Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Dallas, TX

Old style motel updated well.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Small rooms but comfortable. Hotels in Palo Alto are ridiculously overpriced. Good alternative if you don't need much space, but like a clean comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ayako from Singapore

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Cost performance - comfortable, convenient accommodation at reasonable price.
Cons: Not particular.
The interior of the hotel room was nicely renewed to a simple and modern taste. Overall clean, tidy and comfortable. There are a café and Chinese restaurant just next door to the lodge so convenient for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Walking distance to the bus station and reasonably convenient for a commute to Stanford Univ. too.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RichardC from Sydney

Overpriced and Misrepresented

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The pictures that were presented in the profile may exist in a room but the room I stayed in was tired, small and poorly lit. There are many hotels nearby that are of similar quality but half the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low rent on the outside, nice on the inside

Posted Nov 27, 2013
The owners/staff took an ordinary low-budget motel and through effort made it a very decent, very clean, place to stay. Not a good choice for a romantic weekend in Palo Alto, but good for a businessman's overnighter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Once you close the door it's great

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Ok - the property as a whole is dingy. But the rooms are decorated, equipped and cleaned to a high standard. So unless you were really craving a poolside bar staffed with A-list starlets I think you'll be happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ely from Washington

Modern Motel

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice escape if you're looking for something different and tasteful. Rooms are on the small side but well appointed for a single person, very simple and cozy. Good value too given the great location and in-room amenities. I enjoyed having the convenience of the free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge and of course the big flat screen HDTV. Outside is well-maintained and definitely like what is pictured so not going to complain, although some have made really nonsensical remarks regarding this. Must be having some personal issues in their lives. I would not recommend this motel for people who are high-maintenance and accustomed to staying at bigger branded hotels. Tip: I spoke with the Manager during check-out and the very cool modern room photos are of the deluxe room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christian from Boston

Love the Lodge!

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palo Alto Lodge is a good reminder not to judge a book by it's cover. Great location next to several restaurants and very quiet. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with convenient amenities. Rooms are a lot less than what you would pay for at the bigger hotels in the Palo Alto area. Granted this is not the Hilton, but for some reason others have expected it to be. Very strange.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Highest End "Drive Thru" Motel

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a strange place. The motel was $250/night all due to the location near Stanford University. The owners did keep it clean and well-maintained; but it was a drive-through motel and would have been $50 in any more remote location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Toronto

The most absic amenities, great location, clean

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I spent 2 nights at the hotel (I travel to the Palo Alto area frequently but don't look to spend a fortune which can easily happen given the area). As you drive in it looks like you'd expect a one story motor lodge to look. The staff were friendly and professional and I spoke to them on checkout about the two small issues that occurred in the last evening (thin walls meant my neighbor was knocking on my wall while I had a late night conference call) and morning (warm not hot water in the shower). I would not necessarily stay there again (unless there were limited options) primarily because it was not conducive to getting work done (to cramped to use the desk as awork environment), bathroom was too small (no where to really open up the shaving kit and leave it) and I'd be concerned about sound travel again while on the phone (although I did not hear others). The room was clean and bed was comfortable, and knowing the Palo Alto area I liked the location.