Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Oregon

Trapp Family Inn slipping since last year

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: location to Saan Jose airport
Cons: 24 hour service
Location: the location is an industrial area so nothing to do nearby
Last year Trapp Family Inn provided shuttle service from and to the airport.....no more this year. Last year this hotel provided a nice fruit/coffee/tea/milk 'breakfast' for early flights but this year was half a cup of 'tire store' coffee. Beds and pillows were a bit stiff and lumpy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Amazing find in Alejuela!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The staff, the hotel grounds, the citrus orchard, the pool, the rooms, the food.
Location: 5-10 min from the airport. Perfect for a short overnight in San Jose/Alejuela area.
This hotel was far beyond our expectations! The grounds are beautiful with a citrus orchard, pool, beautiful architecture. Our room had lovely french doors that led to a balcony. The food at the restaurant was delicious. The hotel staff was kind, knowledgeable, helpful. I can say enough about this place. The rooms are basic and clean. I ended up with a few bug bites when I woke up, but hey it's Costa Rica. FYI for future travels, we did get scammed on a taxi ride from the Alamo office, where we dropped our rental car, to the hotel. The hotel staff later informed us this should cost $5. It was our mistake for trusting the taxi driver. Our taxi to the airport the next day was the right price ($5)- lesson learned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa, USA

Wonderful find

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lush gardens, old European feeling
Cons: lovely
Location: 4 mins to airport, that was the reason to stay there; otherwise the neighborhood doesn't have any reason to be in it.
It was a lovely small family hotel, old European charm, and most conveniently only 4 mins from the airport! Beautiful landscaping, it was a real oasis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel for stays in Alajuela

Posted Jan 11, 2015
I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It was clean and spacious. The meals were lovely. We had excellent help booking a hotel for La Fortuna from the front desk staff. It was a bit of a challenge to find but that was part of the fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ste Agathe Canada

Prës de l'aèroport, pas facile à trouver

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Style
Location: Aéroport.......
Courte, 1 nuit, mais agréable, le. Portier nous attendait (23 heures), tout était,tout était prêt !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Hidden Gem near the Airport

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The hotel is a little hard to find. Even our driver missed it. But what a nice surprise behind the gated entrance! The hotel is very beautifully designed and very well maintained. I cannot believe it is only an airport hotel for transitional stay. It is more of a graceful villa. We had very delicious dinner and breakfast. Five stars to the chef and Monica, the front desk assistant. The only complaint is the noise from airplanes taking off, but it did not disturb us too much as it was not very frequent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom olbia

suggestivo hotel immerso in un'oasi di verde

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Cons: L'hotel si trova a pochi chilometri dall'aeroporto però arrivando di sera, abbiamo avuto difficoltà a trovarlo per mancanza di segnaletica.
La nostra esperienza è stata breve perché abbiamo trascorso una sola notte. Possiamo dire che l'atmosfera coloniale che si avvertiva negli ambienti, era suggestiva e piacevolmente rilassante.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom marin county,ca

Lovely place, people, breakfast!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
This is a great place to stay very close to the airport if you are arriving late or leaving early. It had character , authentic CR charm and a lovely pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southern zone CR

beautiful gardens, quiet room.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: setting, vibe, close to airport, restaurant breakfast easy and attentive staff.
Location: good as is!
only 1 night, but immediately reserved our next overnight here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TO

nice hotel but hard to find. a bit of paradise

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: food friendly service clean rooms
Cons: directions from airport
excellent staff clean good food no problems once you arrive the driveway is misleading outside the walls but it is San Jose!