Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

Great location close to the airport in San Jose

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Beautiful and lovely gardens
Cons: The water was very cold in the pool
Location: Used as an over night coming into Costa Rica
Very comfortable and close to airport for easy arrival and departure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Oasis near the airport

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We stayed here twice during our trip, using it as a convenient transfer point coming to and from the airport. Entering the property is like entering a hidden oasis - the hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our second stay was unexpected - our plans changed and we were trying to pick up a rental car a day early, which wasn't working out. We had left luggage at the hotel to pick up et route to our next destination, but instead, ended up staying the night to wait for our car reservation the next day. When we were still going to have to wait most do the day for a car, Nubel, who was on duty that day, called a friend at another rental agency and was able to get us a car at just as good if not better price than our reservation and we were able to take off within the hour. We so appreciated how helpful all the staff were and very grateful to Nubel. Both stays were comfortable and relaxing and we would recommend the Trapp Family Inn to other guests, especially if you need a convenient place to stay near the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Far from the madding crowd

Posted Jul 9, 2014
A welcome stopover travelling from the UK to volunteer at the Costa Rica Animal Rescue Project in Puerto Limon. Very close to the airport - just what we needed after a long journey. Absolutely beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

romantic place next to the airport

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, natural environment,spacious room
Location: Not too much to do near by...a good typical restaurant
My 6 years old daughter and I enjoyed 2 nights at Trapp Family at the beginning of our trip and one more at the end of the journey.It is a relaxing and beautiful place close to airport with an immaculate staff service that makes you feel like at home.Nice and romantic dinner with soft music for your ears and breakfast surrounded by nature.Pool too cold but everything will make your stay pleasant.Thanks to Karen and Nubel (owners) and a 10 to Monica!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric from Providence, R.I.

Safe and pleasant, convenient to airport

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and generous meals
Location: This hotel is right next to the airport, so it's somewhat removed from the city (15 km or so).
Needed a hotel near the airport in San Jose for an early flight the next day. This hotel fit the bill and more. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were set up with a taxi that got us to the airport on time. Dinner and the included breakfast were generous and tasty, and we enjoyed eating on the open air porch listening to the rain. The decor was charming, the grounds were well kept, and it was remarkable how removed the property felt from the city around due to the well manicured gardens surrounding it. We noticed some airplane noise and a couple mosquitoes, but in general we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: The water pressure in our shower was pretty low.
Location: We stayed here overnight prior to flyng oyut of San jose at 6 AM. Good hoterl choice.
This hotel is clean and attractive. The meal was good and the staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great oasis near airport.

Posted May 27, 2014
Very calming place away from business of city/airport.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by travelling marmot from Colorado

don't be fool by the high ratings on this hotel

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice tree surroundings the building, but in an extremely congested and unsafe neighborhood. there are gates surrounding the property but it took us over 40 minutes to drove <3 mile to get to the neighborhood on a Friday at 1:30pm. No airconditioning , older building w/ old bathroom. No shuttle service provided. $7-10 for taxi to airport, depending on degree of congestion on street. No safes in the rooms. A bit pricey $75/nt during green season for the condition of the building and lack of comfort. Would've rather paid more to stay at the courtyard marriott or holiday inn express instead, and felt safer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

In the middle of poverty is paradise

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place in poverty. A nice spot to stay for flying in & out of San Jose but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to spend my vacation unless u enjoy spending it in the middle of a city
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carl from Glasgow

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed upon arrival and again before departure and enjoyed both times. The breakfast was great, although dinner was a bit disappointing on our return visit, given the food we had during our tour of Costa Rica. Very friendly staff.