Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Tampa, FL, USA

Intimate, quite hotel for a couple.

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: Unique architecture, comfortable room and the great food and service.
Cons: Remoteness
The only draw back of this wonderful, unique hotel is it's remoteness. It's small, intimate, with an excellent restaurant, unique architechture and great view, but nothing is near by; without a car or cab your "out there."
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Alta Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The greatest experience when you are looking for a hotel to really relax. Great view...since every room has a balcony facing the mountains. It´s our 3rd time staying there...and we are looking forward for many, many more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Aging Beauty

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Alta Hotel is needing a little updating, but was a very quiet and relaxing. The hotel itself is a wonderful architectural delight sitting high on a hill overlooking San Jose. Their La Luz restaurant was a pleasant surprise also. The food and the ambiance were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessey from Ohio, USA

Relaxing and very quiet

Posted Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Very relaxing
Cons: Hard to get wi fi
Location: Great
Great restaurant,friendly staff.The location is great,the rooms have a fantastic view. It could be usefull to rent a car because the hotel is a bit far from shops and restaurants but public transportation is available if need it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely ambience and views

Posted Jan 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful small hotel with great views

Posted Jan 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night in the Alta Hotel with my wife and two kids before driving to the beach at Manuel Antonio. The common spaces of the hotel are beautifully designed with elegant high arched ceilings and winding stairways. Our room was a little small for 4 people but clean, comfortable, and fine for one night. The rooms double glass doors open up to a very nice terrace overlooking Santa Ana (and the hotel pool below). The grounds, including the pool area are very well maintained. Pool was not heated, and was a little cool to swim in. The hotel has a beautiful restaurant where we had continental breakfast. The hotel's owner (an american) was at breakfast and greeted us.. as well as offered us advice on things to see and helpful driving directions. Overall, we enjoyed are brief say there, found it to be a good value for the price, and a nice alternative to some of the bigger hotel chains nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dana from Playa Grande, Costa Rica

Great price! Great location!

Posted Nov 27, 2011
Location: Great value, great service, good location, has restaurant and room service, great for coupes, solo travelers or families with kids.
This had been our 3rd stay at Hotel Alta. We have rental property at the beach and we come to San Jose twice a year for kids check ups and to buy supplies for our rental property. Hotel Alta offers great price for a nice big room and it is very comfortable for our family ( 1 and 3 year old ). I love the bathtub in every room, it makes it perfect for our boys and having a crib ready in our room upon arrival is a big plus too. I would recommend this hotel to anybody, you won't be disappointed. And if you have time you should try their restaurant it is outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Great hotel near Escazu

Posted Nov 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel if you have car and don't want to be in the crazy bustle of San Jose. Have stayed there twice and will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from South Africa & France

Great place out of the city

Posted Nov 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
Even though we've read mixed reviews, we booked hotel Alta as our starting point for our 5 year family reunion - and absolutely loved it! We've been to Costa Rica 12 times before, and knew what to compare it o for the price. This Spanish colonial style hotel is charming, and well situated outside San Jose in Escazu. (better if you have a car if you intend to go into the city a lot, otherwise their shuttle and taxi service is fine). The staff were helpful, friendly, and informative. The restaurant was really good with a warm atmosphere, and excellent silver service. We will highly likely use this hotel as our starting point on our next trip o Costa Rica.