Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: View from the room, and view from the dining room through the meadows and down the mountainside to the valley below. And the best food of our trip.
Location: The location is high on the Poas Volcano, just below the caldera. That's the main attraction, easy walk in to the caldera from the park headquarters.
Wonderful place high up on the Poas Volcano. Makes it easy to access the caldera in the morning before the clouds come in and obscure the view. The staff were very friendly and helpful, Food was the best we had during our stay in Costa Rica, all resourced from the local community of Poasito. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Poas and Amazing Views

Posted May 5, 2014
Had a great experience. The lodge looks small from the outside but looks are deceiving. The staff was great and catered to our needs. Nice fireplace as well to sit by at night and have a glass of wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views; great stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Poas Lodge for one night last week. As all other reviews have mentioned, the owners are great hosts and very friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned about finding the place, but the drive from SJO was very easy - very few turns and essentially just follow the many signs to Poas Volcano Park. I had one of the burgers for dinner and it was delicious - followed by a hot chocolate sitting by the fireplace. Can't beat the location for visiting the crater in the morning; got there well ahead of the tour buses and crowds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: very comfortable and relaxing
The staff were very nice and welcomed us into their "home" they were very helpful with all the questions we had and did so much to assist us!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Location: Super close to Poas Volcano Park and La Paz Waterfall Garden
Loved the Lodge! The view is great, the food is great, the owners are great, comfortable cozy bed, close to Poas Volcano Park so you can get there in time to see the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DaGafrom Indiana

Rustic comfort and warm hospitality

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: The hospitality and beautiful views
Cons: a little updating, which, I believe, is in the works
Location: It was a short drive to Poas Volcano. La Paz Waterfall and Nature Preserve were also in the area.
After a very long day of travel and unexpected drama, a very late flight, a very long wait for a rental car, and a very tricky late night/early morning drive through very dark and unfamiliar roads, we were met by a very sleepy, but very courteous and welcoming gentleman who made sure all was well for a much-needed good night's sleep. Our room was simple but clean. A cozy bed and an amazing view started our Costa Rican adventure off on the right foot. The owners were on site and provided us with a yummy breakfast, friendly conversation, and invaluable information regarding things to see, travel tips, local customs, and other useful tidbits. We greatly appreciated the warm hospitality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel for doing stuff in that area and getting out of San Jose. Just needs a bit more attention to detail in the rooms but the restaurant and lobby were inviting and good food and great view. Rooms were clean in general but need a bit more effort for the "corners" and bathroom (was a bit damp).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best kept secret near Poas volcano.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: the stunning views and location.
Cons: bathrooms floors were cold and could use a rug. in addition, the tile on the shower floor was slippery, so they should use a bathmat.
Location: this Lodge is 4 km south of the volcano and close proximity to many area attractions like, La Paz waterfall Gardens. Coffee farms are also close by.
This lodge is a real find! It is run by two brothers Jimmie and Stephan from Texas who have put a lot of thought into serving their guests. It is a small place but extremely scenic and cozy. It has a strategic location if you are visiting Poas volcano. This lodge makes a perfect base station for day tripping throughout the Central Valley region. You also get a hot breakfast included and all the meals are homemade with Stephan at the helm preparing these Texas comfort foods. which I might add are delicious. Our room number 3 was the most scenic. It comes with a little sitting area with a view that is breathtaking. Being mindful if you plan to stay to bring extra layers of clothing for is known to get rather chilly in the evenings. We would personally like to thank the Griffin brothers from Texas for their southern hospitality and charm. Don't forget to cozy up next to the fireplace and order yourself a hot chai tea. We definitely didn't know what to expect, but it exceeded our expectations. The views were spectacular and the company was superb. We definitely would return again. Thanks Jimmie and Stephan for a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roland and Barbarafrom Oregon

beautiful view!

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time here, dont expect any luxury but it is a very charming place. enjoyed a glass of wine at the fire place. Got bday cake with candle and siging on my birthday! Food is good and the 2 owners know what hospitality is!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lukefrom Jackson, WY

Peaceful!

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The driver had a hard time finding the place since it was almost an hour north of San Jose and in bad weather, but once here it was great. The bed was comfortable, and the bedding great. Once the fog clears you have a fantastic view of San Jose and the entire valley, and you're only a few miles from the Poas Volcano. Check in was a breeze, actually just walked in and the owners took us and the bags directly to the room, no paperwork or even sign my name, best feeling ever after a long day of travel!