Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by britt from Canada

Gorgeous rooms. Wonderful Amenities. Great hotel.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: High ceilings. Comfortable beds. Good Service. Tasty breakfast and room service. Free snacks and drinks.
Location: I wouldn't recommend walking at night, take a cab, it's cheap. Do the Carpe Chepe pub crawl, learn some history and make some friends.
We sadly only got to spend one night here but we spent pretty much the whole time in our room instead of exploring San Jose. We decided to treat ourselves after sleeping in hostels and BnB's and loved it. The staff were welcoming and informative. The room was gorgeous, high ceilings, nice furniture, large bathroom with great water pressure. The beds were so comfortable as well. We ordered room service and that was fantastic, recommend trying the bisque, their was complimentary snacks and drinks that were self serve. The buffet breakfast was really tasty. Wish we could have stayed longer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gus from Denver, CO

Quick stay in San Jose before heading to Pacific

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location, price, safety
Cons: Front desk staff - attentiveness. Pool was too cold. Mattress too hard.
Location: Downtown epicenter, with stores/restaurants, street mall, etc… are about 15 minutes south, on foot. So doable without a car.
Overall, this hotel provided what I needed, which was a safe and easy overnight stay in San Jose after arriving in the country tired and jet-lagged and needing overnight rest before driving to the coast. The room was complete and clear with all the efficiencies. I had a rental car and secure, free, overnight parking is available. Biggest complaints are the following: the hotel is about 1.5 miles north of the epicenter of downtown, which is walkable but about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel was relatively difficult to find even with a map and rental car based on the address listed in Expedia reservation, so don't be afraid to ask a stranger where "downtown Radisson" is, like I had to do. Mattress was super-hard and fairly uncomfortable, but after my long day I could have slept anywhere. Pool was open but felt like 50 degrees, not very refreshing unless you're used to the arctic. Certainly too cold to stay in for more than a minute or 2 (or swim laps). Hotel front desk repeatedly took their time before attending to me. Though they were friendly it was obvious they were in no hurry to help. Three people were "available" behind the desk (counting money, stapling papers, etc..) for about 15 minutes before one of them offered to check me in. I waited in the bar watching TV for about 20 minutes before bartender took my order even though we'd made eye contact upon entry. Otherwise, this hotel is clean/safe and probably worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MauArenal

Great Hotel in San José

Posted Jan 30, 2014
My wife and I travel almost every week to San Jose and stayed in this hotel, at least this is number 5 to 6 ... is always like a new time, only the ¨bellboy¨ recognizes and greets us as a frequent customer. On this last occasion we stayed quite far from the lobby room and a bit noisy. The true because it was quite late and we were tired we did not request change. But it is a good hotel location, breakfast and overall attention and is one of the favorite hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Fredericton New Brunswick

Great hotel in great location

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Cons: room windows should be able to open
Location: close to downtown
Great hotel in a great location, walking distance to downtown. Room and staff were very nice. Very nice bar and restaurant. The only criticism would be that the room windows didn't open so the room was a little musty. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel has casino

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Hotel has expensive food and drinks but very clean and staff is nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: great beds, Well stocked like all Radissons. Great food. Good staff.
Cons: The paint in our room looked old, Tile in bathroom chipped and grout lines sloppy.
Like every hotel We stayed in Costa Rica, there was a lack of Maintenance on facilities. Poor paint in the rooms, poor tiling job in the Bathroom. I would've have thought that Radisson chain would not put up with this workmanship issue. It is the Nicest Hotel we stay in on this trip. Well above average for Costa Rica. The food and staff where excellent. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GaGa

Great value

Posted Jan 19, 2014
The hotel is great. Food; breakfast is outstanding; the lunch and dinner restaurant isn't very good. The pricing is very high. The pool is really nice. The best aspect for me is the fact that Gold's Gym is attached to the hotel and it's complimentary to guests. I would recommend staying on the second or third floor as the first floor feels like your in a basement. The taxi - shuttle availability is nice. There aren't really any stores close by to pick up snacks that I found...except a gas station.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Hazel from Canada

ugg

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very helpful. The Window on our room had been cracked int the last earthquake and was not sound proof by a busy hotel. The room had a musty smell that was absorbed in all our closthing and was embarrsing as we arrived at the airport to return home. a drink at the bar cost 10 millon colon which is worth 20 dollars american and you had to pay separtly for the mix. We did go on a tour to the volcano and National Park that were very good and the driver from the hotel was very helpful. I think there are better properties out there that would make your stay pleasent. the facility has potentional as it could be beautil but need some work.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition your room, including the broken window and the musty smell which stuck to your clothing. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ed from Mexico

Great, if your on that side of town

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, difficult to find and return from airport if you rent a car...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014