Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views--Hard to find-out of the way

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The views, the rooms-the pool.
Location: It's kind of out of the way from everything and taxi drivers were having a hard time finding it.
The hotel itself is beautiful overlooking the whole city of San Jose--but I was under the impression it was much closer to the airport. It was a 50 dollar taxi ride from the hotel, and a 30 dollar taxi ride each way to go into town to have dinner. The bar also left something to be desired. We paid $65 US dollars for 4 cocktails-kind of crazy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynn

An old-fashioned resort, high on the mountain

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: They offer breakfast only, no alcohol or other meals.
Location: The resort overlooks the central valley and all of San Jose. It's a beautiful sight, day or night. There's nothing much else nearby for tourists.
The resort is well-run and beautiful, with lush gardens and swimming pool. It is far above the city, without restaurants nearby. But the included breakfast was excellent, the staff very friendly. It's a quiet get-away, and a great value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Coco Beach

Amazing view, friendly staff. No restaurant

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Restaurant was closed, so we only got breakfast, food was boring and poor. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful, however, hotel needs maintenance and a restaurant to eat or have drinks. Views are absolutely amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Excelente. Total recomended. Cons. No restaurant and they make you got to a diferent hotel to get the breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Josh from Dallas

Good choice

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is beautiful and the view of San Jose is stunning. Me and my girlfriend had a good time everyone was nice and we felt right at home The bad: The hotel is extremely inconvenient high up on a mountain and the lack of signs make it hard to find. The view is worth if though so that's a wash. I'd suggest to maintain the landscape a bit and making the restaurant available. Overall great stay !!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Naty from Costa Rica

Excellent!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: The temperature of the pool
Location: Excellent restaurants and views
It was a very nice experience. I love the hotel and the staff was very pleasent. The views were awesome
1 out of 5
by Thor from Louisville, KY, USA

Disaster

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Basically ruined our first day in the country
Location: High up the hill through some tiny roads
After a long day of flying and the excitement of your first day of vacation, you can imagine how excited we were to get to our first hotel. After navigating through San Jose and Escazu via rental car (quite an experience), we got to this hotel about 15 minutes before dark. Gates locked. Not a car in sight. A guy at the gate who spoke no english explained they were closed. We didn't know what to do. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Nebraska, USA

Tara Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2012
The view at night is stunning of the city lights below. During the day I liked to read and look up at the mountains. So close you could touch them. Quiet except for the birds .National forest to the rear. Great for the last 2 days of our vacation. Food was great. Service great. Never heard another sound in any other room. If you have been to the lookout mountain in ohau this is the same only you can sleep there and it is warmer. 78 every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by K.

Hard to find, great room once you get there.

Posted Dec 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Need signs along the way, extremely hard to find as costa rica is weak with street signs. Front desk great, waiter not so much, loud soap opera playing on tv at breakfast, perhaps nice music would be a better choice. Hotel nice clean, great views, would not recommend it unless they train staff.