Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark De

Pictures are deceiving

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: It was close to Poas Volcano
Cons: most everything
Location: Poas Volcano, Waterfall Gardens, Butterfly Gardens
We arrived hot and tired to a room so damp and humid inside, furniture was damp just sitting made your clothes feel damp. It listed the room as a garden view, well the garden view was a bush in the front window then a drive way and the back window has a cow pasture. They had a small space heater for the room it did nothing to help dry our the humidity, the bed was another story, I think the mattress was from 50 years ago, it was like just putting a few blankets on the floor, no support at all, the chairs were cute little things, my husband at 6"2 was so uncomfortable, nothing to do after dark, food was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matias from Santiago

Un hotel maravilloso en un lugar especial

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
En general todos los servicios hoteleros son del primer nivel, un desayuno muy rico, mucho espacio tanto en la habitación como en la áreas comunes, y una vista que si se tiene suerte se puede disfrutar dese la cama.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alonso from San Jose

Excelente recomendación

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Todo excelente, excepto por el trato de la recepción que no fue muy grato, y las porciones de la cena pequeñas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BDN

Hotel en la niebla

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Excelente infraestructura pese a estar envuelto en la niebla. Trato excelente de todo el personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

be careful of the cow path!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: the setting
Cons: signage to get to the lodge once you enter the entrance road
Location: La Paz waterfall park. we visited LaPaz and were truly amazed at the beauty and planning and cleanliness of the park. we highly recommend the buffet
when we drove up the long road to the hotel, there was a split in the road. the signage seemed to indicate a turn to the left, which was unpaved. we almost made the mistake of taking the cow path into deep mud but took the right hand turn and found the lodge. needs to be made clearer. all was fine in the hotel. we ate dinner the 2nd nite and found the waiter to be unattentive and was more intrested in hanging out in the kitchen, tho we were the only guests. he never offered to refill our empty water glasses and we just sat after finshing the meal. he never returned until we got up to walk out. the room was cold but he did not add more wood to the fire. we enjoyed sitting in the lounge areas and playing games. the hotel is decorated beautifully and tastefully, with many books to peruse. it is a beautiful building and is in a beautiful setting near Poas volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Beautiful place at reasonable price.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: it was quiet and beautiful, decorated
Cons: NOTHING
Location: La Paz waterfall garden. poas volcano. very close to san jose airport. good location to start or finish a trip
the lodge is absolutely gorgeous. we stayed in a garden room. lovely. staff spoke english an where very nice. you have to pass a cow farm to get there. our favorite place we stayed the whole trip. would definately go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Layla

Espectacular ambiente

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
El lugar, la decoración, el gusto con que está diseñado cada espacio es muy familiar y personal. Precioso lugar y super recomendado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephanie from Maine, USA

Totally Tranquil

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
This lodge was such a find. Absolutely amazing! The common areas and rooms were absolutely beautiful. Breakfast each morning is included and was very good. Breakfast started with fresh fruit, house made granola and milk from the cows outside. Next they brought fresh bread, farm butter & homemade preserves. Finally we had choice of eggs or pancakes (which are really crepes.). Dinner was $25/adult and was also delicious. This is a good choice for visiting Poas & La Paz waterfall gardens - as it is directly between the two. Highly recommend and I hope to stay again someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Two night of serenity. Nice touches throughout.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Dinner was a bit pricy, but I understand why.
Location: Definitely go see the Waterfall and Peace Gardens. Nice way to spend a day.
If you're looking for high adrenaline, this is not the place. It's calm, well though out. Very intimate setting, off the beaten path. You're essentially in Heredia, about an hour from San Jose. So, if you don't want to stay in San Jose, this is a nice starting point. It's basically a big farm, that you can stay on. The free breakfast was amazing. Homemade milk, butter, fresh strawberries, homemade granola. . . anything you ask for it's yours. There is no tv in your room, but if you can accept that, you're going to love it. Quiet, fireplaces throughout, wonderful staff. Internet works flawlessly. Bathrooms are large, and everything is pretty spotless. You can't really see the volcano because of the clouds/rain, but who cares? There is a nice game room and library. This is just a wonderful place. Check out the nice walking paths on the farm. Nice little adventure. Advice - bring jackets, and rain gear. It will rain a whole lot, and it never really gets very hot. The little restaurants in the neighborhood are wonderful. Pretty much everything there closes by 6:00 local time, so be aware of that.