Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BDN

Hotel en la niebla

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Excelente infraestructura pese a estar envuelto en la niebla. Trato excelente de todo el personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

be careful of the cow path!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: the setting
Cons: signage to get to the lodge once you enter the entrance road
Location: La Paz waterfall park. we visited LaPaz and were truly amazed at the beauty and planning and cleanliness of the park. we highly recommend the buffet
when we drove up the long road to the hotel, there was a split in the road. the signage seemed to indicate a turn to the left, which was unpaved. we almost made the mistake of taking the cow path into deep mud but took the right hand turn and found the lodge. needs to be made clearer. all was fine in the hotel. we ate dinner the 2nd nite and found the waiter to be unattentive and was more intrested in hanging out in the kitchen, tho we were the only guests. he never offered to refill our empty water glasses and we just sat after finshing the meal. he never returned until we got up to walk out. the room was cold but he did not add more wood to the fire. we enjoyed sitting in the lounge areas and playing games. the hotel is decorated beautifully and tastefully, with many books to peruse. it is a beautiful building and is in a beautiful setting near Poas volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Beautiful place at reasonable price.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: it was quiet and beautiful, decorated
Cons: NOTHING
Location: La Paz waterfall garden. poas volcano. very close to san jose airport. good location to start or finish a trip
the lodge is absolutely gorgeous. we stayed in a garden room. lovely. staff spoke english an where very nice. you have to pass a cow farm to get there. our favorite place we stayed the whole trip. would definately go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephaniefrom Maine, USA

Totally Tranquil

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This lodge was such a find. Absolutely amazing! The common areas and rooms were absolutely beautiful. Breakfast each morning is included and was very good. Breakfast started with fresh fruit, house made granola and milk from the cows outside. Next they brought fresh bread, farm butter & homemade preserves. Finally we had choice of eggs or pancakes (which are really crepes.). Dinner was $25/adult and was also delicious. This is a good choice for visiting Poas & La Paz waterfall gardens - as it is directly between the two. Highly recommend and I hope to stay again someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY

Two night of serenity. Nice touches throughout.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Dinner was a bit pricy, but I understand why.
Location: Definitely go see the Waterfall and Peace Gardens. Nice way to spend a day.
If you're looking for high adrenaline, this is not the place. It's calm, well though out. Very intimate setting, off the beaten path. You're essentially in Heredia, about an hour from San Jose. So, if you don't want to stay in San Jose, this is a nice starting point. It's basically a big farm, that you can stay on. The free breakfast was amazing. Homemade milk, butter, fresh strawberries, homemade granola. . . anything you ask for it's yours. There is no tv in your room, but if you can accept that, you're going to love it. Quiet, fireplaces throughout, wonderful staff. Internet works flawlessly. Bathrooms are large, and everything is pretty spotless. You can't really see the volcano because of the clouds/rain, but who cares? There is a nice game room and library. This is just a wonderful place. Check out the nice walking paths on the farm. Nice little adventure. Advice - bring jackets, and rain gear. It will rain a whole lot, and it never really gets very hot. The little restaurants in the neighborhood are wonderful. Pretty much everything there closes by 6:00 local time, so be aware of that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexfrom Poas Volcano

Off the beaten road but a nice place for the price

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a nice place for the price. It however does not have any of your natural amenities, AC, tv, etc. Upon arrival we did some weaving through the roads and finally stumbled upon the place. It has nice people but is very simple and down to earth. tHe view is awesome in between two volcanoes but at this time of year the rain and clouds ruin a lot of the visibility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

A special hotel that you feel like home

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Cozy and warm environment. Feel like home. Great idea to have the communal TV/game rooms for social activities.
Cons: A little wet/misty because of the elevation.
Location: Lots of cows. Not far from the Poas Volcano and coffee plantations.
I had an unforgettable stay in this lodge. There are library, reading room, game room and TV room with nice deco. Our dinner was served in the library by the fireplace, which was very warm and cozy. The room has stone walls and wooden roofs. No TV in the rooms, which we don't really need. The staff was thoughtful as they provided a few ways of reducing the humidity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful location, wonderful staff.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica. What a wonderful location and introduction to the Tico culture. We hiked the property, had a beautiful room and loved the meals. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. Definitely recommend if you are in the Poas area.