Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great 2 nights stay for our honeymoon!

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great service, safe location, fair price, and clean rooms. This was a great place to stay at the start of our honeymoon. It has a lot of charm and is a great break from the chain hotels here in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

friendly service

Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the friendly and helpful service from the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mom with teenagers from Canada

Convenient lacation- charming home - but

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a beautiful home that was converted to the hotel. The common areas are very nice. We stayed in two different rooms #4 the family suite and #5 a triple room. We found that they had inadequate air circulation- the windows were two small to ventilate the rooms and accordingly they were a bit musty. I think they would benefit but adding air conditioning to the rooms- not for the temperature but to circulate the air a bit. The staff was great- the building is charming the common areas are very nice- but the mustiness would prevent me from staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The little hotel with great restaurant and locatio

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Old mansion with modern retro fit. nicely decorated and only 5 rooms
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centre of San jose easy to find
Great French restaurant and helpful staff. 10 minutes from central and museums and mucho shopping street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jeff G. from Houston

Great staff!

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was great. My only complaint was a lack of A/C. My guess is that this is normally not an issue, but we were there during a heat wave so... The hotel is conveniently located, comfortable,and clean, but it's hard to find if you're not familiar with the area or in a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erin from Los Angeles, CA

Nice San Jose Hotel for Couples

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, location, friendliness of staff
Cons: Bf thought bed was too firm
Location: Great!
MDPB was a fabulous hotel in a decent part of San Jose. Compared to staying about 7 blocks away the week previous, when walking around at night we never felt like it was unsafe or seedy. There are a couple good restaurants in the area as well. We didn't have dinner because we had not made a reservation ahead of time, but our breakfast in the morning was good and it was a very pleasant experience to eat on the terrace. At night it did not get too loud and we were in the first room right on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A good one night stopover hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here by default for one night. A great find. A real boutique style hotel. Only a few rooms upstairs above a French restaurant. The room was spacious enough, good mattress, clean quiet and had a modernized bathroom. Delicious breakfast. Would stay here again for a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt

Great location and hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
My friend and I decided to stay at this hotel after seeing stellar reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed at Room #4 and it was huge and spacious. There was a large bed and two daybeds that could easily fit a family of 4. The bathroom was huge as well, especially the shower. Many positives.....if I had to be picky and talk about a couple less than stellar instances....it would be that it was not intuitive how the shower worked (i.e. cold/hot water). Everyone was friendly and gave stellar service. You can also email in advance and call them to have a taxi service pick you up from the airport to their location which I recommend. Solid 4.5 out of 5 stars for the type of hotel it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sam

Lovely, friendly hotel in nice neighbourhood

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff could not have done more to help make our trip to Costa Rica special - they gave us lots of tips on local places and throughout the country. Very good, continental breakfast - we're just sorry we didn't get to have an evening meal in the French restaurant at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by erika

small but lovely

Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Love love love this place. Quiet and elegant, close to everywhere. Thanks so much for two great stays.