of say 60 miles to fortuna town thats 4 hrs !!!!!!!!!!! each way. back to hotel i had no complaints but it is not european standard even b&b but very nice grounds. hotel arrange taxi airport to hotel late sun night fo $25 dollars paid to driver. we are couple late fifties and easy going. we also stayed at the hotel europa after and then hotel luisiana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pablo from San Jose, Costa Rica

Great hotel for couples

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Great for couples, privacy and no restrictions. Really clean, nice staff. Good location with amazing views of Central Valley
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan and Lois from Northern Canada

a quiet romantic getaway

Posted Jan 19, 2013
Pros: the open space and privacy
Cons: cool shower. some housekeeping issues.
Location: great view but hard to get to. they do provide shuttle if requested.
Great view of San Jose. Lots of open space and gardens/flowers. A little off the beaten path and you need good directions and a gps to get there on your own but we did it with little problems and it was dark. A taxi might be better. Good food, included breakfast and basic kitchenettes available. Great for relaxed clothing optional vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Not as in the pictures

Posted Oct 18, 2012
I saw the pictures online and some of others reviews, and I was specting something totally diferent, the thing is the room the gave us was totally diferent from pictures they put on expedia. The bed had roller, not a good thing for an hotel that advertise themselves as an adult only hotel. Overall I think I would have gave them a better rating if they were honest on the pictures of that specific room, cuz I thing they just they pics of the expensive and nice rooms on all of the other lower price rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mr. Gale

Perfect Secluded Getaway

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
I loved my time away for a personal getaway at La Catalina; so quiet and peaceful. I was able to take a look into many of the rooms, and they were all meticulously kept and quaint. There aren't too many rooms that enjoy a view of the Central Valley, but I got to enjoy two of them - room 105 was the best! They treated me wonderfully! The only down side of my stay was that the music in the common/shared area was always blasting away. Yes, they did turn it down when I asked, and I thanked them for that; but in my opinion, I shouldn't have to ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tee from Canada

Enjoyable Experience and I Would Go Back

Posted Aug 24, 2012
Pros: The Charming Ambiance and Kind Staff
Cons: Had a great time and nothing negative to say
Location: Not far outside the capital city in a secluded private safe location
This is a really nice boutique hotel - it's like old world charm with a mix of latin culture! It's located on the side of the valley looking into the city of San Jose, peaceful and yet close enough to enjoy the culture and sights of the metropolis. Onsite there's a beautifully ornate restaurant set in what I found out was once the mansion of a private estate, with a wide selection of food and drink and an intimate ambiance setting within a library. Amenities were good including two pools, tennis court, fitness centre ... but what I enjoyed most were the diverse range of flowers that literally enveloped the property and its walks. The staff were kind and helpful, and made me feel welcome as at a private inn. It's a good place to stay that's close to San Jose and it's airport, and as well centrally located to some great Costa Rica tours including the volcanoes.