Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Embarrassing, Filthy and disgusting.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The name, but that did not live up to standards
Cons: Read above. Customer service and CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!!! The Radisson head office needs to do an unscheduled inspection of this disgusting hotel
Location: There is absolutely nothing near the hotel. Must take taxi to downtown to museums. It is in an industrial area. Prostitutes everywhere day/night
Unfortunately Expedia limits the review to 1500 characters. I have a lot to say about this embarrassment of a hotel. But here is the short list. -Room not available at check in. Had to wait a couple hours -Requested room facing garden to avoid hwy truck noise, was given room closest to the hwy (15 meters away) -Room extremely filthy, bathroom sink and tub had build up of scum and even mold at the drain areas. -Bathroom faucet not mounted to counter, only held on by the plastic piping -Light fixtures hanging on wall crooked or falling off -100% non smoking hotel yet the carpet in the room full of cigarette burns -Stains on furniture and carpet -I was embarrassed when a business colleague was to come to my room for a private meeting, front desk called me to come get him, which I did but just as I am about to open my room door security comes physically grabs him yelling and screaming...then they said only meet in the lobby. We were both very upset and embarrassed. -Front desk staff not sure what they are doing. -Executive room with DVD player as booked. The room had no DVD player and the hotel said they don't have DVD players -Hotel advertises an onsite casino but when I was at the hotel I was told there has not been a casino in the hotel for almost a year -The hotel room needs to be renovated as it is outdated, stuck in the early 90's other than they did have a flat screen TV -WiFi -Does not meet the Radisson Hotel standards I have experienced world wide.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great place to stay for access to downtown

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Great place to stay except for cockroach. Staff were amazing....we were given another room within the hour. Breakfast provided was excellent. All staff were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

downtown San Jose

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: pool, food
Cons: gym should be open to everyone, or they should not advertize it on their site. they should review their policy of employees entering rooms.
Location: downtown San Joose... museums and shopping.
The front of the hotel is very pretty. The bell staff was welcoming. When I got to the counter to check in, the counter staff was well dressed and groomed. They made sure I understood that breakfast was not included in my discount rate... No big deal. Later, I learned that the gymnaseum was also off limits.that was a big deal. to the room.. My room was spotless and the pools were clean and inviting. About 700 am I was awakened by a knock at the door... they were opening my door... they said for laundry... I hadn't put out a laundry tag on the door, and I didn't want to wake up until 800 ... I put the do not dusturb on the door and went back to bed... about 815,as I was getting naked to shower... someone else is opening my door.... I said "Hey" and left left with apologies...Second night I was attacked, in the room, by mosquitoses.... only about four of them, but it took about an hour to kill them..what are you going to do,,,, call the front desk about mosquitoes at 10 pm. The food in the restaurant was good, the buffet breakfast that I paid for was good, but overpriced. Because i was not allowed into the gym, I ran the neighborhood. Going south and west...not so good a neighborhood...going north and east...all right... I guess I just expected more fro the Raddisson brand.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Coronado, Costa Rica

Loudest, most unpleasant hotel stay ever!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Entrance, front desk staff were very efficient and fast.
Cons: New sound insulation needs to be installed. It is unbearable.
I was very shocked at the noise level in this hotel. The truck traffic running past the hotel is unbearable. All night long all you could hear was approaching trucks using their "Jake" breaks to slow down. The hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel any more. The hot water tap in the shower came off in our hand. The soap dish was broken. The towels felt like 100 grit sand paper. The telephone cover was broken. The dining tray was all scratched up. There was a cigarette butt burn on the carpet. We will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and your room, including the ongoing noise, bathroom cleanliness, and the general state of the room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Hotel facility was very good. Hotel does not have a small store for odds and ends. Would be good for staff to be more familiar of options for other dining sites and convenience store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
We stayed two mights and could walk into the centre of town. The pool is cool and refreshing. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location not the best but pleasant staff

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: landscaping and Gym, Breakfast
Cons: not really
Location: Jade museum, close to down town walking or short cab ride
Has Golds Gym that we love outdoor pool and good breakfast rooms clean and comfortable nice staff good place to stay, I will be back there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Neuchatel, Switzerland

Respite in a crazy fun san jose

Posted Feb 21, 2015
This hotel was a great welcome after travelling round the country for days. Location is a bit difficult to venture about without a taxi. Breakfasts were good and the bar staff can knock up a quick lunch for last minute eaters like me. Room service which I used a bit was pretty good as were the concierge team.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Nice facilities but difficult to find.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms, pool and weight-room were beautiful and well maintained. The information desk was very helpful and courteous.
Cons: The staff member (manager) who checked us in was rude and condescending. We were not able to have breakfast because it did not start early enough.
Location: We were able to walk to the center market for dinner and shopping and there appeared to be a lot of museums and attractions within walking distance.
I booked this hotel thinking it was close to the airport but it is actually 25 minutes away in the center of San Jose and very difficult to find. The facility was beautiful but I would not stay there again because of the location. The check in staff was also very rude and impatient and did not have my information even though I had already booked online, I had to go through the process again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't go.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We cancelled this room when we got to Costa Rica, because they said they were 2 km from the airport, when they are actually almost 30 km from the airport. We arrived at 1pm, and had to return to the airport at 1am to meet our daughter. Not reasonable to do the drive. They were very accommodating when I explained why I was cancelling. It was after the required cancellation period, but they said they will give me a full refund. If the refund is on my C/C, you won't hear from me again.