Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outside looked a bit rough but inside was great!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Was worried when I pulled up because the outside of hotel looked rough, but was surprised when I got into my room. Room was clean and very nice!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mike (young guy wiht a beard) at the front desk was great, super service and made you feel very welcome and accomodating...an older gentlemen at that same desk was gruff, rude and unattentive to guests needs
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. The older gentlemen enforces our policies so please be sure to read them prior to booking and follow them during your stay here with us at the Lodge to avoid any extra charges and fines. We appreciate your business. Regards, Mike
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location and updated rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a great stay here and the staff were extremely friendly. Hadn't stayed here before but booked it because all the usual places I stay at when I travel for business were sold out. Was pleasantly surprised by this place. The rooms have been updated with new furniture and was very clean. The staff were also terrific. Would definitely stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Decent option

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a good value: great location close to Stanford and Sand Hill Rd., decent room, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind feedback. We are content to hear that you felt comfortable in our economy and classic rooms. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Aesthetically, rooms are ok and you can tell the inn keeper strives to keep things neat. That said, I couldn't get a wink of sleep. Room was boiling hot when I arrived after sundown and smelled/felt like it hadn't been aired out in a long time. The A/C unit sounds like a jumbo jet engine and is right by the bed blowing freezing cold air on you so you're too cold in bed, even under blankets, but the room is simply too warm not to have it on -- that, combined with a noisy refrigerator (I finally ripped the cord out of the wall at 2 AM to make it stop) and an uncomfortable mattress made it almost impossible to sleep. A tiny bathroom with an ancient deafening fan that can't be turned off and a slightly scary shower left a lot to be desired as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean, inexpensive

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
For what it is - a motel - it was quite a decent stay. The room was clean, not fancy. There was a smell of cleaning supplies/bleach when I first walked in, but I considerate that a good sign of cleanliness and it dissipated after a bit. Palo Alto is so expensive, so if you are looking for something affordable it won't be fancy. In that category I would use the Palo Alto Lodge again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Guest, Thank you for the kind feedback and we look forward to seeing you again! We recommend you try our deluxe accommodations if you are looking for something 'fancy'. Regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from SLC

Good spot

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The motel is in a nice spot, it's quaint and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your business and we are glad you found our boutique motel accommodations and services to be exceptional. However we will surely continue to our efforts to better our establishment. We hope to see you soon again! Regards, G.M.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from Seattle

Surprisingly comfortable

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The comfort of the bed, the TV.
Cons: Bathrooms. Carpet.
Location: Palo Alto, close to Stanford University.
In this area you are looking at either really high end and expensive hotels or former motels that have been updated in some fashion (or not). Knowing that the former motels are in my price range I based my ratings knowing what I was getting into. I have taken a room at five different former motels and this is one of the best. While no frills on the outside, on the inside I have felt comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the satellite TV is solid. Flat panel TV's are good as well. The bathroom is particularly small and the showers could use some updating. The people are nice, the checkin process is smooth.