Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great and comfortable place! Very friendly staff!

Posted May 15, 2015
I have been staying in this hotel several times already. The room has everything you need. The hotel staff and owners are super nice family. I asked for many favors like keeping my shipments, change the room because I wanted to be on the other side of the hotel, etc and they were just very kind to did everything with enthusiasm! I will be coming back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
The room had very small rooms and no extras included. We could not get a cot or anything in the room if we wanted to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Stanford University.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located to many facilities.
Hotel in better condition then expected after reading previous reviews. The Hotel is in the process of renovating their rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waterloo, ON

The perfect setting for a film noir 1950s B movie

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: An excellent choice of television channels.
Cons: A television that isn't from the 1990s. Decor that isn't from the 1960s. Overnight office staff that know how to work the telephone system.
Location: It's in the Mountain View area of Silicon Valley. Not much to do nearby. Enough restaurants of all varieties to suit most travellers.
This is exactly the kind of motel you would expect to find in the late 50s and early 60s, before average people really got into travelling. It offers little more than a place to sleep, indoor washroom, and a television that suits its age. It serves as a place to return to and to leave. Yet, from what I understand, it reflects it neighbourhood. The need for transient 'housing' by the various local tech firms and startups is such that motels like this can charge high rates and expect that they will get it. BTW, don't be fooled by the room price in the office window.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great experience

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Room was old. Staff wasn't really interested in helping. Old smoke smell to the room. Bed was ok. TV was great in 1987
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better options across the street

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: There looked to be nicer units up front. Save the back units for the monthly renters.
Location: I was there for work, but Palo Alto has a lot to offer.
This is an old hotel that is showing age. The room was “clean”, but worn. The carpet was stained and the floor was both squeaky and soft in spots. My main issue was the noise of people in the and outside the room all night long. They did have one amazing Mercedes in the lot that was almost filled completely with garbage. I like to support the independent hotels, but this time they got me. This was not what I expected in Palo Alto for what I paid for the room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was dirty, falling apart, and way over priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
The rooms are filthy and reek of smoke, even in the non-smoking ones. The room that I stayed in also had a weird dark brown stain on the carpet. Save your money -- a hostel would have been a better option.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Woodside, CA

Adequate Hotel in South Palo Alto

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Spend money on updating the room furniture and the bathrooms. Train staff to act like they care about the guests
Location: On El Camino between San Antonia and Charlton, it is easy drive to Mountain View or Palo Alto
I needed to be in South Pal Alto for a early breakfast so I booked on Expedia's iPhone app and drove down from SF late in the evening. Went to the manager's office and was greeted by a locked door. Banged a few times and a person appeared who motioned me to a side window. I had the sensation of being treated like a robber at a gas station in a bad neighborhood. He provided me with keys and mumbled the room was in the back. Arrived at the room and felt like I was channeling a motel circa 1985. While everything was clean, the Oak Motel failed the modern amenities test. I have not seen one of those cathode ray TV's in 20 years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com